We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words - worth nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Words - worth nothing”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We decided to stay at the "Wordsworth Hotel" for my birthday on Wednesday the 14th August 2013. We had some reservations after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but thought why not they can't be as bad as the reviews say. I was wrong, and I could have kicked myself I wish I could take my words back, it was £119 badley spent, should have slept in the car. We were upgraded from a courtyard room into a classic double room, was it really an upgrade or was it a play on words. The room was nicely decorated but the worst was yet to come, the bed was hard as nails, the room was so hot we had to have the window open all night, with the ceiling fan on which made no affect to the heat, continually making a noise . The automatic pumps which are situated in the roof voids along the corridors were cutting in every 3 minutes, you were literally waiting for the next and then the next and so on and so on this went on all night. Myself and my partner were shattered in the morning, we had not slept all night with the noise and the heat, by the way this is room 22 folks beware!! All we can say is the breakfast was excellent, when checking out the next day we were asked by the receptionist of 22 years standing, asked if we had enjoyed our 1 night stay the answer was NO, having explained what had gone on, she replied that no one else had complaned about the A/C'S or the rooms being hot but would make a note of it, I can however refer her to the past reviews on tripadvisor if she would like to take the trouble to read them. She asked if I would like to se the duty manager I declined for the simple reason I wanted to pay and get the hell out of the place, really what could he/she do, the robbery had been committed. The place needs some seriuous alterations internally with regards to re-organising the pipe work feeds for the A/C's, general decor needs attention, some of the staff were pleasant,if not a tad bordering on the theatrica but you wonder if thats because of the race to be employee of the month. Awkward receptionist on the night of our stay, didn't make us feel very welcome infact from checking in the hotel you sensed a general lack of enthusiam from a minority of the staff. Will not recommend this hotel, and will not return in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pensioner186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Regular readers of trip advisor will see this review does not reflect the excellent feedback we get from the vast majority of our guests.

Neither does it reflect the courteous, caring and professional nature of our staff that without question is delivered to every guest that visits The Wordsworth.

It is a great shame that you didn't speak with one of our management team as you would of received a sincere apology for an experience that is highly unusual.

We have now found that a faulty pressure valve in the boiler was to blame for the noise during the night and as our receptionist mentioned we have not had a problem with this room before. The mattress in the room is brand new and we apologise if this was too firm for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    311
    150
    50
    25
See reviews for
183
783
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We booked two rooms in this hotel for a long weekend with my parents. We paid over £600 for the two rooms for two nights (including breakfast). My parents room (room 4) was tiny - my dad had to sit on the bed whilst my mum got ready as there was barely a foot of spare room around the bed. My parents are in their late 70's and said it was reminiscent of their early days in Blackpool rather than a £150 per night 4 star hotel. Our room (room 9) was slightly bigger however we were kept awake all night with a pump going on an off in a cupboard next door. We were moved to a much improved room for the following night but it didnt detract from the fact we had effectively paid £150 for a night with little sleep. The food in the hotel and the bistro was very good and the staff were also very pleasant. However we were extremely disappointed in the standard of the rooms and felt badly let down (we did complain but the receptionist showed little interest). We had been really looking forward to the weekend and will certainly not be returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 4 or 9!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
We are very disappointed you did not enjoy your first night with us but are glad to hear the food and the staff excelled for you. Of course as with all complaints we do our utmost to rectify any issues and in this instance we were happy to provide a room upgrade for you.

We also offered to do the same for your parents but this was refused.

Room 4 and room 9 are our standard courtyard rooms and whilst comfortable they are not the biggest in the hotel and are priced to reflect this, the Saturday was £159 and the Sunday £119, as you move through our categories there are the choice of splendid views and lots of space.

We are sorry you felt let down on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived home after a fantastic weekend for our daughters wedding. Everything went smoothly all the staff were very helpful nothing is too much for them Caitlin was a great help particularly with the organisation of the wedding we couldn't have wished for more

The hotel is charming and all the rooms are great very clean and absolutely the most comfy beds

The food is of a very high standard at our wedding breakfast everything came out boiling hot and the barbecue we had later was of the same high standard we couldnt have asked for more
I would recommend this hotel for weekend breaks and especially have the hotel for exclusive use which we did for the wedding.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravellers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed at The Wordsworth Hotel from 5th to 9th August with my mum. We booked a courtyard room which had no view and was a very small room for 2 people. One of the main reasons for booking the hotel was for the wifi (which was supposed to be throughout the hotel), but it was virtually impossible to get it in the bedroom and very patchy in the rest of the hotel.
The breakfast buffet was disappointing, although there was also the option of a cooked breakfast too. We ate in the restaurant one evening and the food was excellent and also in The Dove Bistro which was also good.
The bar and lounge needed to change the music each night as Frank Sinatra became a bit repetitive !
It felt like the hotel were trying to save money in a number of areas - no nuts/crisps were served with bar drinks and bathroom accessories were very limited !
We were sick and had to extend our stay and the staff were very helpful and kind in giving us a reduced rate on the extra night and throughout our illness.
Grasmere itself is definitely the most picturesque village to stay in in The Lakes having visited there many times before. I will be coming back again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us your thoughts, we are very glad to hear you and your mum enjoyed your evening meals with us and it was a pleasure to organise support for you from our local medical centre and help you through your illness.

Our courtyard rooms are the smallest in the house, we do not pretend they are anything else and this is reflected in their pricing and the way we describe them on the phone and website. These rooms do not have views as they look onto an internal courtyard, we wish all of our rooms could have the views, living rooms and spacious bedrooms our top rooms have but unfortunately in a historic building such as ours this is not possible.

I am very sorry to hear you did not like our buffet which is intended as a starter to the freshly cooked hot breakfasts. We get lots of positive feedback on the buffet which includes cereals, berry compotes, fruit yoghurt, natural yoghurt, prunes poached in earl grey , apricots poached in syrup and vanilla, Platters of cured meats, selection of British cheeses, pan au chocolat, croissants and fresh fruit juices.

We are in the process of looking at our Wi-Fi system which has been intermittent over the last week, we are very sorry this affected your stay and we are actioning the work to give us better consistency throughout the building.

We have not attempted to save money in the areas you suggest in fact it has been quite the opposite. We have recently moved our toiletries to Temple Spa who offer excellent quality premium toiletries and we also serve handmade canapés in the bar each evening to our diners, we have considered serving nibbles but feel canapés are a nicer treat and crisps and nuts are available for purchase from the bar.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

What a wonderful venue for our wedding, the location, hotel, gardens, staff and food were all excellent. The staff were on hand 24/7 to ensure our every need was met, nothing was too much trouble and every one of our guests commented upon the excellent service. We couldn't have chosen anywhere better to return to celebrate our future wedding anniversaries, however we are certain to go back more often than that. Outstanding!

Room Tip: Certain rooms have views of the fells, ask reception when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Wordsworth Hotel and Spa from 2 to 4 August, after booking a last minute break earlier that week. All I can say is that, after visiting the Lakes since I was a child, this was by far the best hotel in the Lakes in which I've ever stayed. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was very nice too and came with complimentary Temple Spa products.

The swimming pool and jacuzzi were excellent and my wife also had a massage at the hotel spa, which she said was brilliant. We also had breakfast each morning (which was included in the price) and this consisted of a cold buffet and a hot breakfast, cooked to order. We were very impressed! Plus the location is ideal - it is right in the middle of Grasmere, which is one of the most picturesque little villages in the Lakes.

We will definitely be coming back to the Wordsworth in the future and we would certainly recommend it to any travellers, young or old.

Room Tip: We had a double room with a village view, which was on the top floor of the hotel and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickjpwoods1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Not usually one for writing these things but had such a fantastic time at this hotel. My husband booked us a one night DBB deal for our wedding anniversary and it was a pleasure from start to end, beginning with a complementary room upgrade to a suite on check in. Room (Ruskin Suite) was lovely with views from every window. Hotel is great, spa great, food divine, location fantastic but what really made this a weekend to remember was the friendly, helpful staff and exceptional service. They really go the extra mile. My husband and I rarely visit the same place twice, preferring to find new adventures.. But will definitely make an exception in this case. Wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fragilelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
713 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing