We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oak Bank Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grasmere Hotel(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Side(Grasmere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,306)
Filter reviews
1,306 results
Traveller rating
698
352
171
56
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
698
352
171
56
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature restaurantdove bistrovillage view roomcream teajacuzzi and saunachanging roomson arrivalafternoon teaclassic roomlake districtlovely hotelcourse mealmain restaurantan upgradesconeslog firehigh standard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
849 - 854 of 1,306 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We took advantage of an offer on Amazon for our visit yesterday and from the moment we walked in we could not find fault (apart from one small issue - later)

It is a long time since I have visited an hotel where the receptionist shows you to your room rather than "up the stairs, turn left, turn right etc.". We had a Grasmere Village View room which was extremely spacious with a large bathroom. Everything that you would expect was there - just took a degree in plumbing to work out how the shower worked.

Part of out deal was an inclusive cream tea an I must say that the scones we had were to die for (pity there was only one each!)

We had both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant which were both wonderful meals. Now the one minor issue - when we had our dinner the main courses when they arrived were cold (I suspect that they had been sitting around for a while) - these were instantly replaced with hot versions. I always say that the problem is not with things going wrong (because they always will) but how the problem is dealt with that is important and in this case it was dealt with correctly and in a professional manner.

Could not fault the service anywhere in the hotel and it makes a refreshing change to find staff that know their job and enjoy doing it.

Would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireDavid63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this great review. We appreciate the kind comments about our staff and are happy to hear they managed to resolve the little issue with your main courses very efficiently .
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I just wanted to say what a fabulous meal we had today. The staff were so helpful and went out of their way to make sure my husband's gluten free requirements were catered for. They even made him a special desert. We will be back - well done

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Singinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear you had fabulous meal in our Signature Restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed at another hotel in Grasmere for my partners 60th birthday but I booked an afternoon tea in the conservatory at The Wordsworth. The tea was superb with sandwiches, scones & cakes which were all delicious. However what made the occasion special was the waiter who brought two glasses of champagne for us to celebrate with. Also on the black slate which had the cakes etc " happy birthday " was written in icing. As we were not staying at this hotel I thought this was exceptional service. All the staff were very pleasant and asked if everything was ok. The hotel had a very good feel about it & my partner said it turned out to be the highlight of her birthday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thank you for your great review.
We look forward to you returning at The Wordsworth , maybe as a hotel guest in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We enjoyed a two night midweek stay early in March 2014 as part of a promotional deal. We paid for an upgrade to a village facing room which had a stylish fully refurbished bathroom with shower over the bath. The room was very comfortable with a super king size bed and was nicely furnished with good views across the main road through the village to the hillside beyond. As a winter venue it was very warm throughout with a welcoming wood burning fire in the main Reception area. The staff were all very helpful, kind and attentive. The hotel has a great location in the centre of Grasmere village and good onsite car parking facilities for which there is no additional charge for residents. We ate in the Signature restaurant each evening where the food served was indeed of a high standard and presentation although many couples might consider it expensive at £38 per person for a 4 course meal including canapés unless you have a half board promotional deal. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good menu and buffet selection. Were we impressed? Yes indeed. Would we return? Yes but only on a promotional deal and in no way would we consider paying the advertised rate or peak season prices.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra if you want to guarantee a room with a view.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunsearcher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth in the near future, so you can experience again our great food and customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is a first class hotel located in a beautiful Lakeland village. On checking in we were escorted to our room by the receptionist (how many hotels go to this personal level, not many!) We had a cream tea sitting in a lovely glass conservatory. Smokers are catered for here too, an area outside under cover with a infrared heater on the wall. We then went to have a swim, jacuzzi and sauna in a wonderful large indoor pool area. Everything here was very relaxing and not noisy. We had an exceptional dinner in the dining room. The food was outstanding, all the courses were very prettily presented on the plate but also enough to satisfy the appetite. The waiter service was very professional. The room we were in was very nicely decorated and had a good view of the distant mountains, the bed was really comfortable too. Breakfast was good, but not at the high standard as last night's dinner. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, we were really impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of ALL the staff and would certainly return. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your fantastic review.
It is great to hear that you had suck a wonderful time, and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews