We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star B&B”
Review of Dunmail House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunmail House
Ranked #10 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed another superb weekend at Dunmail House with my partner and Mum. Shirley and Tony are wonderful hosts and always make us feel very welcome. We enjoyed a cream tea on arrival, with homemade scones and jam, before settling into our beautiful rooms. The 4 bedrooms at Dunmail House are spotless and decorated to an exceptional standard. The views form the front of the B&B overlook Helm Crag, and the gardens at the rear are well maintained. The centre of Grasmere is within easy walking distance, and just down the road from Dove Cottage. It not only is a superb B&B, it is a very convenient base to discover the delights of Grasmere and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank sandipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind comments it is always our pleasure to welcome you back to Dunmail House and once again it was great to see mum. We really appreciate how privileged we are to live in such a beautiful place and that we can share our beautiful views and home with our guests.

We do hope to see you all again in the future.

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had another superb stay at Dunmail House. A really, clean, comfortable night's rest and the breakfasts are the best! Nothing is left wanting and Shirley and Tony are a mine of information about the area.

Glad to see that some things don't change - only for the better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It is always a pleasure to see you and thank you for your kind comments. We continually strive to ensure our guests enjoy their well earned breaks from the routine of life and it is good to know our continued improvements at Dunmail are enjoyed by our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay with Tony & Shirley in their lovely B&B. Tony's breakfasts each morning were a delicious and filling treat. Their good humour was entertaining and their information about the local area very helpful. The views of the hills from the B&B are beautiful and its proximity to Grasmere very handy. Grasmere itself is a delightful village and much quieter than Ambleside or Windermere. We would recommend Dunmail House to anyone staying in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aust_Traveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a super review for us. We really appreciate all your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in Grasmere and that our extensive breakfast and it set you up for the day.
We hope you had a good journey home to Aus and had a great time on your travels.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind Regards
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at Dunmail House for one night and I couldn't have asked for a more wonderful welcome from Tony and Shirley. I had just driven from Anglesey which as you can imagine is pretty long...and they sat me down in the garden with a view of the hills and with a pot of tea and a slice of cake to relax in the early evening sun. Heaven. Lovely meal at the pub next door and a peaceful night sleep in a very comfy room. Breakfast perfect - if you stay here have the smoked salmon and eggs! I was on a work trip and the next morning it was pouring with rain and they offered to let me stay and use the wifi for work. Very kind. Thanks both so much for making me feel so at home!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zobolondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

It was our pleasure to meet you and we are delighted you were able to rest in the sunshine in our beautiful garden. A cup of tea and cake on arrival always goes down well after a long journey. Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write such a positive review for us. We do hope to see you again.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Dunmail house is a little treasure!
Shirley & Tony are just the perfect hosts. As a gluten avoider, they were very accommodating - I didn't need to provide any of my own bread or oats, which is normally the case when on hols. Shirley even baked a gluten free cake for me to try! It was delicious!

The rooms are very nicely decorated; modern and very clean with everything you could need.
The bed was very comfy, with lovely linen and super comfy pillows....just what we needed after a day on the fells!

The breakfast was faultless, with lots of choice - every diet and taste catered for with pleasure.

Our room was on the front but we were never troubled by the traffic, or any noise to be honest. Great location as a short walk into the village.

Would we return? Absolutely!

Thank you for a great stay!

(Sorry it's taken a while to write the review!)

Sarah & Rob xx

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelSazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hello Sarah and Rob
Thank you for your kind words and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our gluten free options, the comfort of our bedrooms and all the little extra touches we offer. It was great to meet you and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you for sharing your comments with other potential guests.
All the best to you both
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have just returned from our second stay with Shirley and Tony. As before a memorable occasion. The accommodation is spotless. The breakfasts are delicious and Shirley and Tony are the most pleasant and accommodating couple you could ever wish to meet.We stayed in Room 3 and were treated to the most beautiful views of the immaculate garden, Greenhead Gill and Rydal Fell. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 and 3 are for Couples. Room 4 is a Single room. Rooms 3 & 4 are at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you both for choosing to stay with us again at Dunmail House and for writing such a great review. Indeed the views from all our rooms are spectacular and the garden is at its best at this time of the year. We are so pleased you enjoyed your second stay and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My Mum and I have just returned from two nights at Dunmail House. I am so glad we chose to stay here. It is a lovely house run by two lovely people. Our room was spotless and very comfortable and the breakfasts were superb. We normally go to the Lakes in our touring caravan but it was lovely to have all the home comforts of Dunmail House. I would recommend it to anyone. The gardens are stunning too and the views are beautiful. Thank you Shirley and Tony. I am sure we will see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cappelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

It was good to meet you both and we are delighted you enjoyed your short holiday here with us. The views here at our home are as you say absolutely stunning and we say "Wow" every morning. We do hope we shall see you again in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review for us your comments are appreciated.
Kind Regards
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Lake View Country House
Lake View Country House
#2 of 20 in Grasmere
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#4 of 20 in Grasmere
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,581 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunmail House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunmail House

Address: Keswick Road, Grasmere LA22 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £119 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunmail a small, exceptionally friendly and informal bed and breakfast situated within the enchanting village of Grasmere. Beautiful newly decorated and furnished en-suite bedrooms with stunning views. Dunmail enjoys private car parking and gardens with panoramic views towards Stone Arthur and the fells. Five Star rated with Award winning breakfasts to set you up for the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dunmail House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunmail House Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing