We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in June for 4 days. Right from our arrival the staff were attentive and helpful. The room was well pointed and overlooked the garden, it was large and the bed extremely comfortable. But, the main outstanding feature of this hotel is the food. From Breakfast through to Dinner it was sheer quality. The restraunt staff
are helpful, polite and extremely competent. We were both sorry to end our short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DurhamAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,207 - 1,213 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2010

Absolutely beautiful hotel, stunning views, fantastic location, brilliant staff, great finishing touches to the bedrooms! Cant wait to stay again next month! Loved it!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

A very relaxing stay in a beautiful area. You can see why Wordsworth wrote poetry here and the characters of Beatrix Potter came alive.

The hotel has an excellent location, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms generally are a little on the small side; very clean and all essentials available.

This hotel is undergoing an upgrade so a few hiccups - broken glass on the patio still there after a day; coffee needs to improve. We needed to change rooms as ours was unbearably hot ( near the back of the hotel - booked as a superior room). We were moved to a wonderul room in the front called a suite ( for a slight additional charge). It was not the standard of room though where an ironing board was postioned beside a wardrobe!

The hotel has excellent potential although some details need to be attended to if this is to be realised. Most visitors were in an older range. If the hotel would like to attract a wider age range of visitors we feel that a few changes will need to happen.

A hint for dinner is to reserve a table by the window; some people even did this for breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2010

After having given up hope of finding the right venue for our small wedding, we eventually found the Wordsworth which was perfect. It is a traditional lakeland hotel set in beautiful grounds, ideal for wedding photography. All the rooms we took were clean, spacious and comfortable. The level of service offered was exceptional, we were made to feel special from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for the lovely people who own the hotel. The food was absolutely first class too. We will definitely be going back on our anniversary !

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPARKY075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Myself, partner (now husband) and my two young children had the most fantastic time at the Wordsworth Hotel. We were married at Our lady of wayside church and had our wedding reception, evening celebration and three nights with all our family. The food and drink is of an exceptional standard, between courses they would bring appetizers that were not on the menu. The drinks were served cold and fruity...just how you wish! We had a family room with access to garden for the children, although not refurbished it was comfortable. The pool and surroundings are very clean, the garden and views are simply stunning. Last but not least, the staff, outstanding, professional and attentive. All the staff could not do enough for you, friendly smile, help with wedding arrangements, setting everything up for our wedding, they are superb! Many many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovethelakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your day and wish you all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Wordsworth Hotel, We went for a family occasion and had a great time The position was good the accomodation was fine and the food was excellent. However most importantly the Staff from the moment we arrived couldn't do enough for us.nothing was to much trouble and really made a difference too our stay.Iwould thoroughly recommend the Wordsworth and look forward to going back there.Thanks a lot for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAMILYTRAVELLERS06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2010

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Just back from a lovely long weekend staying at The Wordsworth. Know Grasmere well, and our stay at this hotel was a bit of a treat. Lovely room at the front of the hotel (we paid a bit extra for this). Breakfast was great, served promptly and freshly cooked. Did not eat in the hotel in the evening - bit pricey, and we wanted something less "formal" but enjoyed the Jumble Room (twice) in the village.
Pool ok, but changing rooms tiny and in need of updating. £5 for a sauna a bit cheeky we thought.! Jacuzzi also needs replacing. Bit disappointed as well that gym completely out of action - being refurbished I think.
Staff friendly and helpful.
All in all, lovely stay and with one or two tweaks the hotel will be even better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparky0191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,544 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,220 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
866 reviews
9.0 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £79 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing