We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY CLEAR OF ROOM 9!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“STAY CLEAR OF ROOM 9!!!!”
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Me and my partner have been staying around the lakes a couple of times a year for the past 3 years. We don't stay in big luxury hotels and don't try to pay over the odds. My partner booked this for my birthday and as yet the worst nights sleep I've had in the lakes! We had a boiler or something firing up every minute or so next to, or under our room which bellowed for a couple of minutes constantly all night. Also you could hardly breath for the heat even with the window wide open. My idea of a hotel is somewhere to sleep and this wasn't it.
On the up side the room was nice to look at, the hotel was nice ish, the food was beautiful.
Won't be going back and way over priced. If it wasn't for the fact it was a gift I would have made a complaint before paying at the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prlmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
We are pleased you enjoyed the food and thought room 9 looked nice as for the boiler issues we are very sorry. We are currently changing our system so that this noise you heard stops. Also as for the room being too hot during the night, we will look into this.
We do hope you return in the future, and we will happily upgrade you by way of apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    309
    148
    49
    24
See reviews for
183
773
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Just nipped to the Lakes for the weekend and thought we'd treat ourselves to a stay at The Wordsworth. The first thing we fell in love with were the friendly signs telling us we were nearly at the reception and the staff in the corridor who smiled and greeted us as we walked in.

We checked in very quickly and were taken to our room by another charming member of staff.

The room was light and airy and the bed was so comfy. No expense has been spared by the looks and feel of it. The sheets were soft and cool. The bathroom looked brand new and had a fantastic shower.

We ate in the restaurant with some family members on the second night and the food was excellent. We were offered a varied menu and all had something different. The plates all looked as if they were the chef's finest and the staff's knowledge of the menu (eg the cheese selection) was also great.

To sum up our stay I'd have to say it's not the cleanliness, the quality furnishings, the excellent restaurant or the choice of cosy lounges we loved most about The Wordsworth. It was the staff who set it above any other hotel we've stayed at in the Lakes.

Thanks all for a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AeBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thankyou for your lovely review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful weekend enjoying all the area, hotel and staff have to offer. We do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

food,service,staff all marvellous.only disappointment was our bedroom. . . .room 35...which must have been the only one not refurbished,soft furnishings fine,but shabby decor.however,this would not put us offer returning hopefully later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennielib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thanks for your review, we do appreciate your comments. Room 35 is next on our list to be refurbished, just sorry it wasn't done in time for your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancs
Level Contributor
168 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Having stayed at this hotel over a number of years, my husband and I were very interested to see how this hotel , with new owners, had been transformed. What an change has occured. This last time we were there it looked tired and dated. Not anymore, the place is lovely, Our room had only just been finished, everything has been carefully chosen in each bedroom individually, the restaurant is a major change, the food is superb, service topnotch, nothing is going tobe left to chance. All the staff from top to bottom are working very hard to make it a success and they are succeeding in every way. The hotel was full and I am not surprised, the word is getting around, We didn't try the Bistro next door which also belongs to the hotel but that looked busy as well. A lovely place and will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thanks for commenting on all our hard work. It's been a crazy 14 months totally transforming The Wordsworth and we will be working hard on maintaining the standards we have set. We look forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scawby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

we arrived 2 hours before the room would be ready, No problem the reception lady took are bags and invited us to use the conservatory she asked if we would like coffee,very plesant staff, after a time we where taken to are room,the standard is very high,new bathroom, reading lights on bed head you can swival to focus directly on to a book,nice touch,The meal at dinner was very tasty, and the service was attentive,breakfast was superb ,the hotel is situated in grassmere, just a few minutes walk and you are on the fells, we would certainly stay again, are room had a view of the fells number 34 it is a classic room

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thankyou for such a positive review, we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby,
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

This hotel is a little gem! There was initially a mix up as we had booked for 3 nights and were double booked for the first night. The staff took us to the Red Lion hotel across the road and were extremely apologetic.
The second two nights were fabulous, we only booked a courtyard room due to price and we weren't too fussed on views. Because of the mix up we were given breakfast for the three mornings which we had not booked.
The pace of the hotel is very relaxed and although a well deserved four star it is not fussy or pretentious. The hotel was full for the weekend but it didn't feel overcrowded, or crowded even! There was always a room, area, sofa dotted around for us to relax on.
The restaurant was fabulous, service on a parr with top London eateries. The food was incredible too!
I'm glad we got to have the breakfasts as they were amazing also with a good selection.
The pool and facilities were adequate and suited us. The location couldn't have been better and there was ample free parking.
I'm looking forward to visiting the Wordsworth again! (Soon hopefully!)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyLass18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
First of all we are so sorry about the mix up and are so grateful for your understanding. Secondly, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on Trip Advisor. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Arrived for a two night stay to be greeted by a roaring fire and tea and gingerbread. Recently refurbished room, beautifully appointed, very comfy bed. Dinner was first class, with excellent service. Plenty of comfortable sofas in numerous beautiful lounges for coffee and afternoon tea. Breakfast was all freshly cooked and again to a very high standard. Waitress came round offering warm croissants fresh from the oven-lovely touch. Second night went across the road to 'Tweedies' six hand pulled beers and more excellent food---what more could you ask for?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Pigsleyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing