We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely 2 night break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
south west scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely 2 night break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a lovely 2 night break. The room we had, No 12, was spacious and had a lovely bathroom. The dinners we had were excellent and breakfast was very good as well. The staff were very efficient and good at their jobs. The hotel has two beautiful sitting rooms which are a rarity in hotels these days. Both overlooked the gardens so very tranquil places to sit and relax. Pool and Jacuzzi were fine - didn't try the sauna as access was from the corridor outside the changing rooms so a little bit awkward. My only small complaint is that we were charged a fee for paying by credit card - have never had that in a hotel before either here or abroad so was a bit surprised.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    301
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
757
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Wordsworth hotel on a Friday night for his birthday. The booking was made last mintue (the Wednesday night) so we got a good deal - dinner, bed and breakfast package in room 5 overlooking the gardens/slight mountain view.
From enquiring about booking though to service in the restaurant all the staff were extremely polite and friendly - they very hardworking and a credit to the hotel!
Our room was very nice. It was spacious with a bay window seating area. Nicely decorated - I appreciated the individual decor in the room, there is more attention to detail I.e. even the bin and magazine holder tied in perfectly with the room! We didn't find our room too hot - it was just right. Also the bed was very comfy!
We had canopies in the bar before our meal which we a nice touch. Our four course meal was very good. Plenty to choose from on the menu and a good list of specials. The restaurant it's self was pleasant. The air con was on when we first went in and I was a touch on the cold side but that was only for a few minutes as it went off and the temperature evened. Breakfast in the restaurant was fantastic!
We didn't use the pool or spa facilities so can't comment on them - had we stayed longer we would have.

All in all a great hotel in the Lakes, had I not got the deal I was given it the room/package would have been out of my price range. So perhaps that sways my judgement slightly! Would love to go back and stop for two nights in the future. We are thinking about returning around Christmas time as a treat!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sun-lover-614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in Grasmere as a group. Three nights, three rooms. First the bad: All three of the rooms were warm. None had aircon. One (22) had a ceiling fan, one (21) was supplied with a desk fan. Ours (33) had none. Ironically rooms 21 and 22 were complimentary upgrades, 21 being a king size without a view, and 22 being the king size with a view. Room 22 was apparently like a sauna, and quite possibly was above the sauna, and they could not leave their window open because of their proximity to a noisy kitchen extractor fan. The other 2 rooms were able to sleep with their windows open, sleeping on top of the covers. All this during through relatively cool temperatures where most are walking around outside with light jackets on. Aside from having rooms that were too warm for our liking, everyone agreed that this is a lovely hotel. The service, from the reception to the bar staff, to the restaurant staff, is top notch. We ate dinner at the hotel on the first night which was very pleasant indeed. One of our party is gluten and dairy intollerent and they were very attentive to her needs. They did manage to under cook the potatoes though. Breakfasts are of a high standard, the eggs Benedict were a particular favourite of mine. We did not make use of the spa facilities, they were booked out sadly. I think that if the can get the temperature in this hotel sorted out, it would be an easy choice for us to return again and again.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor, where you have the option of sleeping with the window open. Some rooms app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had a thoroughly enjoyable, relaxing family holiday - nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. We enjoyed the pool and gym facilities & the massages. The food was excellent and we have high standards! Only one minor comment - the dining room was too warm at times. I've looked at other reviews and noticed the comments about the heat - we did have our window wide open & the fan on all night but we were very comfortable.
We look forward to returning to the Wordsworth the next time we are in the Lakes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthart123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My wife and I decided we would spend a couple of days in the lakes and spend a night at the Wordswoth Hotel as we had previously stayed there and enjoyed our stay, it was a mistake! We unfortunately booked a Courtyard Room (19) which was like a sauna as it was located directly above a noisy kitchen, it was so hot you had to have the window open which meant we were exposed to the constant noise of what we presumed were refridgeration or air conditioning motors it was dreadful, it was like trying to sleep next to a motor boat, we complained in the morning to reception (Kim) who was very nice and polite but said unfortunately there was nothing she could do as she was unable to contact the Manager, however she did say that if we book again they could possibly provide us with an upgrade, I put my complaint in an email to the hotel but did not receive a reply....the purpose of writing this review is to warn anyone contemplating a stay at The Wordsworth to avoid the Courtyard room at all costs!! The cost of the room was £109 per night which was supposed to be a discount on the normal rate of over £200 a night so we thought it was value for money how wrong we were!!

Room Tip: Avoid the Courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear David,

We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room, we replaced all of the double glazing on this side of the hotel last year in order to ensure the rooms are warm as we do not normally experience the lovely weather we have had this year.

I am also sorry we have not received your email, I have searched through our server for the email address you booked with and it has not yielded any results.

We would of course have replied to your concerns and as Kim mentioned we would be happy to organise an upgrade for you on your return.

Please accept our apologies and we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Room was over hot and bed sloping at an angle but the room was v. clean & bathroom lovely! Staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The pool is a bonus and clean and whilst small large enough to do lengths. The grounds to the hotel are beautiful, they have a smoking area tgat's actually nice and you'll see lots of rabbits hoping around tge place. The bar / sofa room has a fantastic king size noughts and crosses along with other board games. Hotel is centrally placed and on a par with other hotels price wise in the village.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Can-malm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We decided to stay at the "Wordsworth Hotel" for my birthday on Wednesday the 14th August 2013. We had some reservations after reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor, but thought why not they can't be as bad as the reviews say. I was wrong, and I could have kicked myself I wish I could take my words back, it was £119 badley spent, should have slept in the car. We were upgraded from a courtyard room into a classic double room, was it really an upgrade or was it a play on words. The room was nicely decorated but the worst was yet to come, the bed was hard as nails, the room was so hot we had to have the window open all night, with the ceiling fan on which made no affect to the heat, continually making a noise . The automatic pumps which are situated in the roof voids along the corridors were cutting in every 3 minutes, you were literally waiting for the next and then the next and so on and so on this went on all night. Myself and my partner were shattered in the morning, we had not slept all night with the noise and the heat, by the way this is room 22 folks beware!! All we can say is the breakfast was excellent, when checking out the next day we were asked by the receptionist of 22 years standing, asked if we had enjoyed our 1 night stay the answer was NO, having explained what had gone on, she replied that no one else had complaned about the A/C'S or the rooms being hot but would make a note of it, I can however refer her to the past reviews on tripadvisor if she would like to take the trouble to read them. She asked if I would like to se the duty manager I declined for the simple reason I wanted to pay and get the hell out of the place, really what could he/she do, the robbery had been committed. The place needs some seriuous alterations internally with regards to re-organising the pipe work feeds for the A/C's, general decor needs attention, some of the staff were pleasant,if not a tad bordering on the theatrica but you wonder if thats because of the race to be employee of the month. Awkward receptionist on the night of our stay, didn't make us feel very welcome infact from checking in the hotel you sensed a general lack of enthusiam from a minority of the staff. Will not recommend this hotel, and will not return in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pensioner186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Regular readers of trip advisor will see this review does not reflect the excellent feedback we get from the vast majority of our guests.

Neither does it reflect the courteous, caring and professional nature of our staff that without question is delivered to every guest that visits The Wordsworth.

It is a great shame that you didn't speak with one of our management team as you would of received a sincere apology for an experience that is highly unusual.

We have now found that a faulty pressure valve in the boiler was to blame for the noise during the night and as our receptionist mentioned we have not had a problem with this room before. The mattress in the room is brand new and we apologise if this was too firm for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing