We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking stay. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the decquincy suite and and was very impressed with the hotel and attentiveness of staff. The food was outstanding and considering the rating of the hotel it was value for money
I proposed to my other half too!
What a beautiful setting for such an occasion. Thanks to everyone for making it so special.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Alphaoscarone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for review. We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us , and will pass on your comments to our team, but most important CONGRATULATIONS!!! We look forward to welcome you back at The Wordsworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Visited the lovely conservatory for a coffee with family. The service was great, the coffee looked nice and frothy but it was lukewarm. I don't understand how that can happen when it is made with a coffee machine.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank holimonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review, we have looked at the temperature our milk frother is running at following your review and the milk is lovely and hot however we are sorry your coffee wasn't, next time your in the village please pop back and let us know and we will make sure there is a piping hot Lavazza waiting for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Dear Joe & all the Staff at The Wordsworth Hotel & Spa,

We just wanted to say a heartfelt thank you for our wonderful stay at your hotel this weekend. After our disastrous start to the respite weekend( at another hotel) we came to you on Saturday 12th january 2014 in the morning exhausted and downhearted. You gave us a beautiful room for the evening, an outstanding meal in the bistro followed be a hearty breakfast.

The whole experience was made even more enjoyable by the considerate & friendly staff at The Wordsworth. Everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasurable stay and that we did. We cannot thank you enough for turning our weekend into a relaxing worry free weekend and we look forward to visiting you again in the near future.

Mr & Mrs Chalmers

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank victoriachalmers27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the courtyard room. It was clean and had everything you needed ( a hair dryer/ hygiene bags would have been useful). The best thing about this hotel is the food and attentive staff. Only stayed 1 night but would have liked to have stayed longer. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denzy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I wanted to try this place for years after seeing the menu when passing through a about 15 years ago.... For my 50th I booked it as a special get away. I found one of the receptionists to be a bit over superior but most of the staff very pleasnt and down to earth. The hotel is a big place with many lounges and a nice conservatory and grounds. It is very much a traditional style where I generally prefer boutique style hotels. All fine though with a good size room with nice bathrooom apart from a loose floppy tap and the shower screen having no seal to the bath and thus the carpet had suffered water damage. My main reason to go was fo for the food. We went to the conservatory before dinner and were given canapes, these were far from inpressive and quite tired as though they had been made that morning and left all day. We went to dinner and it was nice quality food, My starter was mackerel with squid and mussels. The mackerel was really nice but the rest was cold and pickled which was unexpected and not my personal taste. The mains; the venison was nicely cooked but not as tasty as I would have expected. The braised lamb was wery tender and very fatty but quite nice. We left the restaurant feeling OK but not amazed with the experience. Staff were attentive but not polished. The bed was very comfortable. We had a good sleep after a few drinks. We went for breakfast on the morning and were not at all impressed with the experienced. Service was by the some of the same staff as the evening, service was quite slow and the food took ages to come, then the cooked breakfasts arrived late and were very dry having obviously been left under some heat for a long time resulting in bacon like leather and a dry egg. also was not hot for a long time.. Also we asked for extra toast (because the initial toast was stone cold by then,.. and that took ages. we ordered extra tea and it never came. A very disappointing end to our stay. We mentioned the problems when checking out, the receptionist was apologetic and said it was the second complaint of the morning. she offered no discount on the cost, which at 270 pounds is not a cheap night away!! ww went for awalk in the evening and found the Rothay Garden HOtel which was a lot nicer decor and seemed very good, they also only askked 188 pounds for DBB. I wished I had booked there instead of the Wordsworth! lovely rooms overlookig the river and nice staff. If I go to Grasmere again I will not consider the Wordsworth due to the value for money and breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richy_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed for a weekend to use vouchers for a birthday gift but had admired the hotel on previous day visits to Grasmere. There is an immediate sense of traditional comfort and warm welcome from reception staff and indeed other guests. The service throughout our stay was wonderful and turned out to be one of the hotels outstanding qualities. Our room was 'designer' style which had a fabulous view and beautifully appointed bathroom but not altogether practical with a lack of storage and very creaky floors! We were really looking forward to dinner but was slightly disappointed however breakfast was good both mornings. We used the pool but noted work needed to upgrade the areas as in other public areas too. All in all a lovely country house hotel doing what it says but perhaps needs to sharpen up it's faded edges and not place a gratuity tin on reception!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

I love this place! This is my second visit and it hasn't disappointed! We got a very good deal for dinner bed and breakfast! A four course meal that was brilliant, an exciting menu that offered so much choice and good that was all locally sourced! Breakfast was again brilliant and I couldn't of asked for better service! Grasmere is a beautiful location, and an excellent base for walking from! I will be back!
B

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Japers201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, we are very pleased you loved your return visit and enjoyed all that the Signature Restaurant has to offer, we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
9.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £78 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing