We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality stay in classic Lakeland location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Quality stay in classic Lakeland location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2010

This is a well-renowned hotel, which lived up to its reputation. The outstanding characteristic was the quality of the food at dinner. A new chef joined from another local hotel recently, and he and his team stun with their food. The hotel changed hands recently and some refurbishment is underway. Our executive room was well-furnished with as comfortable a bed as one might find anywhere. A couple of small points - the tv was fastened to the wall to the side of the bed resulting in strained necks after watching it for a while. Also, there was no extractor fan in the bathroom so a shower steamed everywhere very quickly even with the window open as far as it would go (not very far). A serious issue was that we returned to the room one day to find the cleaner had left a key in our door on the outside - anyone could have entered and helped themselves. Also, the next day, the cleaner emptied the waste bin and left the plastic bag of rubbish on the dressing table; not clever. The gym is small and very tired, the changing rooms for the leisure centre were old and tatty, but a notice indicated they were to be attended to. The jacuzzi was on its last legs. Some of the carpeting in the hotel needs to be replaced. However, I guess the refurbishment programme will address these.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
I'm sorry the TV was in an awkward position, they are on brackets which should pull out to make viewing a little more comfortable. As for the gym well, we have just installed a brand new one, which has been extended and fitted with new equipment, air-conditioning and a plasma TV. The changing rooms are about to be refitted as I agree they are tired. As for the housekeeping staff, I am so sorry and they have been shown your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    301
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
755
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

Stayed here for a weekend with the extended family (12 of us in total).

The staff were friendly and welcoming throughout the stay. Check-in was completed rapidly and we were personally shown up to our rooms, which was a nice touch.

The public areas of the hotel are very pleasant. There are a number of small lounges which are very comfortable places to sit and linger. The swimming pool was excellent. There was also a fitness room with a fair range of equipment.

Our room was very comfortableoverall although the matress was very soft and probably needed to be replaced. The bathroom was small and needed some modernisation. However, everything worked and there were toileteries provided and renewed each day. Some of the decor in the rooms may not be to all tastes and as noted, some modernisation is probably needed, but all the rooms were spotless and were thoroughly cleaned each day.

The hotel is in the middle of the village but we certainly had no problems with noise. The walking in the area is wonderful and the hotel seemed to have no problem with people coming and going in walking gear.

The breakfasts were very good. We were a little less impressed with the dinners that were included in our package. The restaurant is not at all cheap. The quality of the food is good but not exceptional and the portion sizes were not generous. When an 11 year old finishes his main course and wants another because he is still hungry, there may be a problem. We had one lunch in the bar/bistro of the hotel. The children had fish and chips. The fish was huge. They each got 8 chips. Chunky or not, the price of the dish and expectations of the customers both made this disappointing. The other issue with the restaurant was with regard to the menus. There were a dozen of us. We had given the hotel a lot of advance warning that one member of our party has significant dietary problems and others had some restrictions on what they could eat. No effort at all had be made to ensure that the menu would contain a range (or any) suitable items. They were willing make adjustments to dishes where that was possible on the night but that is no more than you would expect in any restaurant. It is of course the kitchen's right to ignore special requests, even those made well in advance, but we expected more for the very significant cost.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAM020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in June for 4 days. Right from our arrival the staff were attentive and helpful. The room was well pointed and overlooked the garden, it was large and the bed extremely comfortable. But, the main outstanding feature of this hotel is the food. From Breakfast through to Dinner it was sheer quality. The restraunt staff
are helpful, polite and extremely competent. We were both sorry to end our short stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurhamAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2010

Absolutely beautiful hotel, stunning views, fantastic location, brilliant staff, great finishing touches to the bedrooms! Cant wait to stay again next month! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

A very relaxing stay in a beautiful area. You can see why Wordsworth wrote poetry here and the characters of Beatrix Potter came alive.

The hotel has an excellent location, staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms generally are a little on the small side; very clean and all essentials available.

This hotel is undergoing an upgrade so a few hiccups - broken glass on the patio still there after a day; coffee needs to improve. We needed to change rooms as ours was unbearably hot ( near the back of the hotel - booked as a superior room). We were moved to a wonderul room in the front called a suite ( for a slight additional charge). It was not the standard of room though where an ironing board was postioned beside a wardrobe!

The hotel has excellent potential although some details need to be attended to if this is to be realised. Most visitors were in an older range. If the hotel would like to attract a wider age range of visitors we feel that a few changes will need to happen.

A hint for dinner is to reserve a table by the window; some people even did this for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

After having given up hope of finding the right venue for our small wedding, we eventually found the Wordsworth which was perfect. It is a traditional lakeland hotel set in beautiful grounds, ideal for wedding photography. All the rooms we took were clean, spacious and comfortable. The level of service offered was exceptional, we were made to feel special from the moment we arrived, nothing was too much trouble for the lovely people who own the hotel. The food was absolutely first class too. We will definitely be going back on our anniversary !

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPARKY075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

Myself, partner (now husband) and my two young children had the most fantastic time at the Wordsworth Hotel. We were married at Our lady of wayside church and had our wedding reception, evening celebration and three nights with all our family. The food and drink is of an exceptional standard, between courses they would bring appetizers that were not on the menu. The drinks were served cold and fruity...just how you wish! We had a family room with access to garden for the children, although not refurbished it was comfortable. The pool and surroundings are very clean, the garden and views are simply stunning. Last but not least, the staff, outstanding, professional and attentive. All the staff could not do enough for you, friendly smile, help with wedding arrangements, setting everything up for our wedding, they are superb! Many many thanks to you all.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovethelakes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your day and wish you all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing