We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
86
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome from homenothing is too much troublehomemade jamsguest houseguest loungeexquisite placenever stay anywhere elsetea coffeebreakfast tablevaried menuregular visitorslake districtcomfortable bedyogurtdining roomshirleyaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My 3rd stay here at Dunmail and I will always come back. Shirley's a wonderful host, always warm and welcoming and I've always felt so pampered at my stays here. The coffee and yummy homemade cake were indeed a blessing after a long journey there! Breakfast is fantastic with many choices, all personally cooked. The place is clean and spotless with a lovely decor; rooms are extremely comfortable with beautiful views. Shirley is friendly and very knowledgeable about the area which helped me plan my days well. There are many walks one can do from here. I was definitely very well looked-after by Shirley. Thank you for always making every visit so special : )

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westiexotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2016

Thank you for your super comments and for taking time to put your thoughts on trip advisor. It was delightful to see you again and I am so pleased you keep returning to stay at Dunmail House. The autumn colours here have been wonderful over the last few weeks and today we had a few sprinkles of snow on the top of the fells. The views have been just stunning and I do hope you have the chance to get to the Lakes again.
Thank you again Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We have just returned from another superb stay at Dunmail House, indeed we also had several days there in June this year. On both occasions our stay was nothing less than perfect with Shirley's warm, friendly welcome, nothing too much trouble, there is an atmosphere that I can only describe as being at home in the Lakes. Spotlessly clean with sumptuous soft furnishings make all bedrooms extremely comfortable. There is a large comfortable guest lounge with a huge picture window over the Easedale Fells, parking is easy and the views from all rooms are breathtaking, with Easedale Fells to the front and Stone Arthur to the rear, farmers fields in all directions and a wonderfully kept garden to the rear. Breakfast deserves a special mention, with a varied menu, as well as the full 'Lakeland Platter' all beautifully cooked & well presented a variety of different fruit salads, cereals etc., not forgetting the home made jam made from fruit in the garden, worthy of its Breakfast Award. This is a guest house we have visited approx. twice a year for last ten years. Once people find Dunmail it appears they simply keep returning, as we have done. This is a truly exquisite place. Thank you Shirley, your hospitality simply makes a holiday in the Lakes.

Room Tip: All are good views - the rear is quieter but glazing in the front rooms cuts out road noise anyway.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Hi, Thank you so much for coming to stay here at Dunmail House and for your kind review. As you know it has been a difficult time for me and I thank you so much for your continued loyalty and support. I am looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

If you want to relax, unwind, enjoy a central location with great friendly accommodation and just fantastic views you cant go wrong, ever!

Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Good to getaway to walking, eating and chilling! Lovely breakfasts and accomodation. Looked after so well and lots of places to relax and lose yourself in. Great history with the National Trust and open spaces

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Grasmere is certainly a beautiful place to stay and we are delighted that you relaxed with us at Dunmail and managed to do some great walking and sightseeing.

It is always a pleasure to see you and thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review for us.

Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

My husband and I have just returned from another excellent stay at this wonderful B&B. From the really warm and friendly welcome from Shirley & Tony, the exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms tastefully decorated (including a very spacious and comfortable lounge commanding a picture window showing a panorama of the Easedale Fells), to the outstanding breakfast in the morning, full of variety, this is a B&B that wraps its arms around you and makes your holiday. All rooms have excellent views either of Easedale Fells to the front or Greenhead Gill/Heron Pike to the rear. Shirley & Tony run a first rate B&B & go out of their way to be helpful with any information you may require for your holiday, places to visit etc. We are very fortunate to have found Dunmail House 9 or 10 years ago and have returned at least once every year since. As stated on previous reviews, we really would not stay anywhere else in the Lakes as we have found the best. Thanks, Shirley & Tony for another excellent stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are good though the ones to the rear are quieter - lovely views from all.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-Shirley E, Owner at Dunmail House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

It is always our pleasure to see you both and we thank you for choosing Dunmail House as your favourite place to stay in the Lakes.

We are always happy to share our elegant home with our guests and we are delighted to know that the views and comfort of our guest lounge are a great benefit to all who stay with us.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year.
Best Wishes
Shirley & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews