We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect B&B”
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Howe Foot is the best place to stay in Grasmere - we have stayed most of them!
Massive room overlooking the Grasmere hills, comfortable bed with beautiful white linen sheets. Tasteful antique furniture with comfy armchairs just perfect for putting your walking boots on! Kate offered us fresh milk which we placed in the handy little fridge, Other nice little touches like 2 wine glasses and bottle opener
Breakfast was lovely- special mention for the fruit salad, cherries,blueberries, nectarines, pineapple, raspberry, grapes and strawberries - really delicious.I also enjoyed the full English and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon.
This is a lovely laid back little place, excellent value for Grasmere with great walks from the door. Thanks Kate - see you next year!

Room Tip: Room 2 is lovely - our favourite, but they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nittynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Delightful Kate as a hostess. Large room , huge tastefully decorated home. Good bed , quiet sleep, nice shower, clean , excellent breakfast with fresh fruit salad. Just down the road from Wordsworth museum

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is the 5th time that we have stayed at How Foot Lodge. Stayed with our 2 year old son in the deluxe suite which is ideal due to the lounge area which was his bedroom for our stay. Kate was accommodating as usual and made sure that our son was catered for at breakfast.
There is nothing negative to say about this place...it really is a home from home experience now and we really wouldn't stay anywhere else in Grasmere...see you next year.

Room Tip: Stay in the deluxe suite if you have a child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IbizababeLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our annual friends Birthday event was as great as ever.We were also blessed with fab weather but it is this house and our hosts that are always the stars.Thanks very much.

A short walk to grasmere with its attractions (Tweedies Bar,Jumble Rooms,Jigsaw shop !).Many walks are possible straight from the door of Howfoot.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowieBoldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

My wife and I have stayed here almost every year for the past nine years. The stone-built property, located within the Wordsworth Estate, occupies an imposing position just outside the charming village of Grasmere. Kate and Mike, who run it, are very pleasant and anxious to please. All the bedrooms are spacious and well-equipped, there is a wide choice of breakfasts, including vegetarian, and the huge breakfast room with its two double-bayed windows is marvellous. It's one of those places you wish you'd discovered many years previously. Stay there, you will not be disappointed.
.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent so you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamrmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Visited How Foot Lodge again as it is our first choice of accommodation for a short break in Grasmere.
The welcome and facilities were as good as ever and the breakfasts were wonderful.
Spacious room with all the facilities you could wish for and if there was anything else you required you only had to ask.
Great to leave the car and walk from the door.
Fortunate with the weather. (2 good days out of 3 is good going for the Lakes!)
Already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and I think we have tried them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Geoffs-Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We spent 3 nights here over the May bank holiday and it was a perfect find. Set back off the road, it was quiet from the traffic, yet a few minutes walk and you were in Grasmere.
We had room 7 - it had its own bathroom (with bath), separate shower room and a lounge area - we picked it especially for that, to set the dog up in her own space. Very ample. Although they don't advertise that they take dogs, they do take well behaved ones. Despite ours not settling down in the morning which meant we couldn't sit in the breakfast room, Kate was very obliging at letting us take our breakfast to our room.
The breakfasts were a delight. Wonderfully presented and tasted great. I had full veggie one on one morning, poached eggs on toast the next, and continental on my last day - all super.
The decor of the whole place reminded me of rustic French - very homely. Every morning a fire was lit in the breakfast room.
We would highly recommend this B&B - great value for money indeed.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a seperate shower room, bathroom with bath, and lounge - very spacious. Not much of a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSquaredEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Raise View House
Raise View House
#4 of 20 in Grasmere
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lake View Country House
Lake View Country House
#2 of 20 in Grasmere
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Travellers Rest Inn
The Travellers Rest Inn
#7 of 20 in Grasmere
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moss Grove Organic
Moss Grove Organic
#6 of 20 in Grasmere
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range: £72 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere
How Foot Lodge Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing