We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have been back for the fourth, it says it all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wordsworth Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Have been back for the fourth, it says it all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

After returning for our fourth time here in the last four years, we can only reccomend this hotel highly, its rooms are large and clean and some have been refurbished to a very high standard, the staff cannot do enough for you, and its great to see that staff like jerry and gabriel make it a joyful return even Gabriel hasent forgot how to make a decent scotch to my hubbies liking, Jerry has an air that lights up the dining room, the food is excellent and the manager on the dining room, has got it running like clockwork, the Dove which is a bistro attached to the wordsworth is also another fine dining place if you have had enough of the 3 course meal and want something different.

Room Tip: Ask for the front not the back this backs onto the carpark, but still not bad position, room 29 is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 503775Lorraine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear 503775Lorraine45, Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare your review. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us - Jerry and Gaby are great assets to us!
I look forwards to looking after you again in the future,
With kind regards
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    296
    142
    48
    22
See reviews for
176
743
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days. There was a special offer available and, having stayed there before, it was to good to miss!
The hotel is in the centre of the beautiful village of Grasmere. It is an old building which has been restore and maintained to a high standard. The ground floor lounges are well decorated and furnished. The views from the lounges across the beautifully kept gardens to the Fells is pleasing.
Breakfast is well organised and the food is well cooked and presented.
I would strongly recommend anyone considering staying here to book Dinner. The food is just fantastic. We tried different things during our stay and can report that everything we ate was really good.
Our room did not have the nicest view but it was comfortable and clean. There was adequate storage space and the room furniture was very nice and of good quality.
The staff are very friendly and efficient. They are all well dressed and treat the guests in a polite manner.
Would we visit again. Certainly. However the price would have to be right.

Room Tip: We had room 18. If you do not mind looking at the roof of some old out-building then this is the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear GeorgeMerseyside, Thanks for the great review, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward ro welcoming you back. With kind regards,
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

What a lovely setting for a hotel! Exquisite gardens looking onto the Grasmere fells. The food was great and the staff all very nice and helpful! The swimming pool, whirlpool and gym are great! The bar is cosy! We chose the Scotts suite. It was a lovely large room with a fantastic bathroom. There was a problem with the balcony but this was sorted out very quickly. But 'oh boy' the suites are expensive!!!!!!

Room Tip: You could choose a suite but you may need to start saving now. Some rooms are a tight fit! I think r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Staro30, Thanks so much for taking the time to prepare and post your review. It is great to see you enjoyed your time with us. Our suites are very beautiful and are ideal for an extra special treat - keep looking for our Winter Specials though, I am sure we will have some great deals coming up. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

With kindest regards
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra - Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

While visiting the UK from Australia our English friends took us to the Lake District to see the natural beauty of the area. They had stayed at many hotels in the area, but decided on the Wordsworth on family recommendations. We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package for £200 per couple, great value considering the exceptional quality of the food and service at dinner. The full English breakfast was also delicious.

The village view room was full of character and had a very nice recently renovated bathroom with a huge bath tub. There was also a large conservatory and other lounge areas to sit a talk. A nice fireplace in the reception lounge added to the character.

We also took advantage of the heated indoor pool and jacuzzi.

The village of Grasmere is delightful and is filled with interesting shops. It is surrounded by beautiful countryside and lakes. Make sure that you take good quality waterproof clothing to enjoy the many walks around the area.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank steve_fossil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Steve_fossil, I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks so much for posting this great review.
With kindest regards,
Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Just returned from a two night relaxing stay at The Wordsworth. I have to say the setting is 'chocolate box ' perfect and the hotel is not too bad either. Staff very friendly and efficient thus ensuring a smooth check in. Luckily we were given a free upgrade to a village room which overlooked Grasmere village itself. Room was fab but still managed to retain the character of the hotel, only downside was that the mattress was a bit lumpy but I could live with that. Food in the restaurant was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our meals there; again staff very helpful and obliging.Would i visit again yes I would if i could get another 'deal'. Would i pay full price to stay here? no I don't think I would, so saying that i could imagine Christmas at this hotel to be something really special the setting just lends itself to that!

Room Tip: Room 14 a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GatesheadCheekychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Gatesheadcheeky, Thanks for taking the time to post your review. It is great to see that overall you enjoyed your time with us. I will ensure we check the mattress in the room you stayed in, thanks for the feedback. Keep an eye out on our website, we have special offers running from time to time and particularly over the coming Winter months. It would be a pleasure to look after you again.
With kind regards
Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Had our wedding reception here on 14th September and had the most amazing day of our lives. The hotel setting is idyllic, set in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. The hotel itself is a beautiful lakeland stone building set in stunning grounds and is beautifully decorated, we stayed in The Ruskin Suite which was absolutely gorgeous and had great views of the gardens and mountains.

The staff at The Wordsworth are fantastic. Very welcoming, organised and efficient they helped us so much with the planning of our wedding from start to finish and made us feel very special, nothing was too much trouble for them. In particular I would like to mention Catalin who was our main contact during the wedding planning process and was absolutely brilliant, we can't thank him enough.

Our stay at The Wordsworth was everything we wanted and more, I would highly recommend staying there, we can't wait to come back and stay again and are already talking about booking to stay for our 1st wedding anniversary (although I hope we can come back before that!) and if you are thinking of getting married in the Lake District there really is no better venue in our opinion. A very special place!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear LucyB, It was a real pleasure to look after you and your guests on your special day. We are very lucky with all of our team here and particularly Catalin, who is fantastic at looking after our Weddings and Events, with such a passion. We all look forward to seeing you again and to welcoming you back.
With best wishes,
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Very good three day stay , the food and the service are outstanding and all the staff are to be commended for their attention to detail. Room was modern with very good en suite and powerful shower. Our advice ..dont worry too much about the hotel facilities, you can find niggles if you look for them , as you can anywhere, but you will struggle to find better trained / more pleasant staff and they will actually make your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBrowne_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear RBrowne_12, Thank you very much for your very positive review. I do hope you are able to visit us again soon.
With best regards
Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,363 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#2 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Lancrigg Hotel
The Lancrigg Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing