We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here for my nephews wedding in November. The hotel is a warren of rooms well furnished and very comfortable, most of the rooms had roaring fires. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The wedding was well organised, the food was excellent considering that they were serving around 80 guests. As with most hotels the drinks were on the pricey side. The guest rooms were tidy and had everything we needed for a short stay with complimentary tea/coffee and a bottle of water. The setting and grounds of the hotel were spectacular, in the centre of picturesque Grasmere. Grasmere has endless cafe's and gift shops to brows around and the mere to stroll by. There are plenty of walks around Grasmere to enjoy. Breakfast was good although as many of the wedding guests had stayed over in the hotel it was pretty busy and as there is only a one hour window for breakfast the dinning room was rather full and late comers found it difficult to find somewhere to sit. The staff did eventually set up the tables in the little conservatory annex as an overflow. There is a spa at the hotel but we didn't have time to use it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverleylancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Booked a 2 night stay on special offer, the room was very warm although there was a ceiling fan and desk fan supplied, we had a classic standard room which was pleasant, well equipped and a good standard, it overlooked a flat roof but had distant views.

We opted to dine in the Signature Restaurant on 1st night, waited in the Conservatory lounge for menus (hotel was v busy on Thurs 7 Nov and all menus were being used but we didn't wait long) the offer included canapés (but unfortunately we didn't receive the glass of fizz as advertised in the offer).

We ordered our meals and were soon escorted to the restaurant. The wine we ordered didn't arrive but this was rectified immediately along with an apology and the offer of free coffee after the meal. The food was absolutely delicious! The staff were very professional and friendly. Breakfast was pleasant and service was efficient.

We ate in the Dove Bistro on the 2nd night attached to the hotel, again the food was delicious and the waiter was friendly and humerous, we really enjoyed our stay and hope to return. Overall lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev_n_Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in November. Dealt with promptly upon arrival. Escorted to our room by staff.
THE ROOM
The room itself was spacious and well appointed. Ample storage space for clothing. A seating area by the window was provided but as we had a standard room the view out of the window was of an emergency fire escape route. Not the prettiest but I guess we were in the cheapest room. One down side to the room (apart from the view) was the noise. There was a humming/buzzing noise that kept coming on and then going off. It was quite annoying. At first I thought we were close to the lift so it could be that, then I thought it may be the next room's extractor fan but after reading another review it may be something to do with the heating system which I understand they are trying to rectify. Talking of heating the room was rather too warm for me and as the radiator was already turned down there was no way to control the heat apart from opening the window.

RESTAURANT

We dined in the signature restaurant on the first evening and I have to say it was excellent. We had a glass of fizz and canapés prior to being seated which gave us time to look at the menu and decide on our order which was then taken before we went into the dining room.Well presented, well cooked food was the order of the day. Couldn't fault it.

BREAKFAST
Breakfast was a combination of help yourself and then waiter/ress service for cooked food.
The choice in the cold section was pretty standard; cereals, yoghurts, tinned and fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats and fruit juices all nicely presented.

The menu for hot food included porridge, the usual full English or should I say Cumbrian, then choices included eggs benedict, kippers, boiled eggs. I am sure if asked they would serve pretty much anything within reason.
One thing I did notice though was when one of the staff was cleaning up a table after use they brushed the crumbs/debris onto the floor! Maybe a new member of staff but it didn't look good.

THE STAFF

I have to say the staff were excellent during our stay. They were extremely friendly, courteous and professional.

Would I come here again. Yes, but there appear to be other hotels in Grasmere that rank higher in Trip Advisor so member one of them next time...who knows.
PS don't forget the famous Grasmere gingerbread whilst here.. it's next door to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chump57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

What a hotel !!!! The place is AMAZING. We took over the hotel for 2 days for our wedding and I am sooo pleased we did.
The facilities are awesome especially the bedrooms. The are spacious and have everything you need.
Location is brilliant, although I am from Windermere many of the guests had never been to the Lake District and they could go out and about without needing to drive anywhere
The food was great on a normal night and for the wedding where they catered for over 75 people - some of the best beef I have tasted
However the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are amazing professional, friendly and happy. Their attention to detail was fantastic and they made our wedding unforgettable not only for us but for all our guests as well. I think a lot will make a return visit and we plan to take it over again in a few years for an anniversary celebration. Thanks Cat, Joe and all the team at the Wordsworth x

Room Tip: All the room are fab but the suites are amazing !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had always wanted to stay here having seen hotel on numerous visits to Grasmere but been put off by the cost. Got a good 2 night deal with Secret Escapes including lots of extras for a lot less than normal B&B rates.
Stayed in standard room overlooking courtyard - still had great views of village & hills in the background. Room very clean, felt newly decorated with good storage - not massive but fine for couple of nights.
Deal inc dinner on 1 night in signature restaurant - meal was fine if not spectacular - canapes and champagne nice touch before dinner (as was scones & coffee on arrival) Staff in restaurant very professional & attentive. Similar comment for breakfast although selection for those not wanting cooked breakfast was limited,
Went in pool both days - nice & quiet - more than 4 in and it would have got a bit crowded - really enjoyed it apart from freezing water temp on 2nd day. Didn't try sauna or gym - gym looked ok but small. Again though it was quiet so prob not a problem.
Only real downside was experience in linked Dove Bistro next door - evening meal there on 2nd night - food ok as comes from main restaurant kitchens & several similar options on menu but little atmosphere not helped by one member of staff serving on who seemed completely disinterested. He also initially disputed terms of our deal which inc £15 each off the meal although did then back down on this.
This is only thing preventing 5 stars - hotel has a very welcoming atmosphere helped by lovely lounge area with log fire - the reception desk staff were also very helpful & professional in the way they got us checked in & answered any queries thru our stay.
1 final minor point would be worth having "Do not disturb" signs to to avoid chance of cleaners coming into an occupied bathroom - I'm not sure who was more embarrassed!

Room Tip: If you're going for standard room No 35 is fine - well decorated, quiet with OK views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We have just had a really nice stay with fabulous food and friendly staff, although the receptionist today could have been friendlier. The only real downside for us was the heating as mentioned by others, room 5 and it was very noisy, it did eventually go off in the early hours but when it came back on again at 6am you definitely knew about it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just stayed at the Wordsworth for 3 nights with All our Family to celebrate a host of achievements. We where treated very well by All the staff and a few particular mentions to Rachael Will and Susan on reception. The accommodation we all had was first class no complaints at all and as we had been given a lounge to ourselves for our meals it worked a treat as the age range was from 1 year old to 95.

The food was very good quality and yes a few things where changed but it wasn't the end of the world.

The location is first class straight out of the front door or back and the Lakes are your oyster we never used our car's until we came home.

Would definately recommend and use again in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingEddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Thank you very much for letting us know how much you all enjoyed your 3 day celebrations, it is a joy to host such lovely events and we are very happy to hear lots of the team went the extra mile to look after you all.

We look forward to welcoming you all back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,212 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £87 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing