We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy if your room is above the kitchens”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

For a 4* luxury hotel with so many favourable reviews and payment of £150 a night for a double room we were disappointed with a smaller room than we have had in many upmarket B & Bs and a very noisy location above the kitchens. We could hear the staff shouting 'Service' until gone 11.00 pm. We could also hear occupants in rooms either side of us switching their lights on and off from the wall switches. We asked to be moved to other quieter rooms for our second night and then found we were without a room for 4 hours from 10am til 2pm. We had to ask to speak to a manager to get our new room for us at 2pm and were offered no apology or complimentary cup of coffee even. When we mentioned this at reception the next day when paying we were given an apology by the owner's daughter and £20 knocked off the bill. But we were very disappointed with both the first room and the service on the first two days.

Room Tip: You have to go for the rooms at £200 a night to get a decent size room that is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Hello I was disappointed to see this review when I had apologised profusely when you checked out and asked what I could do to compensate for the first night. It was your suggestion to minus the extras on your bill which came to £20. I had thought we had sorted any issues then. It was a shame that your upgraded village view room which we moved you into on your 2nd night was not ready before 2pm, but with checkout being 11am and check in later in the day and 39 rooms to service it's hard to have them ready straight away but again I am sorry for your small wait as most of our guests don't spend the day in their room but out enjoying the Lake District. I did also say on check out that should you wish to come again we would give you a complimentary upgrade, so felt I had done my best to fix things. Sadly not!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel has a touch of quality, with the rooms decorated to a high standard.The staff are very helpful and are always on hand and work very hard to make sure your stay is excellent.The signature restaurant in the hotel is of a very high standard and the food is fantastic.Overall though a bit expensive but makes up with lovely rooms and great food......and onsite parking which is a must in grassmere.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibbo6969Redcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Front Office Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

A previous review indicated that 'courtyard' rooms have a view of the fire escape. This is true (No.4) but the term courtyard is misleading. It is a light well that is used also by the fire escape and to store some untidy disused planters/pots etc. Being old, the hotel is like a rabbit warren. The room that we had was small not unlike those found at some London flight termini. It was very comfortable and very clean. Even with the heating turned off we slept with the window open and apart from one 'revellers' incident on the Saturday night after a wedding there was no problem. No a/c. We moved the chair out of ther room to give us more space. The staff could not be more attentive or helpful. Breakast in 'nouvelle cuisine' but very good. Lots of choice of cheese, meat, fruit, yoghurt, cereals, fruit juice in addition to the Cumberland Breakfast/Kipper/smoked salmon and scrambled egg, eggs benedict. Champagne extra! Didn't take dinner but it was obviously very good with LOTS of people using it. Excellent location within a stones throw of the church. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. But I would have been disappointed with the courtyard room at the rack rate. Would I stay again? MOST DEFINITELY.

Room Tip: Drop your luggage at the front door, it is quite a way from the car park. Help is available if reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review The Wordsworth Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed our food, and yes our Courtyard rooms are our smallest rooms with no views. Sadly we can't do much about it, but are having our heating system looked at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My partner and I held our Wedding at the Wordsworth a couple of days ago. The setting could not have been more perfect, even more so with the sun shining.

The staff at the Wordsworth were more than accomodating and couldn't do enough to make our day so very special.

The Junior Suite was stunning, a lovely double aspect room with a balcony facing the Fells, and a bath you could swim in!

The food was exceptional from the Canapes through to the breakfast the morning after.

I would strongly recommend the Wordsworth to anyone, Wedding or not. A beautiful hotel with fabulous staff, in a magnificent setting.

Thank you to all who made our day perfect....

Janine and Rachel Cameron-Joyce

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janinejoycehallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Janine and Rachel thank you for choosing The Wordsworth as the location for your wedding. We are delighted you had such a lovely hotel and have taken the time to share your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We were lucky enough to be given a voucher for this hotel and we were really excited to eat there. The greeting was excellent and the service was very good. The food was good, but didnt feel comfortable eating in the hotel, felt like I was on show. Not sure I would return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

I'm at a loss as how to respond to your review, your meal was free, you say the "greeting was excellent and the service was very good" but you are not sure if you would return! Please let us know if there is anything we can do better!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed at the Wordsworth Hotel for 2 nights during Easter hols with the Dinner Bed and Breakfast Deal.

We found the stay to be very relaxing and the food to be of an excellent standard.

We used the pool and whirlpool and found it to be clean, good temperature. It seems odd that the other guests didnt use these facilities as there was rarely anyone else in there! but all the better for us!

The reception area was tidy and always staffed. Staff were friendly and chatty.

The room we were in was a bit smaller than we were expecting, although we had chosen the standard room without a room, it was something in hindsight we would have probably upgraded. Everything was comfortable and clean and even though there was a wedding party staying one night we weren't disturbed.

The Signature Restaurant which we ate in twice was really something special. The food especially on the 1st night was probably one of the best meals I have ever had. Imaginative use of flavours, excellent presentation and good portion sizes. We had the lamb and venison for mains and they were superb. Service on the first night was top notch and we were not rushed, nor waited too long. Staff were friendly but served professionally. The second night there was a wedding party having drinks in one of the lounges. I think this overburdened the staff a little as it felt less controlled in the restaurant. Nothing major at all, but I know some other guests were left waiting at times and the staff seemed distracted. I guess a couple of suggestions, and I know we should have said at the time, but we dont like to complain. The restaurant was a little cool and so on entering you feel the difference in temperature from the lounges. I would say it is only a couple of degrees, but if the ladies dress up nice you may have chilly legs or arms! My wife had the chicken for mains which came with a small chicken pie as well as a crispy chicken leg and all the veg etc. She really felt the pie wasnt needed and over cluttered the plate. She didnt finish all the chicken or pie as pastry is quite filling but as a plate of food it looked a little confused with the pie as well. Anyway just a couple of minor quibbles, which didnt detract from our enjoyment of staying at the Wordsworth.

A really stunning hotel, excellent food, friendly staff and finally Grasmere.... beautiful location.

Room Tip: The standard room without a view is a little small and feels claustrophobic and a bit stuffy. Spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzyLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay in this delightful hotel. We took advantage of their special offer which included a two night stay in a standard room, 4 course meal in their signature restaurant, free bottle of fizz, 10% of beauty products, free cream tea and money off for a meal in the bistro and full use of the swimming pool, gym etc all included in the price. An excellent deal, which expired on 4th April, 2012.

I always judge a hotel, by how comfortable their beds are and the quality of sleep we get. I am pleased to say the beds were very comfortable, with crisp white egyptian cotton sheets, that invited you to sink in to them and drift peacefully off to sleep.

The room was very compact but had been tastefully decorated and was sufficient for our needs, but we would opt for a larger room the next time we visit. However considering the deal they offered us the room was good value. The hotel itself is in a great location in the centre of Grasmere village, close to all the cafes, shops, and a good base for many of the walks around the surrounding area.

The meal in the Signature restaruant was excellent and the service of the staff was second to none. All the staff throughout the hotel were polite, efficient and professional, making our stay even more enjoyable. Our meal in the bistro was also very good, and I would certainly recommend eating in either, depending on your budget.

The public lounge areas, bar and conservatory are tastefully decorated and very comfortable and are great to chill out in and take in the view of the wonderful garden and the hills and fields beyond, or simply to sit and read and have a few hours of quite relaxation.

I treated myself to a swedish massage from the resident beauty therapist, and it was fabulous, once of the best massages I have ever had (and I have had many), and I would throughly recommend this, as a special treat if you are visiting the hotel. The therapy room is very small and intimate, but has a lovely ambience and the therapist is very proffessional and attentive, and obviously very experienced at her art.

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night visit at this delightful hotel, and will certainly be returning with or without a special offer, as it is well worth the money.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and opt for a room that looks out onto the garden, the views are gorgeous, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOCKY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £87 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing