We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wet weekend in Grasmere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wet weekend in Grasmere”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Booked a 2 night break including dinner on first night, cream tea on either day & breakfast on both,. Room was very clean, warm & comfortable with a king size bed, even though it was only a standard room. Staff were extremely helpful & friendly. The meal in the Signature restaurant was excellent. The pool & spa were a little disappointing as the jacuzzi diddn't seem to work correctly, but it was nice to have the pool as the weather was dreadful, it rained for 24 hours non stop.Location of hotel was great for exploring Grasmere & surrounding area,plenty to do without getting in the car. We would highly recommend the hotel for a break in the lakes & hope to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaraandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    317
    152
    52
    25
See reviews for
186
790
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SWINDON
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

we stayed for a 3 night break in February and on our first night had dinner in the Dove bistro. The food was average to say the least, i had the gammon and my girlfriend had the lamb shank. The gammon was like a bacon rasher and the lamb was little better, veg all dryed up .
Complained to the reception as the waiting staff were rushed off their feet, and spoke to the manager. He said i have just eaten there and the food was fine and then ignored me so that was that.
The rest of the Hotel was lovely and the staff were very accomodating, rooms were very nice .Shame about the manager.!
Breakfasts were very nice with a good choice and good service from hard working staff.
!

Room Tip: great hotel shame about the manager location is fantastic .When in Grasmere take a hike to Easdale t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neilgwade555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

stayed for 2 nights.....what a fantastic setting for a short winter break. Staff all very friendly & helpful, rooms clean & comfortable, food excellent (breakfast & evening meals). Even the weather was kind until we went for a walk around the lake & got caught in a hail/snow storm! Will definitely return & have already recommended it to friends/family

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14114325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Stayed one night at the Wordsworth and wished it could have been a bit longer. The room was spotless and very comfortable. Both the bedroom and the bathroom looked like they had recently been completely redecorated - and very tastefully too!
Dinner in the hotel was lovely and breakfast was good too - although they had run out of croissants by the time we were ready for one! Service throughout our stay was superb. Staff were friendly and helpful, including the lady who provided the spa treatments and really helped us to relax.
Grasmere is a lovely quiet contrast to busy Ambleside and Windermere, and we were fortunate to have the decent weather to enjoy a walk around the village. The Wordsworth is right in the centre - perfect. Will definitely stay here again at some point, and hopefully for more than one night!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

A lovely winter break at the Wordsworth Hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very centrally located so no driving required.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbigailsParty042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A two night winter spa break, if you could pick your perfect hotel and drop it into your perfect surroundings this would be it, we have stayed in the Wordsworth before and the ongoing improvements to the hotel are only increasing its stock. As before the staff are first class, these guys don`t go the extra mile, they own the extra mile, nothing, at whatever time of the day is to much trouble, once again the Head Chef and his staff were on top of their game, the food was of the highest quality, locally sourced produce cooked to perfection, whether you ate in the Signature Restaurant or the Dove Bistro, neither disappointed, the Restaurant Manager and his staff made every customer feel like a VIP with service of the highest standard. The room we were allocated had been redecorated and had new furniture all done to a very high standard, as was the cleanliness of the room and on suite. once again the Wordsworth did not disappoint, and we would recommend this hotel to anyone who appreciates high standards and service.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport,U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from a two night break. Lovely room with a view of the village, the snow made the scenery even more magical. The food was very good and although the hotel was full on our first night, the staff remained very calm and always had time to talk to the customers.
Lovely walks from the hotel and the log fire in the entrance hall and the lovely swimming pool very welcome after a long walk. I also appreciated the quality of the duvet and the pillows.
The hotel has lots of rooms to sit in and one in particular is very elegant with lovely furniture, a beautiful fireplace and windows overlooking the garden. If I could make one suggestion, it would be wonderful to have a log fire in this delightful room.
Hope to return to this lovely, friendly hotel soon.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing