We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel let down by service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wordsworth Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel let down by service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2010

We arrived a couple of minutes before 9pm, late due to the extreme weather and an accident on the motorway. Neither of these were the hotel's fault, of course. After several hours driving, we hoped for a warm welcome. Instead we were told that no food was available after 9pm (we wanted at least to move our luggage) and the person at reception joked that they would allow us to use their microwave if we bought some food at the local shop.

We spent an evening next door in the bar which was very welcoming but we stayed hungry until morning.

We did have a lovely stay in Grasmere but felt rather let down by service - even Basil Fawlty offered to make late arrivals a sandwich.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dl_live
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    301
    144
    48
    22
See reviews for
180
757
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

A very good three and a half hour trip from Bristol to Grasmere was the start of one of the most relaxing and enjoyable weekends of my life.

On approach to The Wordsworth you are greeted with a clear sign directing you where to park and the Hotel looks beautiful from every angle. The Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and we had the pleasure of meeting the owners who are so hospitable and obviously care about their guests; you cannot fault their business or the hotel.

Clean and tidy with superb facilities including a gym, swimming pool and jacuzzi in the perfect setting. The restaurant is perfect with a large glass fronted setting which overlooks the village and it is very relaxing to look out across the rockery at the front of the hotel and watch the world go by.

The rooms are large and spacious and we were given a guided tour of some of the suites as we were so impressed and enjoyed our stay so much we have already re-booked for February for a weekend break and another stay in June next year for our wedding anniversary.

The Wordsworth is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

We were given a very warm welcome by the owner Mr Garside who gave us a free room upgrade as there was a small amount of refurbishment work going on which didn't affect us at all. All the staff were extremely friendly and professional to the point that when my wife accidently lost her wedding ring down the sink, Rob (Mr Garsides son in law) took the sink apart to retrieve it! The Signature restaurant is superb with some great dishes to choose from. The restaurant manager,Will, and all the waiters and waitresses were again extremely friendly and helpful. We shall be definately returning again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedrumtutor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

Just returned from an absolutely superb stay at the Wordsworth in Grasmere.

It is under new ownership and owners are keen to impress. Setting is stunning. Staff are very friendly. The beautiful dining rooms with huge bay windows and fire place make it very romantic and cosy. The food is probably the best I have ever tasted in any restaurant.

Superb setting for a lovely romantic weekend. Treat your partner she will not be dissapointed.

Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anto009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
Thank you for such a lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

The Wordsworth Hotel stands in an almost perfect position in Grasmere - its right in the heart of the village but it doesn't feel busy. The log fire and the tea and gingerbread offered on arrival are almost the perfect welcome. The staff were helpful and attentive throughout our stay. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and really couldn't be faulted. The food was excellent certainly beyond expectations though its was classy and modern it didn't lose touch with it Cumbrian roots and a lot of the menu seemed to be locally sourced. Breakfast again was well cooked and presented with plenty of choices. However I think its the staff that make this place tick with simple friendly touches and common sense. Susan at reception perhaps stands out - always attentive to the guests needs and comfort and the knowledge to get things done when they need to be.
There were guests of all ages there during our stay and I didn't hear a bad word but saw plenty of contented faces.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Owner at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The Wordsworth Hotel.

Our head chef strives to source as much local produce as possible using local suppliers and it's great when things like this are noticed.

I have to agree about Susan on reception, she has worked at the hotel for 21 years - we don't know what we would do without her!!!!

Thankyou for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Took advantage of the Winter Sale offer...comfortable ,spotless room,excellent food and attentive staff. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
We are glad that you had a good stay and are delighted you hope to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2010

Was so looking forward to dinner...but...gritty tough terrine, tasteless soup, under done pork, rock hard burnt flavour Brownie under mousse, what went wrong? Scrambled eggs at breakfast not scrambled but omeleted and mixed with a fork...Breakfast buffet in a dark corner....oh dear...we told the receptionist on checking out and she said she would pass these coments on. And kindly let us off paying for our half bottle of wine with dinner. I had wanted to speak out after dinner but dining room was busy and reception full....and I was still hungry and disapointed and,yes, angry! Sorry. But a shame,cos hoped to return as location and room ideal. But the chef....oh dear.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorathie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrasmereWordsworth, Manager at The Wordsworth Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Dorathie,

We are so sorry and disappointed that your stay was let down by our food. We find this so surprising as we have just has the Senior Inspector at the hotel from the AA and retained our 2 AA Rosettes and 4 Stars. Following your comments we did check with our other guests and received no other complaints. Once again all I can say is we are extremely sorry and would hope to welcome you back so we can impress you with a much better meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
7.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wordsworth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wordsworth Hotel

Property: The Wordsworth Hotel
Address: Stock Lane | Cumbria, Grasmere LA22 9SW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Grasmere
#4 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#5 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wordsworth Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wordsworth Hotel and Spa provides an iconic destination nestling amongst the towering mountains of the English Lake District. Individually styled, comfortable bedrooms balance tradition with contemporary design with most offering stunning mountain or village views. The fine dining, air conditioned Signature Restaurant provides an award-winning menu whilst the more informal Dove Bistro showcases superb local ingredients cooked with flair and skill. For guests looking to truly pamper themselves the Lakeland Organic Spa (March 2015) offers guests a wide range of luxurious and natural treatments to ensure a fully relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wordsworth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere
The Wordsworth Hotel Grasmere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing