We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect stop on the C2C” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of West View

West View
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West View
Ranked #15 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Brighton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A perfect stop on the C2C”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

We'd had a lovely days walk over Helm Crag and could see our B&B nestled in front of Fairfield most of the way down into Grasmere. OK so it's on the edge of town but this is no bad thing. It's just a gentle leg stretch to walk into town for a beer and an evening meal and it does mean your virtually on route when you set off again the next day

As other people have already said there's a warm welcome as soon as you're through the door and you've barely got your boots off before you're tucking into tea and homemade cake. The room we had wasn't huge but it was certainly large enough for us and our bags. More importantly it was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There's an excellent breakfast with homemade bread and a very good packed lunch again with homemade bread and cake. Excellent value and we'd definitely stay here again if we're in Grasmere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southdowns_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

A return visit as I think this b & b is really special . Nothing is too much trouble . The rooms are lovely and the welcome after a days walking just what you would hope for. I love the home made cakes, cookies & jam.

Room Tip: I like the back room with vies of the countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

This was no 4 of 17 B&Bs we stayed in on the C2C walk so our score is based on our range of experiences. We had a great welcome from Christine: arriving in a howling gale and pouring rain we were offered somewhere to hang our soggy waterproofs and given tea and homemade cakes in front of the fire. Our room was at the back of the house with beautiful views of the fells. It was definitely the smallest room we had on the trip and necessitated one of us sitting on the (standard double) bed while the other unpacked or moved around! The bathroom was an ergonomic miracle - you could almost have a shower, go to the loo and wash your hands all without moving. That said, the room had absolutely everything we needed: toiletries, tea making facilities, hairdryer, TV. I imagine if you were only staying for a weekend and didn't have much luggage it would be fine. Although the house is outside the main village there are two pubs/hotels close by for dinner and its only a short walk into the village (if its not pouring with rain....). Overall it was perfectly satisfactory for a one night stay on the C2C but did not rate higher because of the lack of space.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraV_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Friendly and welcoming.
Room fine.
Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamC2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

Walking pal and I had the pleasure of staying here on our recent Coast to Coast adventure. Christine welcomed us with the invitation to drape our wet gear over the clothes horse and promptly served us coffee and home made biscuits in the lounge/dining room. Our twin bedroom was a good size (far better than many we encountered later on our trip). Situated on the main road but I don't recall traffic noise being an issue. Short walk up the road to pub, or not that much further into the lovely village. Breakfast was excellent, as was the packed lunch. I would not hesitate to stay at West View again when next in the area. Keep up the good work Christine!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed here on our recent Coast to Coast walk. This is definitely one of the best stays we had. Christine greeted us with home cooked cakes and a carafe of coffee. The room was a good size and in spite of the main road was very quiet as it faced the back - excellent views too towards Fairfield. Good to have fresh fruit and home mixed muesli. There is also plenty of information and a Wainwright scrapbook. As we had good weather the next morning we did a major deviation to the C2C and walked straight from the small lane round the back of the house up to Stone Arthur and then over Fairfield and St Sunday Crags to Patterdale - a super walk best on a good day (one easy craggy outcrop to negotiate after Fairfield).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BobM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
157 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

Stayed here as part of our Coast to Coast walk in June 2010. I really loved this B&B. Grasmere is a beautiful place and although West View is a little out of the centre and on a main road, it's a great place with lovely views across the hills. Christine was welcoming, helpful and attentive. We got homemade cake on arrival and home made biscuits in the room. The room was clean and well equipped. Christine recommended that we eat at the nearby Travellers Arms where we had an excellent meal. She also had lots of useful information on the area and other eating options. Breakfast was really nice including her own mixture of granola and freshly baked bread. I would definitely go back and stay there for another holiday.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#5 of 20 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Country House
Lake View Country House
#1 of 20 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chestnut Villa
Chestnut Villa
#3 of 20 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View

Property: West View
Address: West View Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
West View Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing