We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
700
356
173
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
356
173
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature restaurantdove bistrovillage view roomcream teajacuzzi and saunachanging roomson arrivalafternoon teaclassic roomlake districtlovely hotelcourse mealmain restaurantan upgradesconeslog firehigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
1,133 - 1,138 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Well, we did have high expectations before we arrived, but we were thrilled with our experience. A most comfortable room overlooking the village, and it had clearly been recently refurbished.
Reception and restaurant staff (many east european) were always smiling and helpful and really made you feel that nothing was too much trouble - not always the case these days. Dinner could not be faulted, nor could the individually cooked breakfast. Interestingly, for a mid-week break in March, the hotel was very busy, and if they maintain these standards, they will continue to be.
Faults? Can't think of any, really. We had a duff lightbulb that was changed immediately. There were magazines in the room to read, and the included cream tea fitted the bill.
I am pleased we chose, on recommendation, the Wordsworth, and would recommend it to anyone thinking of a relaxing break.
Swimming pool and hot tub were nice, too!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunderlandMackem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Recently enjoyed a two night stay with my wife on one of the attractive (though still not cheap) packages they provide during the quiet season in the Lake District. The hotel was very busy which for anyone who has stayed here willl come as no suprise.

POur recently refurbished room was to the highest standard, beautifully decorated and superb attention to detail. The bed was one of the best we have slept in. The staff were all excellent and always happy to help. Food was superb, though pricey. We ate in the ajoining Bistro (which is part of the hotel) on the second night of our stay and the food was just as good as the restaurant.

We will be going back!!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road at the frnt which was geat. Grasmere very quiet after about 7.00pm but this was in March.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrequenttravellerL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was a special offer 2 nts for 2 with dinner 1st night and afternoon tea on one day and bottle of bubbly in room. 4 star hotel, although very tired in public areas despite having re-furb only in 2009.Our bedroom was lovely though with excellent facilities and very attractive.The restaurant was very nice and the food was SUPERB...i would eat here if i was visiting the area again.Staff all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

what a wonderful hotel the staff were delightful the hotel is out of this world nothing to much to ask for they even charged my ipod for me the food is mouth wateringly great i have booked for new year s eve and we carnt wait to go back great big thanks to all the staff you are terrific second to none

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robthereduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Myself and my wife have just returned from a 2 night stay at The Wordsworth Hotel. My wife had stayed previously with a friend and is due to return early next month.
The location of the Hotel is excellent and Grasmere is a great village to visit.
We were placed in room 19 , which first impressions were fine , it was tastefully decorated however very warm. The window did not lock (reported to reception) and the room was easily accessible from outside , however I do feel it is a safe area.
Our meal on the first night which was included as part of the package was average and the service was absolutely terrible , which was noticed by William who offered us a free meal on the second night. We were told starters were no longer available after ordering , the wrong main meal was brought for my wife and we were forgot about after ordering our dessert. Sitting for over 40 minutes.Credit to William who picked up on the problems and offered a solution.
The menu remained the same for both nights, with the selection quite limited. Also my wife was dissapointed with the standard of the food following her visit last year.
The pool area was fine however the Whirlpool out of order ( new pump fitted recently on other reports) and the sauna not accessible from the pool area.
With regards to room 19 , due to the heat we left the window open durng the night only to be woke from the noise in the kitchens at approx 6am , when we discussed this with the reception I was told they were surprised as they do not start work in the Kitchen until 6.30 !!!
As my wife is due to visit in a few weeks we asked what room she may be in and were informed it would be further along the corridor. Hopefully better than and quieter than room 19.
Sounds like we were dissapointed however it was a pleasant few days away , with some great weather and the hotel just didnt live up to the standards that was experienced during the last visit.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms over the Kitchen (19)
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyran555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

I am sorry to read your review and that our service was not up to standard, it is no excuse to say we were extremely busy that weekend. It is difficult when we are trying to feature so many fresh local dishes, such as crab, smoked duck and venison to keep the balance between having it fresh and it being available. We have spoken to the chefs about being quiet when arriving for work.

We do hope your wife will have an enjoyable stay on her return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews