We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$297
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lancrigg(Grasmere)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,314)
Filter reviews
1,314 results
Traveller rating
700
356
173
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
356
173
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature restaurantdove bistrovillage view roomcream teajacuzzi and saunachanging roomson arrivalafternoon teaclassic roomlake districtlovely hotelcourse mealmain restaurantan upgradesconeslog firehigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
928 - 933 of 1,314 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We have stayed at the Wordsworth hotel on two occasions and have something of a love-hate relationship.

We love the food in the restaurant which would put many fine restaurants in London to shame. The service in the restaurant is always excellent, particularly when Will is waiting on your table, and the wine list has a fabulous selection of bin ends which are going to empty your wallet (but worth every penny).

In the hotel the service generally is good but the hotel is somewhat mediocre and feels very overpriced given the standard of rooms. We stayed in two rooms on our two visits, the first time with a standard room with a village view. Unfortunately this was to the north side of the building and is above the cooling system for the bar/kitchens and was noisy throughout the night with noise coming from outside. The room was also quite stuffy.

On the second occasion we negotiated on the room to ensure that we did not have the same noise in the room and were instead put in a suite overlooking the car park. The room was spacious, but like other rooms we saw, it was in need of refurbishment although the bathroom was modern and well fitted. Choose your room with caution as it was only with the option of a better room that we would consider returning.

The final warning is if you are driving. The car park does not have enough spaces. The spaces in the car park are too small if you are driving anything larger than a mini. Many of the customers at this hotel have very large and expensive cars which makes matters worse (Bentley, Range Rover etc). Unfortunately our classic car suffered damage to the front wing where a careless driver damaged the car whilst trying to get out of the space but didn't stop to tell anyone in reception. Reception were less than helpful at trying to identify the cause and seemed uninterested with the problems in their car park.

Until the rooms are refurbished and the car park is sorted out we won't be back to stay, but would love to dine there again.

Room Tip: Avoid the noisy standard rooms, especially those on the north side overlooking the exit to the car park "Village view".
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scedwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, General Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we are very glad you enjoy the restaurant and service you receive at The Wordsworth.

Our receptionist explained to you that our CCTV did not cover the area you parked in and that she was sorry for any damage to your car. We are lucky to offer one of the largest car parks for a hotel in the area with ample parking even at peak times. As I’m sure you can appreciate it is not possible for us to oversee the car park at all times which is why we do display notices to inform guests that we cannot accept liability for them using the facility.

Our rooms are individually styled with a variety of décor to suit most tastes. These rooms range from classic country house through to contemporary and all benefit from refurbishment over the last 2 years,

We are sorry if you feel let down on this occasion, but we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The occasion was our 30th Wedding Anniversary and we could not have been more pleased with our choice of hotel in a little piece of Heaven called Grasmere!

The rooms were modern, fresh and well equipped. We did not have a view but we did have complete tranquillity- no traffic noise or noisy revellers which Grasmere does not possess.

The food was excellent- five star standards with a local touch of service. You can relax beforehand and afterwards in one of several lounges- all with views of the delightful gardens.

Price wise it compares with top class hotels but excellent value if you book the all inclusive evening meal deal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southport070662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Wordsworth Hotel from the 27th to the 30th August to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient Receptionist who kindly showed us to our room. We were delighted to have been given a complimentary upgrade to Room 5, which had a garden and mountain view and was simply stunning! The décor was modern, as too was the bathroom and the bed was probably one of the most comfortable we have EVER slept in. We also received a complimentary cream tea which we enjoyed whilst sitting in the well manicured gardens. We had dinner in the hotel each evening and the food was simply delicious. The choice was extensive, and the attention to detail was obvious with each dish we chose. Everything was cooked individually to order and was nothing short of perfection. Every member of staff we had the pleasure of coming into contact with was friendly, efficient and had a genuine desire to make our stay as pleasurable as possible and they succeeded. We had an amazing time and we will most definitely return. Sincere thanks to all the staff at the Wordsworth for making our Pearl Wedding Anniversary so memorable!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The Wordsworth is in a lovely spot and is perfect for a quiet break in a pretty location. However, it is quite pricey as is the Signature restaurant, the adjoining bistro is much better value for money and the food delicious (try a glass of Pimms, it comes highly recommended). There is no night life to speak of but the peace and quiet is very welcome. There are some lovely walks in the area suitable for all abilities. Also free car parking. The spa area, including pool and hot tub, is lovely and the pool is large enough to allow for some proper swimming rather than just a splash around. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean and the staff were very welcoming. Breakfast was very tasty.

Room Tip: Village View rooms are bigger and we were given a free upgrade on arrival.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

The room was disappointing and very hot . It was a village view and could have done with air conditioning not just a small table fan . The bed was very comfortable and decor modern as was the bathroom.we enjoyed our stay and meals but feel the room was well overpriced .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet_M186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews