We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cafe”
Review of Miller Howe Cafe - CLOSED

Miller Howe Cafe
Price range: US$4 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: The Miller Howe Cafe is a traditional cafe which celebrates the 'back to basics' approach. Having recently undergone refurbishment, the interior is a wonderfully relaxed environment where you can enjoy traditional, home-cooked fare. From the quiche of the day to an array of jacket potatoes or homemade cakes - there is something for everyone!
Reviewed 13 September 2013

nice cafe, food well presented, staff helpful. Some items like cakes were a bit pricey we thought - possibly a bit of trading off the name going on? - ( e.g. a slice of plain-ish cake was £3.35 pp) but we will still return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eunice h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thanks for your review. All of our cakes are made fresh on-site on a daily basis to make sure we only serve the best to our customers.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

Having walked from Patterdale in driving rain & wind,we arrived at Miller Howe Cafe wet through and in need of tasty sustenance. A sausage and egg crusty roll followed by lemon meringue pie seemed just the job. What a disappointment! The sausages were inferior - nothing like a decent proper butchers sausage. The egg was perfectly cooked, runny in the middle.
The lemon meringue pie....didnt taste of lemon in any shape or form and was rather rubbery. The pastry was ok and the meringue could have been crisper. Expecting the pie to taste of lemon was obviously too big an assumption.
We thought Miller Howe would mean good quality food. Our 2 dogs enjoyed it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Regarding the sausage, we have now changed sausage as we felt the quality we were using at the time wasn't as good as the ones we use now.
The lemon meringue pie, as I am sitting eating a slice whilst typing this, whilst drinking my coffee, I can't understand where you weren't getting the lemon from, but it must be down to personal preference.
If you are in the area, please do come and enjoy our new Lakes sausages..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Quick to get served, nice tasting food. Interior seemed a little out of place compared with the rest of the village.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Glad you enjoyed the service and the food you had. Regarding the interior, there is only do much you can do with an ex-bank building!
Thanks for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This place is nice and bright and airy and the staff are helpful and polite. We ate here twice. The food is fresh and delicious. The coffee is great. I would definately eat here again.

Thank WALTONS12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Tha is for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again for more great device and food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We had breakfast and afternoon coffee and cakes there, good food sausage bap was excellent service was good, a good place o go on a wet day in Grasmere.

Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thanks for your great review. There is nothing quite like a sausage butty on a miserable day!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller Howe Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing