We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B with an excellent host”
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B with an excellent host”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was an absolutely stunning B&B. On the edge of Grasmere, it was beautifully set with an excellent host and an incredibly selection of delicious breakfasts, both continental and cooked. The suite room is highly recommended as it offered so much space for us to kick back and relax!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nona1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely stay at How foot lodge. We had a suite (well worth it!) and had our own lounge which was just perfect for chilling out (especially when one of us was still in bed!). The mattress was memory foam and it was one of the best I've ever slept on. Kate was very hospitable and the breakfast was lovely. For what we paid, this was absolutely amazing value for money and I am looking forward to going back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cragglepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the How Foot Lodge for two nights at the end of our Lake District holiday.
It is a beautiful B&B with very spacious rooms - even though we "only" stayed in a standard room.
Incredibly good value for money and great location if you don't mind walking a few minutes into Grasmere village, which boasts some fantastic cafes, bistros and restaurants.
The breakfast was so delicious and generous and overall, the attention to details makes this B&B top choice!
Only slight negative was the shower which was very temperamental.
I'd highly recommend it to anybody looking for an intimate and unique stay near a beautiful Lake District village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed two nights in this B&B and would have stayed a third had there been a double room available. The house, about a 10 minute walk from the centre of charming Grasmere, is on the main road but set well back so that even though our room was at the front of the house there was absolutely no road noise. The room overlooking the beautiful front garden was very spacious, with a very large en-suite bathroom. It had everything we needed, including a blanket to take the place of the duvet/doona which, as usual, we found too hot for our liking.The owner attended promptly to a couple of minor maintenance items. Breakfast was plentiful, varied, well cooked and tasty. The only minor grizzle was the shower which was functional but had limited pressure. Very comfortable, well priced and overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely trip to the lakes .Spent four nights at how foot lodge. This is a lovely old house with big rooms. We stayed in rooms 5 and 7. One had a private sitting room and walk in shower plus a bath, the other a lovely sunroom attached to the bedroom. Highly recommended! Good breakfast nicely situated in grasmere next to Dove Cottage within easy walking distance of the village. Loved grasmere it is a lovely atmospheric place and not too big. Make a reservation - you will love it

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Totobell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Kate Metcalfe's Bed&Breakfast put the finishing touch to our unforgettable stay in the Lake District. Our room and bathroom were spacious and clean (and 'with a view'), hot breakfast was a treat. It's a place where mostly quiet, hiking-kind of people seem to stay, because we were not disturbed by any noise even though it is an antique building. This, then, might be the biggest downside to this location: the lack of isolation (single-paned windows, windy creaks) which, from an environmental point of view, would make some future renovation work hoped-for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my mum have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay here. We arrived to a warm welcome and a well equipped room. Little touches like fresh milk, a mini fridge and wine glasses were appreciated. The room was clean, spacious and warm! The period fire place, furniture and decor were lovely. Breakfast was yummy (especially pancakes!) eaten next to an open fire. The hotel is situated next to the lake and a short walk from the village. It was not my mums first time here and we will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Property: How Foot Lodge
Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere
How Foot Lodge Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing