We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely mid week break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our 2 night break was booked by our family as an anniversary gift. The reception staff were very welcoming and we found a complimentary bottle of wine in our room. All the staff were friendly but not intrusive and nothing was too much trouble. Food in the main restaurant was excellent. Our room was comfortable with a huge bed. We were at the back so no view, but we were out all day so the lack of view didn't matter. The only fly in the ointment was the error on the bill at checkout. We were charged again for our accommodation even though the break was paid in advance. We were refunded once they had found their error, but it did take the gloss off our anniversary celebration. Would I recommend/ go back? Yes, but make sure you have receipts for any advance payments you make.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade, you might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Hpoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

750 - 756 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited just one night to this hotel on a amazon local deal. The reception were very friendly the room was lovely. We had cream tea & they even had gluten free scones which were delicious. Dinner was ok the starters & desserts were fantastic but the main course let it down the staff are all great and really looked after us. The breakfast was great with so much choice. We had a great time the location is fantastic for getting around the lakes. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank martiniwarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed mid week and had a great time. All the staff are very friendly, the hotel and grounds are beautiful and the food is good but a little expensive in the main restaurant yet still good value. The wine list is comprehensive and good prices. We enjoyed afternoon tea on arrival and it was very good and wad displayed wonderfully on Lakeland Slate. The local buses are very good we purchased a day rider (£8 each) and visited Ambleside and Dungeon Ghyll - we would have loved to get off in some of the pretty villages for a look around but the weather was not good. The Hotel is tucked away in the centre of Grasmere which has lots of lovely shops and Cafe's. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malindaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a lovely stay. Our room was fine although we were at the back. No prob. Could have done with a full length mirror, food, staff etc. great. However we did had problems with our bill! Items booked to our room which we had not ordered! Careless or inefficient! Check your bill!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GERRY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a long weekend staying at this hotel. One of the nicest hotels we have had the pleasure of staying in. Excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Staff very friendly and professional. Very good pool and spa. Our room was spacious, spotless and exceedingly comfortable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Visited last night. Paid £139 for very small twin. Room was dated and very warm. Breakfast was ok but had better at B & Bs. Reception staff were friendly; restaurant staff not great. The spa facilities were pleasant. Overall this was ok but wouldn't return. Visit Green's restaurant in Grasmere which was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oakfield_Mummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Dined there a few days back quite simply

Woeful
the monkfish was so badly prepared it could only be sawn with the knife, the texture resembled a haribo jelly chew without the accompanying delight.
The braised beef was 2 to 3 hours short of being edible with the large amount of fat and grissle unrendered and absolutely truly revolting.

Shameful
Why were these catastrophes allowed to leave the kitchen. We were not the only non foodies to be taken aback by the same dishes.

The desserts were not as suggested on the menu, that is, the rice pudding and cheesecake were not so much "deconstructed" as demolished or annihilated,but were pretty.

This is the first time l have ever complained on here or anywhere else but it spoiled the whole lake district experience.

The staff extreme!y helpful courteous, and alas embarrassed. Really disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Poppy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WordsworthManagemenT, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Poppy,

We were very sorry to see your review.
From the 100 people dinning that evening, we did have other complaints about the beef dish , for which I apologize. It was one of our daily specials, and it did not work .
I am surprised you did not enjoy the deserts. The compliments we receive for our deserts, especially The Wordsworth Collection of Mini Deserts is a highlight.
We did offer to replace your meal which you declined.
I am sorry you did not ask to see management before departing. Please contact us to discuss what the best way would be for us to make up for the disappointment.
I look forward to hearing from you and to welcoming you back at The Wordsworth.
Iain Garside

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#6 of 14 in Grasmere
1,627 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
872 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £74 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel And Spa Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing