We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of How Foot Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
How Foot Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Grasmere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Perfectly located, lovely clean and spacious room, good shower, excellent breakfasts, really friendly and welcoming hosts. How Foot Lodge is the best B&B I've stayed in in the Lake District. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    17
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
87
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We have stayed here on 4 occasions, and absolutely love it. The rooms are spacious, and the breakfasts are fantastic. Breakfast is served in a beautiful room, with character and charm. The interior is old, and decorated in a lovely style. We are always made to feel at home by Kate and Mike. The prices are very reasonable, especially for Grasmere. How Foot Lodge is only a short stroll away from the village centre, which we love. Grasmere itself, gets very busy, so this is ideally located.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are only a few pounds more, and well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laughinggravy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We have just returned from a three day stay at How Foot and thought it was great. Very convenient for the village, lovely location, comfortable bed and lovely ensuite. Breakfast was excellent with the added bonus of watching rabbits running on the lawn. Towels crisp and clean, as was the bed linen, and an efficient and very friendly atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneandNye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the start of the Easter break. This is a lovely B&B. A beautiful house right next to Dove Cottage, very close to the lake and about 5 mins walk from the village. Our room was a ground floor one with a sun room. If I were to stay again (which I'm sure I will at some point) I would ask for this room again. Beautiful wide windows with inside shutters, with views onto the chickens, surrounding fields and the lake. Comfy bed and everything was impeccably clean. The hostess was lovely, and the breakfasts were all very good (I think we tried them all apart from the veggie full English). The dining room was also lovely, with a wood burner and good views of the lake. If you're staying in Grasmere don't waste your money on anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbeyw18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was an absolutely stunning B&B. On the edge of Grasmere, it was beautifully set with an excellent host and an incredibly selection of delicious breakfasts, both continental and cooked. The suite room is highly recommended as it offered so much space for us to kick back and relax!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nona1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a lovely stay at How foot lodge. We had a suite (well worth it!) and had our own lounge which was just perfect for chilling out (especially when one of us was still in bed!). The mattress was memory foam and it was one of the best I've ever slept on. Kate was very hospitable and the breakfast was lovely. For what we paid, this was absolutely amazing value for money and I am looking forward to going back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cragglepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at the How Foot Lodge for two nights at the end of our Lake District holiday.
It is a beautiful B&B with very spacious rooms - even though we "only" stayed in a standard room.
Incredibly good value for money and great location if you don't mind walking a few minutes into Grasmere village, which boasts some fantastic cafes, bistros and restaurants.
The breakfast was so delicious and generous and overall, the attention to details makes this B&B top choice!
Only slight negative was the shower which was very temperamental.
I'd highly recommend it to anybody looking for an intimate and unique stay near a beautiful Lake District village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to How Foot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about How Foot Lodge

Property: How Foot Lodge
Address: Howe Foot Lodge Town End, Grasmere LA22 9SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
How Foot Hotel Grasmere
How Foot Lodge Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing