We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas Time at the Wordsworth!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderful Christmas Time at the Wordsworth!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We would like to thank Iain and Jackie and all the staff at the Wordsworth for our fabulous Festive break! Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, despite them having to pamper to all the guests needs!

Our break was a food extravaganza made extra special by the lovely little touches that enhanced the stay. Our room, 27, was more than large enough for the 2 of us with a great 4 poster bed. The recently refurbished bathroom included a whirlpool bath and Villeroy and Boch sanitaryware.

Fabulous food, fabulous hosting, wonderful atmosphere and everyone we talked to enjoyed their stay. What a brilliant way to spend Christmas in the Lakes, we can certainly recommend it.

A big thank you again to all the staff.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MeAndMrsJonesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear William_Lisa, So kind! Thanks ever so much for taking the time to prepare your review. It really was a pleasure to look after all of our guests over the Festive period - you know, great guests make a great break! Mr and Mrs G are away on a well-earned break at the moment, but I know they will also be very thankful for your feedback. I hope we see you again soon. With kind regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    642
    305
    145
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
762
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2012

visited this hotel for a family wedding. The hotel and staff made the weekend wonderfull. Nothing was too much trouble, staff were always helpfull and courteous. Would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a holiday in the lakes.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear fiona w, Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your feedback, further to your stay with us. It was really a pleasure to look after you all. I do hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Recently visited this hotel with my wife. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we felt very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Any requests we had were dealt with professionally and promptly. All the staff were wonderful, however Jerry stood out he was helpful, courteous, polite and a real asset to the hotel.

The food in the restaurant was exquisite, again no complaints here.

We look forward to our return and thanks to all for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinman-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Tinman-UK, So very kind, thank you for taking the time to prepare and post your feedbcak, following your stay with us. Jerry is a great asset for us - he makes us smile too! Looking forward to seeing you back again in the future. With kind regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We were staying here as part of a wedding party. This hotel is in a fantastic setting, the room was faultless (room 7), the staff attentive, courteous and very hard working. would most definitely recommend this hotel if you feel like treating yourself!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Marcopolo 1960, Wow!, thanks for taking the time to post such a positive report for us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Please do come back and visit us again. With kindest thoughts and regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Was at this hotel in December for a wedding and really enjoyed our stay. The setting is superb and the building beautiful. The first room we were given was very disappointing with many faults which when we pointed out to Reception, another room was offered immediately. This was a higher standard room which was offered at the original rate for the inconvenience we had. The service recovery was excellent and appreciated. All the employees worked hard and gave the feeling of "wanting" to help, which makes all the difference. We would definitely recommend the Wordsworth for a few days away. Thanks!

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Philspain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear Philspain22, Thank you for taking the time to prepare and post your review, further to your stay with us. I am glad we were able to sort out any issues for you, but of course I am sorry that you had any. I hope we see you again in the future. With best regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

really friendly staff, nice souroundings and excellant food. had a really nice 4 days chilling out and walking in the fells around grasmere. The bedroom was small but looked out over the fells and the bathroom had just been upgraded. The Jacuzzi was great to return to at the end of the day. If there was a down side it was that the wifi didn't get to room 9 but there were plenty of palces around the lounges to set up and have good connections.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hartlovap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear hartovap, a really super review - thank you so much. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry you didn't get a great coverage in your room with our wi-fi - I will investigate. I hope we see you again in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Just spent three night at the Wordsworth hotel on dinner b&b stayed in one of the rooms overlooking the village and was worth the extra cost. They have several public rooms decorated to a high standard and very peaceful. Can't say the room are big but it was comfortable, the bathroom was very high end. No problems with heating in fact had to turn it down even though it was very cold [snow]. The staff were brillient very polite and helpful. [best that I have met!] the food was very good with plenty of choice and loads of it. You would not go hungry there. We used the swimming pool and jaccuzi. Changing rooms very clean towels supplied at reception. Can't say much about the spa because did not try it, [I prefer to have a separate spa area] I felt that the hotel was very good value for money. I rated the room and breakfast four stars because I felt that there could be a better selection of cereals at breakfast and the room was smaller then I expected but otherwise enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear dot_mc, Thank you so much for such a great review. Good feedback regarding breakfast choice and we will see what we can do to improve the choice. I do look forward to seeing you back in the future. With kind regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing