We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful home from home experience if you live like gentry.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is so comfortable and relaxing, the staff are friendly but not familiar, the rooms well equipped and I would like to stay again and again. It is perfect to escape from the rat race and take in some walking if that's your thing. I didn't use the spa this time but would certainly do so another time.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiSKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed only one night but made use of all facilities, the spa was clean, the room was beautiful the bed was very comfortable. We upgraded from the courtyard room to the next one up and where very pleased we did. Our meal in the restaurant was delicious and the whole staff were friendly and helpful. The view from our front room was delightful.

Room Tip: We stayed in one that was over the main entrance, and the view was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brenda55277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I stayed on 7th August 2014, a birthday present from our children, beautiful Hotel, staff and service excellent, the grounds were gorgeous, lucky we had good weather to sit out and enjoy them, our dining experience in restaurant was more than 1st class, compliments to the chef, also to the staff in there, polite and speedy service, meal delicious, our first visit to The Wordsworth but definitely not the Last. Ellen Cutclffe

Room Tip: the room overlooking the village num 29 was comfortable and pleasant to see the hustle and bustle in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had our wedding at the Wordsworth last month and had a day to remember.
Laura and the rest of the staff did us proud and the wedding breakfast food was excellent
We had the added bonus of being able to have the wedding service on the lawn which added to the occasion.
My only gripe was that there was some unnecessary confusion upon checking out over the cost of the event. The previous wedding planner had left the hotel some weeks ago and there appeared to be a break down in communication which should have been avoided.

All in all it was a lovely day and wish to say a big thank you to all the staff involved.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

One of the better hotels in Grasmere, without a doubt. The room was small but quite comfortable, beds were clean and soft, though the view from the window was disappointing. The front of the hotel works hard with lovely flowers outside the windows, but sadly ours was not one of those, and had a view of someone's garden shed roof and the hotel gutters... We didn't pay an especially cheap rate for our room, so I am a bit disappointed that we seemed to have got one of the less modern rooms with no view at all. We had asked for a quiet room which may explain the location, but the door-banger guests of the hotel seemed to make it their mission to wake everyone else up. Not the hotel's fault but worth noting if you are travelling with children. Lovely staff, couldn't fault them, and for us that's the most important thing of all. Breakfast was superb, location excellent, beds clean and comfy ... would mark even higher if we didn't have door bangers and kitchen aromas with a slightly stuffy room!

Room Tip: Worth asking about difference in costs to upgrade room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chinasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We held our wedding at the Wordsworth Hotel in July 2014 and couldn't have made a better choice. Laura and her team did everything they could to make the day (and the months of preparation!) go smoothly and every member of staff there was very friendly and helpful to everyone at the wedding.

The location of the hotel is beautiful, in the heart of Grasmere with a lovely garden at the back surrounded by the hills. Luckily the sun came out and we were able to have the ceremony outside. The reception was held in the Coleridge suite which the team had transformed from a plain white room to a beautiful, elegant setting overnight. Laura worked extremely well with all of our vendors (florist, singer, baker etc) so everything was taken care of for us... all we had to worry about was getting dressed and being in the right place at the right time!

The food during the wedding breakfast was fantastic, as it had been at every other meal we have had at the Wordsworth previously. All of our guests were very impressed, full of praise... and full of food! The rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and many of them have fantastic views of either the hills around Grasmere or of the village itself.

Overall, the Wordsworth gave us the feeling that they would take care of everything... and they did which made the whole event so much easier and meant we could relax and enjoy our special. We cannot give them enough thanks or enough praise.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My family and I stayed for 3 nights at the end of July / beginning of August in two classic rooms. The main highlight, other than the obviously excellent central location in Grasmere, was the food. Breakfast is very good with a wide range of options but the dinner in the hotel is amazing. The food is fine dining but at a very reasonable price, especially if you book on a dinner / bed and breakfast basis. The staff in the restaurant are all very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool is very good but it is disappointing that the gym has been closed to make way for a facility for, I think, manicures. Our only real issue was the fact that the rooms were very hot. The weather was hot and humid but only one of the rooms had air conditioning. Also, one of the rooms was above the kitchen and you were aware of the smell of cooking at times.

Room Tip: Ask for an air conditioned room and one which is not above the kitchen. Book on an evening meal basi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swalsh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,550 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
9.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £78 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing