We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had always wanted to stay here having seen hotel on numerous visits to Grasmere but been put off by the cost. Got a good 2 night deal with Secret Escapes including lots of extras for a lot less than normal B&B rates.
Stayed in standard room overlooking courtyard - still had great views of village & hills in the background. Room very clean, felt newly decorated with good storage - not massive but fine for couple of nights.
Deal inc dinner on 1 night in signature restaurant - meal was fine if not spectacular - canapes and champagne nice touch before dinner (as was scones & coffee on arrival) Staff in restaurant very professional & attentive. Similar comment for breakfast although selection for those not wanting cooked breakfast was limited,
Went in pool both days - nice & quiet - more than 4 in and it would have got a bit crowded - really enjoyed it apart from freezing water temp on 2nd day. Didn't try sauna or gym - gym looked ok but small. Again though it was quiet so prob not a problem.
Only real downside was experience in linked Dove Bistro next door - evening meal there on 2nd night - food ok as comes from main restaurant kitchens & several similar options on menu but little atmosphere not helped by one member of staff serving on who seemed completely disinterested. He also initially disputed terms of our deal which inc £15 each off the meal although did then back down on this.
This is only thing preventing 5 stars - hotel has a very welcoming atmosphere helped by lovely lounge area with log fire - the reception desk staff were also very helpful & professional in the way they got us checked in & answered any queries thru our stay.
1 final minor point would be worth having "Do not disturb" signs to to avoid chance of cleaners coming into an occupied bathroom - I'm not sure who was more embarrassed!

Room Tip: If you're going for standard room No 35 is fine - well decorated, quiet with OK views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    301
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
755
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just had a really nice stay with fabulous food and friendly staff, although the receptionist today could have been friendlier. The only real downside for us was the heating as mentioned by others, room 5 and it was very noisy, it did eventually go off in the early hours but when it came back on again at 6am you definitely knew about it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just stayed at the Wordsworth for 3 nights with All our Family to celebrate a host of achievements. We where treated very well by All the staff and a few particular mentions to Rachael Will and Susan on reception. The accommodation we all had was first class no complaints at all and as we had been given a lounge to ourselves for our meals it worked a treat as the age range was from 1 year old to 95.

The food was very good quality and yes a few things where changed but it wasn't the end of the world.

The location is first class straight out of the front door or back and the Lakes are your oyster we never used our car's until we came home.

Would definately recommend and use again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know how much you all enjoyed your 3 day celebrations, it is a joy to host such lovely events and we are very happy to hear lots of the team went the extra mile to look after you all.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
369 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

19 of us stayed here for 3 nights for a Family party. It was brilliant we had the resident lounge for all our meals and the staff and and food could not be faulted. I know some people have complained in reviews about ordering evening meal in the morning but with so many of us you could understand why. All the staff where good but I must single out Rachel and Will who bent over backwards to make sure we where looked after. The hotel is very relaxing with small seating area at reception with roaring real fire and the conservatory is a great place to read your papers while looking out into the garden. The gym although small is very adequate and the children loved the pool and Jacuzzi. Nice separate bistro bar area which was good for watching the football. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Suites very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Great building in a stunning location. However we found meal times chaotic and badly organised. First surprise was we were required to give our menu choices for dinner on arrival (first day) and at breakfast (second day) I don't know about other people but I cannot think about my menu choice some10 hours before I eat it. Despite this process they got our menu choices wrong and some things were not available!
We upgraded to a garden view room (room 30) but it was small and badly designed. You need to be very careful getting into the shower due to the design of the shower screen. The trouser press was in a wardrobe, you had to empty the wardrobe of clothes and the ironing board, iron and fan to get to it.
No heating at 6 pm told by reception that it came on "just before dinner".
The gym is tiny and stretches the description of gym to the limit. Pool area small but beware of the very slippery tiles.
Food was good but breakfast service was very slow on the first morning.
Lovely open fires and some nice public rooms.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We are very disappointed to hear that you felt your dining experience was chaotic, you’re group were made aware before booking that a pre order would be required each day due to the number of large groups and guests enjoying the last weekend of half term.

On the last evening we are sorry the lobster was not available as detailed on the menu, this was because we use fresh produce and one of the few downsides of being so rurally locate dis occasionally suppliers let us down, we were however able to offer a fantastic crab dish in replacement.

We regularly checked on your group and everyone seemed to be having a really lovely time, we are just sorry you didn’t bring the issue to our attention during your stay.

We aim to offer a full and varied menu for breakfast but unfortunately when all 70+ of our guests arrive after 9:20 it does take time to cook everything from fresh.

Our heating system is automated however it is constantly heating the Hotel and it is a fine balance in an old building to get the temperature just right throughout.

We are pleased you enjoyed your food and the ambience of the Hotel and it was nice to see you all so stylishly dressed for dinner and having a good time.

We hope to welcome you back some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
longsdon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Good food and restaurant service can get you so far. But at the end of the day You need to be able to sleep whilst on holiday!!
We were misinformed by staff No previous problems with room 9 say the staff then read review dated aug14 by JaniceH. I wish we had. We put up with the torture of noise every few minutes even though i was assured it wouldn't continue through the night but it did. The night porter took pity on us and we moved into another bed to catch a few hours sleep
So please take note of other reviews food is great. Some rooms are dreadful you need to check
When your not looking for a reduction or not bothered about a room upgrade if you return staff not sure what to do the answer is easy tell the truth(we booked as a "friend" of the hotel on an offer not sure how an enemy would be treated )

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank slimlymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Many thanks for your review, we hope we only have friends at The Wordsworth as we are not in the business to make enemies and we are glad you enjoyed most of your stay.

We are very sorry your sleep was interrupted, we know how important this is and we are glad our night porter managed to move you as soon as the issue was reported, however this is obviously not a solution.

Last month we had 2 new pressure vessels fitted to the central heating system to prevent the noise of the pressure being released through the pipes which stopped all reports of noise.

We became aware last week when we moved from our summer heating to winter heating settings that this has not totally solved the issue although it is improved and we are now taking advice on more upgrades to the system to help deal with this.

We hope to welcome you back for a true Wordsworth experience and please accept our sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location,excellent staff.
The leisure club is a bit back to front ! You have to leave the pool area and changing area to go down a corridor in the hotel to gain access to the sauna.
Food in the restaurant ! Starter a little bland the soup was ok ,mains could of been warmer, the onion rings on the steak were from a frozen packet ,this was confirmed by the restaurant manager. How can you hold 2 AA rosettes and serve the basic garnishes from frozen? This then brings into the question of menu pricing.Possibly being picky but when I stay in 4 star hotels with award winning restaurants the food is a big part of the experience.
Wouldn't go back as there are better establishments in the area .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stantheman1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Stan The Man

Thank you for your review and for recognising the excellent staff we have here at The Wordsworth. When Mr Garside bought the hotel and began developing it 3 years ago the leisure facilities were updated and it was decided that a Sauna would be a great feature for our guests, at the time it wasn't possible to break through the wall into the swimming pool but the view was taken better to have it where it is than not at all.

We are continually improving the hotel and we are currently looking into developing all of our leisure facilities, and as part of this we are having surveys carried out to see if we can get the sauna access changed as we do realise it is a little inconvenient.

Your assessment of our food is of great disappointment to us as we have a brigade of 9 chefs working hard to deliver excellent experiences. We serve over 100 meals a day and we rarely get any negative feedback, we were rated at 87% in the 2aa rosette category this year which is a very solid grading and within this category you can use frozen garnish which we only do with onion rings to ensure consistency.

Your feedback has been passed onto chef and we hope you will give us another chance to impress you as we do with nearly all of our guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing