We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of West View

West View
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
West View
Ranked #17 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Thanks for a great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here during my C2C. Very comfortable room; loads of hot water on demand; comfortable bed so good night sleep; outstanding breakfast choice; very good packed lunch. Saving the best to last, Christine is simply the best, a wonderful lady.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpl5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My boyfriend and I have very fond memories of our stay at West View. Christine was warm and motherly and does an excellent poached egg and homemade muesli.

Staying at West View is like staying in a pensione: to reach your room you walk through the main house, and breakfast room was formerly the host's family room. This is a lovely aspect of the stay, however, and you are still provided with plenty of privacy.

West View is about a 5-minute walk to the centre of town, but Grasmere is beautiful so the stroll is really just another chance to reap up the scenery.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Sarah_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Another lovely stay in beautiful Grasmere. We have done the Rosthwaite to Grasmere walk numerous times, and for me it never gets any easier. I am not a good rock walker and always find the Lake District arduous so I am always exhausted when arriving in Grasmere. Christine and Dennis are always there to welcome us and provide anything we could possibly need. A great breakfast is provided and we are sent off well fed and happy for another day's walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

After a very wet day on day 3 of the Coast to Coast we arrived at the west view guest house. It is a little way out of the main part of Grasmere, however it is only a short detour off the route. Christine is an excellent host, welcoming us with homemade cakes and tea on arrival. Our room was very nice and comfortable. The choice of eating places is varied but we settled for the pub further down the road which was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonRudkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We only stayed at West View for one night but we absolutely loved it. We arrived later than planned but Dennis still stayed up late to welcome us to the house. The room was cosy, clean and had everything that we needed plus lovely home made biscuits! The full english breakfast was lovely (as was the vegetarian version) and the lounge in which it was eaten was also very charming and even had a piano on which we attempted to play. Christine also gave us a great walking recommendation up Helm Crag which is just outside of Grasmere. We would definitely come again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GenP5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for one night while walking the Coast to Coast. We had a lovely welcome from Christine and enjoyed her home baking. There was paper for our wet boots and we were able to hang up our wet clothes to dry. Our room was charming, comfortable, clean and well equipped. The sitting room was also comfortable and a nice place to relax with local maps and information available. Christine was very accommodating, friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gill2001c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langres, France
Level Contributor
366 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Christine welcomes you perfectly in her nice house, only a few hundred meters from Grasmer touristic center. Easy to find on the main road with a convenient small but private car park.
Room is large, well equipped, very clean and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is also with all what we need
Christine cooks a full English breafast well done which covers the needs of two French bikers until the evening, no needs to have any lunch time after such a good breakfast.
We appreciate the gentle welcome for the motorbikers we have had
We did not go more north and had just a short view to the lakes district. it looks so interesting that next time we will be back , we will stay in West View again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudius C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake View Country House
Lake View Country House
#1 of 20 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#5 of 20 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chestnut Villa
Chestnut Villa
#3 of 20 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West View

Property: West View
Address: West View Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
West View Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing