We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless in every respect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I recently held my 40th birthday dinner at the Hotel and it was one of the best birthday's I have had. All my guests (around 30 in total) were taken care of in every respect. The food and wine was outstanding and the service seamless. Infact, the waiting staff were so professional, we barely noiced their comings and goings. Everything I had requested prior to the event was undertaken and then some. I can't recommend them highly enough. It was the kind of service you would expect at a top London venue. If you are holding an event and want piece of mind, this is the place. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JO S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2012

Many thanks, we were delighted that you chose us to celebrate your birthday. Many Happy Returns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,111 - 1,117 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Was guest at a friend's wedding in July at the Wordsworth. (Did not stay in the hotel.) There was only a small wedding party (under 30) and the hotel staff catered for the ceremony and meal in rooms that were just the right size. The accommodation was tastefully prepared and decorated. Despite the rain, the outlook during the ceremony and the meal was delightful, looking out onto the gardens. The wedding meal was beautifully presented and the hotel staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. A very romantic setting/venue for a small wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreeSpirit646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed yourself and the wedding was a lovely day despite the rain!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

What a gem this hotel is!!
We have just returned from a two night stay at The Wordsworth and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were,without exception,curteous, and helpful and the service provided throughout the hotel was carried out in a most professional yet friendly manner.
Some hotels we have stayed in in The Lake District could be described as "tired" but not this one. The bedroom and bathroom were clean and tastefully modern, the restaurant a pleasure to dine in and the beautiful conservatory and reception area (complete with roaring log fire) perfect for relaxing after doing a local hike.
It was a delight to stay there and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you, how lovely to be described as a gem! It's great not to be tired as when we took over 2 years ago the hotel certainly was and we are very pleased to be totally refurbished and taking on a new lease of life!!!! We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed for two nights with meal included first night.
Room was clean & suitable with views ob hills.
Although no heating on room was really hot so need window open bed was big but a bit soft for me.
Staff were excellent
Meals at Signature Restaurant were amazing with Duck & Tankara Chocolate desert very special, we ate here for 2nd night.
Spa pool good always welcome after a days walking
Would recommend hotel anytime.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had a wonderful stay with our dog at this hotel. The room was modern and comfortable although not as luxurious as some of the upstairs rooms where dogs were not allowed. Obviously the room suited us perfectly and the hotel were happy for us to leave the dog in the room whilst we had dinner.

The fire in reception was roaring and welcoming with a nice seating area perfect for a 5 minute warm up when back from walking the fells. Only fault is that the carpark is at the back so you enter through the rear of the hotel and find yourself wondering down some rather dull corridoors before reaching reception - hopefully this will be sorted in the future.

Room Tip: Downstairs room if with a dog, otherwise upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenni0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2011

Thank you for reviewing us, yes we do have six room categories and only allow dogs in certain rooms. It is a shame that the car park is at the back of the hotel, but we do allow people to park at the front while they check in and unload etc. Please come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We had our very small, family only, wedding here. From initial meetings to ongoing communication before the day we were very impressed. However the event itself was amazing. The staff helpfulness, professionalism and interest in ensuring we had what we wanted was first class. The set up of the rooms and the organisation of everything and everyone was first class. Staff were on hand at all times without being obtrusive, nothing was too much trouble for them.The food was beautiful both in its presentation and its taste, with everything cooked to each individuals preference. This family run hotel was everything and more than we could have hoped for. We have stayed and visited many hotels but this is number 1 in our eyes. If you have the opportunity to stay here grasp it. We can not wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidanddebs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Wordsworth as a Special Treat to ourselves. Arrival and check in were quick and efficient. Room and bathroom very nice indeed. Staff super friendly. In every way I would recommend the hotel but for one small incident that could have so easily ruined everything. We went out for an evening meal at a local restaurant (can’t remember the name of the place but they have their own Brews! Strongly recommend for both food and service). After our meal we joined in the pub quiz. When this finished we toddled off back to the Wordsworth. Which was locked! There was a small sign on the front door which stated that it closed at 11 (I think) pm and that anyone caught outside should call the Duty Manager on a number given. We called, and called, and called. No answer. Luckily, I then espied a guest inside the hotel and was able to attract their attention to let us in. Now, I quite understand that some hotels do close their doors at night (though this is the first time it has happened to me in anything above a 2 star!) but my gripe is that we were not told when we checked in, OK, it may have been hidden away in the bumph in the room but honestly who reads those. Admittedly there was that sign on the front door but it was a lovely summer day and the door was open. And, let’s face it, when you have parked your car at the rear of a hotel, and walked out of the front do you really turn around and inspect every bit of text on offer. And where was this Duty Manager who we could supposedly call?

I was there to relax, not worry about rather dated rules. I have ot admit, that when I went to bed I was far from relaxed. Anyway, to conclude, I do recommend the Wordsworth, but beware staying out beyond pumpkin time!

Room Tip: One you could climb in through the window when you get locked out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thalweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,573 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
868 reviews
9 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £72 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing