We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST PLACE WE'VE EVER STAYED IN!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“THE BEST PLACE WE'VE EVER STAYED IN!”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we went for a 2 night break in grasmere. we love grasmere and for the last 3/4 years have gone there for short breaks every 2/3 months.
we've stayed in several hotels in the area but this was our first time at the wordsworth.
the only problem we've got, is that we don't think we will ever find anywhere else as good!

the staff - joe, the assistant manager, the reception staff, the restaurant staff, the bar staff, the house keeping staff are all amazing. nothing is too much trouble, they are all polite, friendly and helpful.

the location - perfect

the decor - perfect, modern, yet traditional. (i saw a review saying it needs updating - i disagree. the way it is, keeps it perfect with the traditional village feel, which other hotels lack.)

cleanliness - its like new! its so clean its perfect. the housekeeping staff deserve an award!!!

the rooms - we stayed in 34. think it was a standard room. a good size, massive bed, good bathroom, powerful shower - perfect!

food - firstly, the food and bar manager (i dont no his name but he's the spit of rochdale fc captain peter cavanagh) is the most friendly person u will meet. he and his staff are all first class. breakfast - faultless. evening meal - faultless. all i can say really. dont bother eating anywhere else!!

the bar - nice, clean, friendly, relaxing

spa and pool - didnt use so cant comment but looks good from the outside :)

its a great hotel, and if you can get it at the right price, make it ur first choice.

id like to move in.

thank you for a great stay and we hope to see u soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1978manc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    309
    148
    49
    24
See reviews for
183
772
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a lovely place to go with your parents. Mine are in their mid eighties and my father can't walk very far. The hotel was extremely accommodating. We stayed between Christmas and New Year

We have a small dog and had a room on the ground floor

My parents stayed in room 5 on the first floor which was a delight. Photo attached. We loved the bay window in room 5. There is a lift to the first and second floor rooms

Parts of the hotel are looking a little worn but what is so noticeable in this hotel is how clean it is. No matter where you look there just isn't a speck of dust. Both rooms 1 and 5 were cleaned to the highest standard. I would give these staff a medal

Food in the signature restaurant was super. A bit too much for my parents so we went to the Dove Bistro on the second night for fish and chips which where also really good

Really enjoyed the breakfasts

All staff were very helpful. The young men in the breakfast room where particularly good

My only small niggle was that a couple of staff walked very quickly down the narrow corridors and made me feel like it was my job to jump out of their way - which I did

The grounds and views are stunning and I would love to take my old folk back during the summer and let them sit in the gardens.

Room Tip: We loved room 5 Photo attached
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just back from usual visit to the Wordsworth for Christmas.Always a five star experience but this year all previous years have been surpassed in regard to food quality,atmosphere and above all service.
This is a fabulous hotel run by experienced and professional hoteliers who are also a down to earth and generally great family.They have made this hotel their own and the staff all convey this trademark by delivering the highest standard of customer service that is hard to beat anywhere in the country.
From arrival to departure nothing is too much trouble and all the staff seem happy to work at the hotel and Ian gives the impression of being a great guy to work for.
The fact that so many Christmas guests are returnees coupled with the fact that a high proportion have already booked for next year is in itself sufficient testament to the great work done here by all involved.
Thanks for everything and see you all next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Jessie and me like a day at the Lakes on the Saturday before Christmas and have often enjoyed morning coffee or lunch in the Wordsworth Hotel in Grasmere. This year we decided to stay the night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. A wedding made the hotel busy but didn't affect our stay. Room 15 at the front of the hotel was more than comfortable and the bathroom first class. Dinner was excellent although the dining room could have been a wee bit warmer on a wet and wild evening. Ideally situated for visiting Reghed, Keswick and Ambleside the Worsdworth in Grasmere would be an ideal base at any time of the year but our one night stay certainly added to our yearly pre-Christmas visit.

Room Tip: Room 15 at the front of the hotel above the restaurant and overlooking Grasmere was very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertandjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

The Lake District is such a wonderful place. Have always loved the little village of Grasmere for its shopping and tea rooms. So thought we'd try staying here rather than by one of the lakes.

The Wordsworth Hotel is right in the middle of the village with lovely well kept grounds.
Little bunny rabbits running around. Pictureque to the maximum.

We had a ground floor room which was near the swimming pool. There was some noise from the pool equipment. luckily this shut off before bed time. Room itself was adequately furnished. However a little dated. The bathroom was newly refurbished with premium fittings. Shame they did not refurbish the room.

As others have said. This hotels rooms and public areas cannot be described as boutique.
And I can kind of see why people are dissapointed by this. As the room rates are very high.
Reason given is that the hotel is old and cannot really be refurbished. Well lots and lots of old hotels have had the boutique treatment. And yes it probably cost a few million.

However, there arent that many boutique hotels in the Lakes. The Samling is one I could mention. Other old refurbed hotels like the Lowood Bay have set good standards of what can be done.

But I still like the Wordsworth. Best part. The restaurant. we had a DB&B rate and the food was excellent. Included relaxing canapes in the lounge. Service in the restaurant and everywhere else in the hotel was also excellent.

Only negative I can think of is the treatment of our dog. This is not a dog friendly hotel, it is a dog tolerated hotel. A big difference. Our dog was allowed in the room and one public room. Which was fine. But lots of grumpy guests looked down on him. we took him into the garden. No dog-doo bins, gardeners looked at him is disdain. Something which just doesnt usually happen in the Lake district as its known to be 100% dog friendly. No bed or treats of any real fuss from the staff. A big enough negative to put me off staying again. As the Lakes have lots and lots of doggie hotels.

However, still a great hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slackbladder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we are very fortunate to be in such a lovely part of the world and we are glad you enjoyed Grasmere as much as we do.

We are not a boutique hotel and do not intend to be in the future, this isn't to do with the age or historic nature of the building but quite simply that we are a country house hotel and are styled as such.

We are dog friendly with many of the staff owning dogs and taking great pleasure in meeting them when they come to stay. We have a lot of guests coming through our doors every day both resident and non resident and we must respect that not everyone is a dog person and some people are allergic so we welcome dogs in one of our lounges, the dove bistro and ground floor rooms so that there is a compromise and everyone has the opportunity to enjoy The Wordsworth.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and felt that this hotel is really doing its very best to provide a good customer experience. All the staff are friendly and helpful. When the morning paper wasn’t delivered, the receptionist was all for popping out to another shop to see if she could get it there.

The hotel itself is lovely with comfortable sitting rooms and bar. The dinner both nights was very good indeed, especially the dessert for 2 with a selection of 6 different items. Most places would charge a supplement for this. To have it included just gave it the wow factor. Breakfasts were cooked to order; so much nicer than items sitting around on a hotplate. And there was plenty of fresh fruit. There were even bowls of fruit in the lounge.

Super bathroom, with a good shower, but shower gel and shampoo were not replaced on day 2.
In view of the fact that there was a spa, it was a pity that they had sold out of swimsuits and failed to restock.

Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylynn1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed at a last minute pre-Christmas break and had a wonderful time. The hotel was decorated lovely for Christmas with a roaring log fire in reception. Our room was large with a 2 seater sofa easy chair and massive comfy bed. The lounges were lovely as was the bar with plenty of comfy chairs. All of the staff were friendly and attentive and we enjoyed breakfast each morning with plenty of choice you couldn't wish for more. Our second day was dreadful weather wise so we enjoyed a couple of hours in the spa all by ourselves. We also hsd a very nice meal in the adjoiningDove bar. Our only niggle was the heat in our room, heating off fan on window open it was still too hot, but all in all a most enjoyable break.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glimpys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
707 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing