We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Hotel location is perfect in the center of Grasmere village and the room I was upgraded to was terrific with comfy king sized bed and 2 massive windows with beautiful views over the mountains and gardens. My room deal included afternoon tea and scones, delicious! Pre-dinner bubbly and canapes and a wonderful 4 course dinner. The only slight disappointment was breakfast, my full english was lacking with overcooked dry bacon, no sausage and tinned mushrooms. From a value for money experience it was still very very good and all the staff were cheery and helpful

Room Tip: The standard room I saw was quite small, well worth spending the extra on a room upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    311
    150
    51
    25
See reviews for
183
784
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We visited over New Year and stayed on a 3 night break (sorry I'm late with the review). This was our third visit to the Wordsworth and it exceded everything that had gone before (if that was possible!) We enjoyed the hospitality of the owner, who made a point of greeting and mingling with guests throughout the whole stay, dining with his own family and was even up dancing at the NY Eve gala dinner! This was a lovely touch and I'm sure appreciated by other guests, not just us. The food throughout the stay was excellent, and it was nice that everyone was seated at their table each evening before food was brought out. It gave a feeling of everyone being together. We met some lovely people and thoroughly enjoyed their company. We stayed in a classic room on the second floor which had side views of the mountains. It was a nice room, clean and everything working as it should. Slight disappointment was that the wall paper (which was lovely and looked fairly new) had been marked each side of the bed where the side cabinets sat, so just needed a little repair work on them. Other than that everything was perfect. Thanks for a lovely New Year celebration.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbc_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bramhall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

From start to finish, this was a perfect stay. The hotel, staff, and facilities could not be faulted. The service was of the highest standard, and everyone made us feel so welcome. The restaurant and food were perfect. Albert and Domenico made the evening fantastic. We cannot fault any aspect of our trip, and we shall be returning. The standard of the room and the quality of the food cannot be praised enough. Every detail of your trip is looked after by all the staff. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights and had a brilliant time. We ate in restaurant both nights and the food was excellent and can definitely recommend the Vapollicella Amarone wine. Everywhere is clean ,room was large and comfortable, nice new bathroom en suite. We used the Spa, including pool, jacuzzi and sauna as well as having various massages, facials etc all were totally relaxing! Service second to none and more than helpful, we will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pstates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A return visit to the Wordsworth and equally pleased again with all aspects of our stay. Every member of staff we met was friendly, pleasant, knowledgeable and the level of service we received was excellent. Food, as always, was lovely - breakfast buffet choice is wide ranging as are the cooked choices, which arrived promptly and tasted lovely. We chose a different room (21) this time - it was nicely decorated, had everything we needed, everything worked and was a good size for us; there's a bit of a view of the side street and a distant view of the hills. The room was a little warm for us even without the heating on but nothing that couldn't be solved by opening the window which was no problem given the lack of noise from outside. Dinner in the Dove Bistro was lovely - again, friendly and knowledgeable staff more than happy to check ingredients with the chef. Great service, large portions! The spa facility has been extended since we were last here - it looks great, is extremely relaxing to unwind in, and the treatments were lovely. Knowledgeable and skilled therapist, and I understand they are looking to increase the scope and staffing of the spa - this is a good idea as the spa treatments were a lovely part of a great stay in an excellent hotel. Will be back.

Room Tip: Room 21 - up three short steps and a very short walk from the lift. View is of a small side street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeesonsTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Recently spent two nights at the Wordsworth and have to say we had a fabulous time. The hotel is situated in the centre of the very pretty Grasmere with lovely views over the nearby fells.
The food was excellent and the staff were fantastic and very welcoming.
We choose to stay in an upgraded room which overlooked the village and the room was beyond our expectations.
Well done to all the staff we look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshireteaforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel having purchased a deal on Amazon local. The room was a good size, spotless, great facilities and lovely bath and power shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff were very attentive and professional. Food was excellent. There is a pool and spa which looked great, though we didn't use it. The bar and the lounge are very comfortable.The situation of the hotel is very good, right in the town with plenty of parking. All in all a lovely experience. I hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,449 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,167 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing