We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed for a weekend on the 16th may and we timed it quite well considering either weekend had awful weather but this weekend was very hot. Its in a little village which definitely made this hotel better. We got a deal from amazon local which was discounted spa treatments, 5 course dinner on the first night, afternoon tea for two and a breakfast on both mornings. The spa was really nice; a swimming pool, jacuzzi and a sauna which was nice for us on our long journey getting there. The 5 course dinner i must say was actually exquisite, i loved every course and wished i wasn't so full that i couldn't enjoy my dessert at the end! Afternoon tea, best scones i've ever had!
Although the hotel was beautiful, i did have a couple of bad points. Breakfast didn't have much choice, it would have been nice to feel you could choose what exactly you wanted for breakfast instead of full english or veg full breakfast and more choice on the buffet table.The rooms were small... we actually had an upgrade to a village view as the courtyard room were fully booked (and these were smaller!) There was no safety deposit box which sucked for us as we didn't come by car as most people do and had to take our valuables everywhere. And also although i'm not sure if it was because unfortunately i was sick (no fault of the hotel i must say) but it was very hot in the room but i've seen from past reviews that i wasn't the only one.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgette_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in a 'village view' room. Good size. Comfortable. Good value. Pleasant friendly staff but not overbearing. The only disappointment was the absence of a decent English cider at the bar - say Weston's Old Rosie or similar.... but that's a very minor quibble... and one I'd have with the majority of hotels & pubs outside Herefordshire!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phlize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth ( we will do our best to get a better choice of ciders)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night only however we were upgraded to the Teninson Suite which was beautiful and spacious. The hotel surroundings were very idyllic!
We invited our friends to have dinner with us in our suite and the service was impeccable!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princesa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for your great review. The Tennyson is a fantastic room and we are happy to hear you had a memorable room service dinner.
We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have not long returned from the Wordsworth Hotel, we were given a Voucher for DB&B, right from the start we were made very welcome, served afternoon tea in front of a roaring fire, then shown to a beautiful 4 Poster Bedroom, the Hotel is ideally located for a romantic break, or to add a little luxury to the end of a days walking. All the staff were very pleasant and both our evening meal and breakfast were first class. We will be re booking again.

Room Tip: Try and swing a upgrade, if things are quite, this is often given without charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking you time to write this great review. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have enjoyed a stay at the Wordsworth previously and experienced excellent food, friendly helpful staff willing to go the extra mile. We were not disappointed when we returned in May as everything was totally to our satisfaction. On this occasion we occupied the Tennyson Suite which whilst the decor is a little OTT for our taste, every single comfort was catered for in this large airy space with excellent bathroom facilities. The staff are delightful, the food excellent, there is a well stocked bar and the public rooms are very comfortable. The Spa an added bonus. The Wordsworth is the best hotel in Grasmere and perfect for a relaxing stay. We are serious fell walkers and it is a joy to return to this level of comfort at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 12 both beautiful - but as I said the Tennyson Suite - room 42 is very comfortable and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. We will pass you comments to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth for another great stay .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have stayed numerous times in Grasmere at different hotels and love the village. We have on many occasions walked passed the Wordsworth Hotel and always felt it portrayed itself as a little bit better than other hotels in the village!
"We must try it, sometime we have always thought".

Well we did! My wife and I stayed there overnight on Monday 19th May, on an Amazon deal.

The deal stipulated a "Courtyard" room and on arrival we were shown to room 2 on the ground floor. It consisted of a double bed, small en suite, a single wardrobe, two tiny tables and what passed for a dressing table at the foot of the bed.
A fixed mirror was placed on top of this, which rendered itself almost useless, unless you happen to be a contortionist.
In order to see yourself you had to lie down on the bed!!

The room was amazingly small and we were constantly tripping over the bed and it's sheets as we tried to move around. No chairs to sit on - so the bed was the only source of rest............unless you prefer the floor!

The only source of light in the room was a door leading to the public patio, outside. The top half of the door was glazed but had a blind to hide our modesty. Interestingly, on one occasion when we left the door ajar (to let a little air in), a lady opened the door from the outside surprised to find my wife, fresh from the shower, wrapped in a towel.

Yes, the room was disappointing but since we were only staying the one night, we put up with it.

The food at dinner was reasonable but nothing out of the ordinary. My lamb shank, with parisienne potatoes for mains was fairly dry having been served without some form of jus. Not sure if this was a mistake or not. I meant to check with the menu but forgot, having started a conversation with some very pleasant people sitting in our vicinity.
For the record my wife, wasn't over impressed with her steak either.

Breakfast next morning was again, reasonable but nothing to write home about. I've had better.

We did make use of the swimming pool, which is ok but needs a good clean round the edges where it was displaying a green build up of something unsavoury.

The general decor in the hotel is in need of some refurbishment apart from the dining room, which is quite modern, unlike the rest of the hotel.

Even though there were things to fault with our visit, the saving grace were the staff. We spoke to several and on all occasions they were friendly, polite and professional, so thank you for that.

We did mention the size of our room when checking out and were told that we could have upgraded for various amounts of money. However, I would still expect a minimum standard, even in the cheapest room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Otleymaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joenichols, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

We were so sorry to read your review, the courtyard rooms are the smallest rooms in the house and as the hotel was full we were unable to give you a complimentary upgrade. We are also sorry your meal wasn't to your satisfaction, we would of course have tried to rectify this had you let us know at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Hotel as part of a family weekend, which we do annually. When we arrived we were shown into an upgraded room which only had room for a bed and nothing else. The room was damp and the ceiling and walls were discoloured. Eventually we were moved - without to much fuss to a much larger and nicer room. The staff were excellent and very friendly and efficient. We were booked for dinner and on the first night (Friday), we felt that the food was somewhat tasteless and lacking in imagination, so on the second night we dined at a local excellent restaurant. The hotel was a bit of a rabbit warren, but overall the lounges were plentiful and welcoming, and overall our stay was pretty good. Would we return - only if they give us a decent room first time!

Room Tip: Look for a room with a village view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,516 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,211 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £87 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing