We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHRISTMAS CHEER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“CHRISTMAS CHEER”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Jessie and me like a day at the Lakes on the Saturday before Christmas and have often enjoyed morning coffee or lunch in the Wordsworth Hotel in Grasmere. This year we decided to stay the night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A wedding made the hotel busy but didn't affect our stay. Room 15 at the front of the hotel was more than comfortable and the bathroom first class. Dinner was excellent although the dining room could have been a wee bit warmer on a wet and wild evening. Ideally situated for visiting Reghed, Keswick and Ambleside the Worsdworth in Grasmere would be an ideal base at any time of the year but our one night stay certainly added to our yearly pre-Christmas visit.

Room Tip: Room 15 at the front of the hotel above the restaurant and overlooking Grasmere was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    311
    150
    50
    25
See reviews for
183
783
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Lake District is such a wonderful place. Have always loved the little village of Grasmere for its shopping and tea rooms. So thought we'd try staying here rather than by one of the lakes.

The Wordsworth Hotel is right in the middle of the village with lovely well kept grounds.
Little bunny rabbits running around. Pictureque to the maximum.

We had a ground floor room which was near the swimming pool. There was some noise from the pool equipment. luckily this shut off before bed time. Room itself was adequately furnished. However a little dated. The bathroom was newly refurbished with premium fittings. Shame they did not refurbish the room.

As others have said. This hotels rooms and public areas cannot be described as boutique.
And I can kind of see why people are dissapointed by this. As the room rates are very high.
Reason given is that the hotel is old and cannot really be refurbished. Well lots and lots of old hotels have had the boutique treatment. And yes it probably cost a few million.

However, there arent that many boutique hotels in the Lakes. The Samling is one I could mention. Other old refurbed hotels like the Lowood Bay have set good standards of what can be done.

But I still like the Wordsworth. Best part. The restaurant. we had a DB&B rate and the food was excellent. Included relaxing canapes in the lounge. Service in the restaurant and everywhere else in the hotel was also excellent.

Only negative I can think of is the treatment of our dog. This is not a dog friendly hotel, it is a dog tolerated hotel. A big difference. Our dog was allowed in the room and one public room. Which was fine. But lots of grumpy guests looked down on him. we took him into the garden. No dog-doo bins, gardeners looked at him is disdain. Something which just doesnt usually happen in the Lake district as its known to be 100% dog friendly. No bed or treats of any real fuss from the staff. A big enough negative to put me off staying again. As the Lakes have lots and lots of doggie hotels.

However, still a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slackbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are very fortunate to be in such a lovely part of the world and we are glad you enjoyed Grasmere as much as we do.

We are not a boutique hotel and do not intend to be in the future, this isn't to do with the age or historic nature of the building but quite simply that we are a country house hotel and are styled as such.

We are dog friendly with many of the staff owning dogs and taking great pleasure in meeting them when they come to stay. We have a lot of guests coming through our doors every day both resident and non resident and we must respect that not everyone is a dog person and some people are allergic so we welcome dogs in one of our lounges, the dove bistro and ground floor rooms so that there is a compromise and everyone has the opportunity to enjoy The Wordsworth.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and felt that this hotel is really doing its very best to provide a good customer experience. All the staff are friendly and helpful. When the morning paper wasn’t delivered, the receptionist was all for popping out to another shop to see if she could get it there.

The hotel itself is lovely with comfortable sitting rooms and bar. The dinner both nights was very good indeed, especially the dessert for 2 with a selection of 6 different items. Most places would charge a supplement for this. To have it included just gave it the wow factor. Breakfasts were cooked to order; so much nicer than items sitting around on a hotplate. And there was plenty of fresh fruit. There were even bowls of fruit in the lounge.

Super bathroom, with a good shower, but shower gel and shampoo were not replaced on day 2.
In view of the fact that there was a spa, it was a pity that they had sold out of swimsuits and failed to restock.

Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylynn1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at a last minute pre-Christmas break and had a wonderful time. The hotel was decorated lovely for Christmas with a roaring log fire in reception. Our room was large with a 2 seater sofa easy chair and massive comfy bed. The lounges were lovely as was the bar with plenty of comfy chairs. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and we enjoyed breakfast each morning with plenty of choice you couldn't wish for more. Our second day was dreadful weather wise so we enjoyed a couple of hours in the spa all by ourselves. We also hsd a very nice meal in the adjoiningDove bar. Our only niggle was the heat in our room, heating off fan on window open it was still too hot, but all in all a most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glimpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed two nights in this traditional hotel on a deal including Dinner on the first night.
We paid to upgrade to 'Village View' - (Room 10, above reception) - , . Bedroom was of a good size and traditionally furnished, and a large contemporary bathroom with quality finishes. Public rooms were welcoming and log fires gave a terrific ambience.
Restaurant Staff, service and food were excellent. So much so, we chose to repeat the experience on the second night. Pre-dinner drinks in the conservatory, a leisurely browse through the menu, and complimentary canapés set the tone for two lovely evenings.
The great location provides varied walks and things to do in the village without getting back in the car. Try the walk past Dove cottage, along the 'coffin route ' towards Ambleside, and dropping down to complete a circuit of the lake. Or the (more challenging) circular walk up to Alcock Tarn....plus many more.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilySwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Wordsworth, we are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and we hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We stayed in a village view room at this lovely looking hotel next to the famous Gingerbread shop. The staff were all most obliging and helpful - especially Kim and Susan on Reception and the Maitre d' was delightful. The room, although unremarkable - a rather shabby carpet and an extremely limited amount of actual hanging space for dresses (about 6") vying with an ironing board and shelves full of bedding items in a very small wardrobe, no full length mirror plus very dim lighting - was extremely clean and comfortable. The immaculate bathroom was newly renovated and was excellent. The four course dinner was fabulous as was the service in the restaurant. The breakfast was pleasant especially the delicious croissant which would rival any served in France. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S33OOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Thank you for letting us know how well you were looked after on your recent visit and our pastry chef will be delighted to hear your comments on the croissants! Have a great Christmas and we hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After having a not so fab experience earlier in the year felt it was time we went back as we had stayed so many tomes before and been very happy. What can I say so glad we returned! Stayed in garden room no 7 (must have been an upgrade!) and what a room, the bathroom may be small but why would you need a large bathroom? The room was airy and light and comfy and the views were amazing slept soundly both nights which is rare for me.
We stayed for dinner in the Signature restaurant both nights and the service and food were excellent and we both enjoyed all the courses. The staff throughout were polite and friendly and we felt welcomed (which had been a little worry of mine after my airing of my issues last time - wasn't sure we would be welcome back).
Breakfast was a challenge for the staff everyone came down in the same 15 mins! but they dealt with delays with smiles and apologies beautifully and the breakfast are always worth the wait.
Defiantly five stars and can't wait to return

Room Tip: room 7 - lovely not quite a suite but feels special enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
711 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing