We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Spot”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We visited hotel in May for a 2 night break. Staff were efficient and food was fantastic. Lovely views from public rooms. We were booked for dinner on first night and enjoyed it so much we booked into restaurant on second night as well. On a down side we had booked a classic room but our view was of the fire escape and room was uncomfortably hot even though we kept the window in bathroom and bedroom open.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatfamilyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear PatfamilyHolidays, Thanks so much for taking the time to prepare and post your review and I am so happy that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you found your room warm, but I do hope you will return to see us again. I look forward to welcoming you back. With kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    309
    148
    49
    24
See reviews for
183
773
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed for 1 night and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff were lovely, rooms fab and breakfast tasty. The pillows and bedding are the softest I've ever had the pleasure of sleeping on. The gardens are beautiful, and sitting in them in the sunshine having a few beers made my weekend. I will definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Pamela C, Thanks ever so much for such a lovely review - I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just a short note to say we recently stayed at the Wordsworth Hotel and was thoroughly satisfied with our short stay. Upgraded upon arrival, it was quiet and sunny and very relaxing, we did look at other hotels in the area but this one offered a more complete experience. Only one point to raise is that coming out of the swimming pool into the hall way to enter the sauna is a bit odd.....

Room Tip: Room 7 overlooks the garden/hills and some of the village with its double aspect windows..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Smithff, Thanks ever so much for taking the time to prepare and post your review. I am delighted to see that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding our sauna access - it was not possible to introduce this facility with a poolside entrance, however we really wanted to be able to include this facility for our guests, so we feel happy that we can at least offer our guests a great sauna. I do apologise that you felt this was not a positive aspect to your stay. I do hope you will come back and visit us again. With kind regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013 via mobile

I thought I'd booked another Hotel in Grasmere where we had previously stayed ( more pricey), but I must say the
Wordsworth was really good. The food was excellent, dinner & breakfast, the room was small but okay, I am sure other rooms are better but the package booked was for a standard room. Great spot right in the centre of the town of Grasmere. Staff very friendly and helpful, my only criticism was the need to up keep the common hall ways, bar and general parts of the hotel better as the felt untidy and shabby. that said I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joesph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Joseph S, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review, following your recent stay with us. We are all very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope you will return to us in the future. With kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Me and hubby stayed for one night mid week break, Staff very helpful and polite, rooms clean and nicely furnished although extremely warm. Restaurant run very well food was exceptional breakfast cooked to order. The grounds are a perfect view whilst chilling in the whirlpool - will stay again.

Room Tip: Cooler room than number 9 extremely warm but still slept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Cheryl B. Thanks so much for such a great review. Brilliant to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all look forward to welcoming you back. With kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with a KGB voucher. The voucher stated we were to get a classic standard room but we were pleasantly surprised to be put in one of the larger village view rooms. The room itself was large with a huge bed and a good sized modern bathroom with a walk-in shower. The room was at the front of the hotel and had a window seat which looked out onto the street below. Very nice indeed. A 4 course dinner was included as part of the deal on the first night and the food was to a very high standard. I had a main course of lamb three ways which was very tasty. The waiting staff and the receptionists at the hotel were all very pleasant and very professional in their jobs. We did use the spa facilities but found these to be small and slightly dated. Also the sauna seemed to be separate from the pool and whirlpool and we couldn't work out how to get to it without walking down the corridor in our swimming costumes. I would say this was the only downside to the weekend but overall it was a very pleasant stay in a lovely hotel right in the centre of the village. Oh and we also got some sun which is always a bonus in the lakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masterchef99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear masterchef99, Thank you very much for taking the time to prepare your review, its fabulous to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you will be able to return in the future, with kindest regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We booked a two night stay through Groupon and when we arrived at around mid-day we were allowed in our room. The room was nice but nothing exceptional. As part of the deal we ate in the restaurant on the first evening and we had to complain about the steak as it could have been used to repair shoes. We were offered a replacement or a coffee or liquer. My husband had a coffee and I had a glass of wine. On check out we were given the bill with these items on and although they were taken off we had to make a fuss for this to happen. The hotel is nice and central in Grasmere and generally the staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Extremely warm rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k49p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear k49p, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to prepare and post your review, following your stay with us. I am so sorry that not everything was perfect for you, but I do hope this would not deter you from choosing the Hotel again in the future. Its good to get all feedback, so we can improve our service and the experience for our guests. We do offer great deals from time to time, its always best to check our own website - I am not certain which offer you had booked with us, as we have never worked with Groupon, but as a 'Friend of the Wordsworth' you will qualify for our best offers. With kind regards, Geraldine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
708 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing