We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most idyllic setting and venue with food and service to match for the most special day of your life”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The most idyllic setting and venue with food and service to match for the most special day of your life”
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

We had our daughters wedding at the Wordsworth on August Bank Holiday. What can I say!! We set a real challenge to the team as it was a wedding for 200 people over the whole weekend and they came through on all fronts. The rooms and ambience of the hotel were wonderful, the staff were friendly and efficient, the chef outstanding and the management team totally on the case. Iain , the owner and his daughter Polly with their depth of experience made sure every detail was covered and Geraldine and Catalin ran the event totally efficiently. Unfortunately we weren't lucky with the weather but white brollies appeared as if by magic and in such a lovely venue it had no impact on everybody's full enjoyment of the event. I can strongly recommend it to anybody who wants the most magical place in the world for their most special day. You pulled it off for us , thank you to everybody at the Wordsworth

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AT190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Dear AT190, Thanks ever so much for taking the time to prepare and post such a fantastic review. It was a real pleasure to look after you and your special guests; the whole team gained experience and enjoyed assisting with your event.
Kindest wishes
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    305
    145
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
762
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, Cumbria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Just returned from our second visit to this hotel. Booked 2 nights, last minute, on the 123 deal and upgraded to a village view room. Had a lovely time. Room was lovely and spacious, food in the restaurant on the first night was fab and all the extra touches made it a lovely dining experience with great food. On the second night ate in the less formal Bistro, but food equally as good. Staff at hotel are great and very attentive, nothing too much trouble. Even the weather behaved itself!!
Perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevieS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Stevie53, I am so glad to hear you had such a great time with us - the whole team enjoy sharing our reviews. I do hope you will return to stay with us in the future.
With kindest thoughts,
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Booked a last minute 123 offer and worth ever penny and would have paid more. The friendly and helpful staff is the first thing you notice , the place has great charm and is clean and comfortable. The food is amazing each course was not just challenges your taste buds tasty but some surprises . If you prefer something traditional and simple though it's not the place to eat. The parking was free and the grounds are great to look out from it's many comfortable lounges and the fells as a backdrop .
We aso had treatment at the Limes and Lisa was excellent.

This was a great treat in a lovely and quieter part of the lakes.

Room Tip: the standard rooms were large enough for short stay and had hillside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havenhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Havenhunters, Thank you so much for such a fabulous review - we are all very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will return in the future, we look forward to looking after you again. Lisa at Lime Beauty is a great therapist and she has some fabby treatments.
With kind regards
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Went for a 3 night dinner B&B deal. We were not disappointed. In fact we where amazed we actually could eat all that yummy food. Portions were very generous. On a serious note the wordsworth delivers a high standard service wise and the food is very well constructed. A very good deal for foodies and nature lovers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aatraveller03102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Aatraveller03102011, Thank you so much for such a great and constructive review. I am so glad you enjoyed our food - if you return and I hope you do, please let me know and we will let you try out Tasting Menu, for a new experience for you - we would love your feedback.
With kindest regards
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

After returning for our fourth time here in the last four years, we can only reccomend this hotel highly, its rooms are large and clean and some have been refurbished to a very high standard, the staff cannot do enough for you, and its great to see that staff like jerry and gabriel make it a joyful return even Gabriel hasent forgot how to make a decent scotch to my hubbies liking, Jerry has an air that lights up the dining room, the food is excellent and the manager on the dining room, has got it running like clockwork, the Dove which is a bistro attached to the wordsworth is also another fine dining place if you have had enough of the 3 course meal and want something different.

Room Tip: Ask for the front not the back this backs onto the carpark, but still not bad position, room 29 is e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 503775Lorraine45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear 503775Lorraine45, Thank you so much for taking the time to prepare your review. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us - Jerry and Gaby are great assets to us!
I look forwards to looking after you again in the future,
With kind regards
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a few days. There was a special offer available and, having stayed there before, it was to good to miss!
The hotel is in the centre of the beautiful village of Grasmere. It is an old building which has been restore and maintained to a high standard. The ground floor lounges are well decorated and furnished. The views from the lounges across the beautifully kept gardens to the Fells is pleasing.
Breakfast is well organised and the food is well cooked and presented.
I would strongly recommend anyone considering staying here to book Dinner. The food is just fantastic. We tried different things during our stay and can report that everything we ate was really good.
Our room did not have the nicest view but it was comfortable and clean. There was adequate storage space and the room furniture was very nice and of good quality.
The staff are very friendly and efficient. They are all well dressed and treat the guests in a polite manner.
Would we visit again. Certainly. However the price would have to be right.

Room Tip: We had room 18. If you do not mind looking at the roof of some old out-building then this is the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear GeorgeMerseyside, Thanks for the great review, it is good to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward ro welcoming you back. With kind regards,
Geraldine
Geraldine McKay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

What a lovely setting for a hotel! Exquisite gardens looking onto the Grasmere fells. The food was great and the staff all very nice and helpful! The swimming pool, whirlpool and gym are great! The bar is cosy! We chose the Scotts suite. It was a lovely large room with a fantastic bathroom. There was a problem with the balcony but this was sorted out very quickly. But 'oh boy' the suites are expensive!!!!!!

Room Tip: You could choose a suite but you may need to start saving now. Some rooms are a tight fit! I think r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Staro30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Staro30, Thanks so much for taking the time to prepare and post your review. It is great to see you enjoyed your time with us. Our suites are very beautiful and are ideal for an extra special treat - keep looking for our Winter Specials though, I am sure we will have some great deals coming up. I hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

With kindest regards
Geraldine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing