We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tea room in Lake District !”
Review of Baldry's Tea Room

Baldry's Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$13
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best tea room in Lake District !”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The place is amazing for light lunch and cakes!!! The lemon pie and sticky ginger bread are exceptional!! Extremely friendly and attentive service even when busy! Overall superb! A must visit in Grasmere!!

Helpful?
Thank Moni Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    136
    26
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CUMBRIA
Level 6 Contributor
784 reviews
546 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,844 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This please is fab, the choice of different tea is amazing and the food is well cooked and tasty. The guy who runs the place is full of energy and enthusiasm - unlike us who had just scaled Helm Crag!!
One thing you must try is the cake! Excellent value also. Well done to all involved

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“the cakes are amazing”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was lovely décor, a nice place to sit and chill and very welcoming. We went in as they were due to close but we were still made very welcome and never felt rushed. There is a good section of food available at reasonable prices. Make sure you leave room for their home make cakes.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous tea shop in a beautiful location.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This tea room is warm and welcoming, immaculately clean. Wide variety of food and drink, best hot chocolate I've tasted in a long time.....just perfect on a chilly morning.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoJo994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent teashop in Grasmere”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

You wouldn't think it would be that difficult to get a teashop in a picture perfect Lakeland village just right but having tried so many, a lot just don't seem to be able to reach the right level. I have experienced tea shops where the cakes look delicious but are heavy and stodgy; where the tea comes in a chipped mug with UHT milk on the saucer and the bag still in the mug; where the staff treat you like you are a particularly bothersome interruption to their conversation etc etc. However I am delighted to say that Baldry's get it all spot on. Lovely decor, a huge choice of delicious cakes, china teacups, fresh leaf tea, hot water and top class service from a very funny guy with tattoos. Nothing was too much trouble. I can particularly recommend the hot cider with a kick on a cold Lake District day - spiced hot cider with orange juice and whiskey (the kick!). I went in feeling I was coming down with a cold but it had been chased away before we left. I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vidalia08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baldry's Tea Room also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Baldry's Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing