We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket - downhill?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Upmarket - downhill?”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed here very recently on one of their 'breaks' - three nights, this included breakfast and 'four course evening meal' . The hotel has been refurbished and taken over since we last stayed here. It's in a lovely location and looks very inviting from outside. The bedrooms are nicely decorated and the dining room overlooking the main road is extremely well done, BUT PLEASE BE AWARE IT IS THE STAFF WHO MAKE THIS HOTEL.

We were extremely disappointed in the way this hotel is now run. Despite paying £183 per night for our 'break' (for two) you have to ask for nearly everything - this really starts to grate.

Portions are most definitely nouvelle cuisine and the first night's meal was very poor in both content and preparation. Also the portion of smoked salmon on my husband's starter should have been described as canape not starter as it would have fitted on a dessert spoon. The cheese was stale to the point of crusty- oh there was more!. The Chefs special included in our deal amounted to two choices from each course of a separate menu, although the dining room manager advised us we could choose from the A la Carte when we didn't find either of the chefs special appetising . We were not charged for this so perhaps it would have been easier just to present one menu. On balance we were able to request a lunchtime item for dinner another night and things did gradually improve after our first night - the last night being an enjoyable meal.

Breakfast seems to be individually cooked to order, you will not be offered more of your choice to compensate for any items not ordered. One slice of toast each is supplied, more has to be requested. You are allowed to serve yourself with cereal, ham /cheese (no rolls) and stewed fruits . Croissants and bread rolls are not available for selection - ONE will be offered by a waiter (the rolls are lovely but minute). The breakfast offered by the previous owners remained in my memory for its variety, quality and generosity.

Toiletries were not replaced in our room on any day of our stay - despite being nearly empty. We had to ring down to Reception (no problem with replacements there), on each occasion and wait for these to be delivered to our room - on one occasion more than an hour as the message hadn't been passed on. The toiletries are Gilchrist and Soames, an expensive brand as we are aware - perhaps they should provide a cheaper range more generously? This is the first time we have ever encountered problems of this nature in any hotel we have stayed in.

People are paying through the teeth for what is not good value for money. The Lakes are an expensive area to visit generally and this hotel should fall in the Country House category, but that description conjurs up luxury and pampering. It's falling short on the pampering though I have no doubt all the rooms in time will be refurbished to a tasteful standard.

The rooms - and this is obviously an old building could do with soundproofing. My husband could hear our neighbours turning on their light switch - either side. The doors closing are deafening and the next door shower sounded as though it was in our room.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rumblintum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2010
We were dismayed to read this review and amazed given the detail that she did not make a complaint to us nor fill in one of our comment cards left in all rooms. My daughter is the operations manager and my son in law is one of the front of house staff so take any complaints extremely seriously.

Sorry that you found our portions too small, I have spoken to our head chef about this as the last thing I would want is our guests leaving still hungry. Although most people find that with a four course meal they don't want huge portions.

Breakfast is cooked to order, what ever the guest requests. Toast is replaced fresh as required, croissants, pain au chocolat and rolls are served warm from the oven not left on the buffet table. I am unsure how asking for what you want grates?

We are extremely sorry that toiletries were not replaced during your stay, they are replaced as required. Since your last stay we have refurbished the rooms and put in Egyptian cotton linens and now provide complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

If you had told us at the time about your issues with your room, we would have done whatever we could to deal with it there and then.

We and our staff have worked incredibly hard to refurbish and bring love and pride back to The Wordsworth and I am sorry that you perceive that you were paying through the teeth. Fortunately it is not a view shared by the majority of guests as our referred and repeat business testify.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    317
    152
    53
    26
See reviews for
186
793
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Not sure about hotel, but the food is over rated, too expensive and served in a restaurant devoid of atmosphere, not good much better place try Lucys in Ambleside.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2010
I am extremely sorry that found The Signature Restaurant at The Wordsworth Hotel overrarated, as we are very proud of the two AA Rosette we have been awarded and maintained for the standard of our food. As you will see from other reviews other guests seem to enjoy the restaurant.

As for costs Lucy's who is a friend of ours does not do 4 courses "Chefs Selection" for £29.95 like us which we think is very good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

We had a great family weekend in august, ages 2 to 70 and we were all looked after, rooms are spotless and comfortable, staff were excellent, nothing too much trouble, can’t fault the hotel at all..... Go there!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xpressholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2010
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

We arrived at the Wordsworth by accident having booked at another Grasmere Hotel but on arrival finding the accommodation and website description seriously at odds, we declined to stay. Luckily we got the last available room as the Wordsworth was busy and bustling with a very welcome Buzz. Guests and staff seemed in good spirit. Check in was busy but we were quickly shown to our superb accommodation. Our first contact with the staff was Gabriel who carried our bags and showed us the room. We took to him straight away and it proved to be the same with all the staff. One of the secrets of good hotel staff is to be attentive but not obtrusive and we found that the Wordsworth management had trained all of them well in this art.
The large conservatory overlooking the large manicured gardens was a perfect location for pre-dinner drinks served efficiently. There is in addition to this area two other lounges for those requiring a different aspect. And so to eat. The restaurant is beautifully appointed and decorated and the food did not disappoint. We were served efficiently with excellent dishes and the only complaint was that the A La carte menu could do with being more extensive. Choosing different dishes was a little difficult as we stayed for 3 days. Breakfast was equally good but the buffet table could do with being more extensive. In particular, the fresh fruit ran out quickly and took some time to re-plenish.
Although we had the best intentions, we never used the modern equipped Gym or heated pool, but others seemed to enjoy the facilities.
We learned that the Hotel changed hands last December and has gained a first class reputation with the locals. The new private owners have apparently turned the Hotel around from mediocrety to todays splendour in double quick time so we can't wait to return having been advised that there are more improvements and upgrades to come!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funghie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

After spending two weeks touring northern England and Scotland and staying in several disappointing hotels it was so pleasing to stay at the Wordsworth Hotel in the tranquil Grasmere. From the moment of arrival the staff and management were welcoming, nothing being too much trouble. All aspects of the hotel are excellent with a level of service that always goes the extra mile.
The room was well furnished, clean and crisp. Fresh fluffy towels, no scrappy blankets or hard beds. Full tea tray, all drinks provided and quality biscuits, backed up by a wide room service menu, no request being to much, unlike many of the hotels we stayed in during or earlier holiday.
As we were traveling as a family of 3, with our young son, they recommended we at in the Bistro. The atmosphere was relaxed but the food was 100%. The menu offers British classic fair using local produce, which is just like grandma made. Traditional Cumberland sausage, fish and chips, steak and ale pie, you are spoilt for choice. The hotel also offers a signature restaurant where the breakfast is served.
The facilities the hotel offers include a spa, pool, gym, garden, and many residents’ lounges. Young and old can relax within the hotel, whilst the staff provides a friendly smile as they help make your stay special.
I am pleased to recommend this hotel and its facilities for a relaxing break to all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitchian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Thank you for such a positive review, I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We turned up on the last minute and we were offered a superior double room at a reduced rate. The hotel is beautiful and set in equally beautiful surroundings. We ate in the restaurant which was superb. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Thankyou for making our 5th Wedding Anniversary a special one. Love Mr and Mrs Kayley x

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenningstracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This is a well-renowned hotel, which lived up to its reputation. The outstanding characteristic was the quality of the food at dinner. A new chef joined from another local hotel recently, and he and his team stun with their food. The hotel changed hands recently and some refurbishment is underway. Our executive room was well-furnished with as comfortable a bed as one might find anywhere. A couple of small points - the tv was fastened to the wall to the side of the bed resulting in strained necks after watching it for a while. Also, there was no extractor fan in the bathroom so a shower steamed everywhere very quickly even with the window open as far as it would go (not very far). A serious issue was that we returned to the room one day to find the cleaner had left a key in our door on the outside - anyone could have entered and helped themselves. Also, the next day, the cleaner emptied the waste bin and left the plastic bag of rubbish on the dressing table; not clever. The gym is small and very tired, the changing rooms for the leisure centre were old and tatty, but a notice indicated they were to be attended to. The jacuzzi was on its last legs. Some of the carpeting in the hotel needs to be replaced. However, I guess the refurbishment programme will address these.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
I'm sorry the TV was in an awkward position, they are on brackets which should pull out to make viewing a little more comfortable. As for the gym well, we have just installed a brand new one, which has been extended and fitted with new equipment, air-conditioning and a plasma TV. The changing rooms are about to be refitted as I agree they are tired. As for the housekeeping staff, I am so sorry and they have been shown your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
845 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
17.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing