We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A superb experience.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had our wedding at the Wordsworth last month and had a day to remember.
Laura and the rest of the staff did us proud and the wedding breakfast food was excellent
We had the added bonus of being able to have the wedding service on the lawn which added to the occasion.
My only gripe was that there was some unnecessary confusion upon checking out over the cost of the event. The previous wedding planner had left the hotel some weeks ago and there appeared to be a break down in communication which should have been avoided.

All in all it was a lovely day and wish to say a big thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    311
    150
    51
    25
See reviews for
183
784
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sheffield UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

One of the better hotels in Grasmere, without a doubt. The room was small but quite comfortable, beds were clean and soft, though the view from the window was disappointing. The front of the hotel works hard with lovely flowers outside the windows, but sadly ours was not one of those, and had a view of someone's garden shed roof and the hotel gutters... We didn't pay an especially cheap rate for our room, so I am a bit disappointed that we seemed to have got one of the less modern rooms with no view at all. We had asked for a quiet room which may explain the location, but the door-banger guests of the hotel seemed to make it their mission to wake everyone else up. Not the hotel's fault but worth noting if you are travelling with children. Lovely staff, couldn't fault them, and for us that's the most important thing of all. Breakfast was superb, location excellent, beds clean and comfy ... would mark even higher if we didn't have door bangers and kitchen aromas with a slightly stuffy room!

Room Tip: Worth asking about difference in costs to upgrade room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We held our wedding at the Wordsworth Hotel in July 2014 and couldn't have made a better choice. Laura and her team did everything they could to make the day (and the months of preparation!) go smoothly and every member of staff there was very friendly and helpful to everyone at the wedding.

The location of the hotel is beautiful, in the heart of Grasmere with a lovely garden at the back surrounded by the hills. Luckily the sun came out and we were able to have the ceremony outside. The reception was held in the Coleridge suite which the team had transformed from a plain white room to a beautiful, elegant setting overnight. Laura worked extremely well with all of our vendors (florist, singer, baker etc) so everything was taken care of for us... all we had to worry about was getting dressed and being in the right place at the right time!

The food during the wedding breakfast was fantastic, as it had been at every other meal we have had at the Wordsworth previously. All of our guests were very impressed, full of praise... and full of food! The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and many of them have fantastic views of either the hills around Grasmere or of the village itself.

Overall, the Wordsworth gave us the feeling that they would take care of everything... and they did which made the whole event so much easier and meant we could relax and enjoy our special. We cannot give them enough thanks or enough praise.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of July / beginning of August in two classic rooms. The main highlight, other than the obviously excellent central location in Grasmere, was the food. Breakfast is very good with a wide range of options but the dinner in the hotel is amazing. The food is fine dining but at a very reasonable price, especially if you book on a dinner / bed and breakfast basis. The staff in the restaurant are all very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is very good but it is disappointing that the gym has been closed to make way for a facility for, I think, manicures. Our only real issue was the fact that the rooms were very hot. The weather was hot and humid but only one of the rooms had air conditioning. Also, one of the rooms was above the kitchen and you were aware of the smell of cooking at times.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room and one which is not above the kitchen. Book on an evening meal basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swalsh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 28 7 14 to 31 7 14. This is an excellent hotel and the staff are courteous, conscientious and extremely hard working. The food is of a very high standard with a good choice. The room we stayed in (room 30) was very clean and had an extremely comfortable bed with a lovely view over Grasmere village albeit it was very hot and some areas of wallpaper were coming off the wall.

What totally spoiled the holiday for us was that at 10:30 on our last evening, while watching the national news, we received a telephone call from reception to advise that guests in the adjoining room had complained that the TV was loud. Although I do have a hearing problem my wife does tell me if the TV is too loud and she advised that the volume on the TV had been at a tolerant level.

I fully appreciate that the hotel has to investigate complaints like this vexatious or otherwise. I also appreciate that whether or not a TV set is too loud or not is subjective. However, it might have been helpful if a member of staff had gone to the landing and assessed for themselves if the TV was too loud in the first instance before contacting us. When I went down shortly afterwards to discuss my concerns with reception staff and they had indicated that they had not done this.

I do not expect at 10:30 to have to turn my TV off to accommodate the intolerances and petty mindedness of others. I am 59 and my wife is 62 and we are certainly not in the habit of having noisy parties etc.

If having the TV on at 10:30 is unacceptable, then perhaps the hotel needs to indicate this or invest in some better sound proofing for their rooms. Some hotels have polite signs requesting that guests consider others when moving about the hotel etc. which is usually after midnight. Indeed, the hotel caters for weddings so I wonder how staff would have dealt with a complaint about guest’s etc. making a noise and slamming doors etc.

We both felt like Pariahs after this incident and did think about leaving the hotel that evening. It seems that the staff were just taking the word of another person without making further investigations. Furthermore, there do not appear to be hearing loops for those who require hearing aids within the reception area?

Again to reiterate, I fully accept the fact the hotel has to investigate instances such as this to ensure that guests have a pleasant stay etc. but I do feel that they have been one sided in this and could have dealt with the situation better and more tactfully. It is a shame that an otherwise excellent stay has been marred by this and we would be reluctant because of this to return to the hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErnieH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here after booking a special offer on Amazon Local. We decided to pay for an upgrade and took a classic room instead of a courtyard room. The room was good, but very warm and when we opened the window we were directly over the generators for the kitchen. We asked if we could move and after 15 minutes we were offered a much quieter and larger room downstairs. The staff throughout our stay were friendly, helpful and courteous. Food in the restaurant was excellent and the hotel had a warm, laid-back and comfortable feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

And we're we shocked all I can say is fantastic could not fault from staff to eating breakfast the choice was outstanding and the evening meal matched any top restaurant in London can't wait for the next Amazon deal

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
836 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
714 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing