We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place in The Lakes”
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #9 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best place in The Lakes”
Reviewed 23 June 2011

How Foot is unbeatable. The central Lakeland location is marvellous, with Dove Cottage and the Wordsworth Museum just down the lane and footpaths to Rydal and fells just up the lane. The hospitality is first rate, with magnificent breakfasts (try the amazing Continental one if you can't cope with full English). Closeness to the excellent Colombina restaurant is a decided plus. The rooms are a delight - all of them are spacious and light (except for the slightly dark suite at the back, but this makes up in space for what it lacks in light). We have been here many times and would always make it our base for a visit to The Lakes.

Room Tip: All are delightful, but room 5 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richarddavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    18
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
89
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Stayed here on our c2c holiday. What can I say? 10 out of 10 on all counts! The warm welcome was much appreciated after an exhausting wet day of walking. The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm. Stayed in a double room (very spacious) with the added benefit of a sun room. Comfortable bed with arm chairs to watch flat screen tv. Breakfast was superb. Delicious and plentiful. Location was again, spot on, less than a five minute walk to the heart of Grasmere. Kate the hostess was friendly and helpful. Couldn't recommend this B & B enough. If you are staying in Grasmere - stay here!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orange6566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Just returned from a one night stay , what a beautiful place this is. We stayed in the room with its own sunroom and had a lovely time and cant wait to come back, next time we needto stay longer!! Many thanks to the owners for their hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynTUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Have just returned from our third visit and have started planning our fourth.Great location,lovely house,beautiful rooms,terrific breakfasts and Kate is great to stay with.Our group was 8 people in 4 rooms and we all were delighted.Thanks Kate.

Room Tip: Go to the Theatre by the Lake in Keswick
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Taken a while to write this reveiw as we actually stayed at How Foot Lodge for 3 nights over New Year. May I first say that the welcome we got from the owners was pleasant and their home was very inviting. After terrible snowy weather we were worried if we were ever going to get there but thankfully the thaw had started by the time we arrived on the 30th Dec.

We stayed in the suite, overall we enjoyed our stayed and congratulations Kate on not over-charging at this time of the year which is why I expect you were full and others were not. It is a little cramped trying to get around the bed and we also found the room somewhat dark but the sitting room area was great bonus particularly as we travelled with friends so that was really useful plus a fridge in the lounge to chill drinks etc. The room was warm and plenty of hot water was available. The bathroom was clean and fresh towels left daily. The rooms were quiet and the guest house was within easy walking distance to the village of Grasmere.

We did eat in their Italian restaurant on New Years Eve and New Years day and both meals were superb and great value again. A good choice at breakfast was on offer which you ordered the evening before. Thank you both for a enjoyable New Year and may 2011 be a busy one for you.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I have said it before and I will say it again, Kate and Michael Metcalfe have established and maintained a marvellous little hotel( next door to Dove Cottage). Rooms, cleanliness,superb breakfast by a roaring log fire and above all, Kate's friendly and very professional touch ( Mike does the breakfasts!).

Next Door is the Columbina Restaurant (with a 10% discount for How Foot Guests) but even without the reduction, the food (again prepared by Mike), the service and atmosphere is second to none in Grasmere.

Room Tip: Try and book room 5 ( summer room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bewron96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremantle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We were recomended How Foot by friends and weren't dissapointed! Its a beautiful old house right next door to William Wordsworths Dove Cottage. Located just outside Grasmere in Town End hamlet, it only takes 5 mins to walk into the village. We stayed in room 2 which was spacious and had a large bathroom (always appreciated, especiallly in a b & b). Our stay was restful and we loved the breakfasts which really set us up for a day on the fells. The breakfast room overlooks the lawn and we loved how Kate and Mike have decorated the place, its very inkeeping and tastful with the history of the house and area. Kate and Mike were very welcoming and friendly and also unobtrusive. We felt really looked after and will be returning. We ate in their restaurant Villa Colombina one night and had a great meal, the waitresses' are all local and gave lots of suggestions on what to do in the area. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pommekiwi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
649 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Property: How Foot Lodge
Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere
How Foot Lodge Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing