We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salad is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Miller Howe Cafe

Miller Howe Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Grasmere
Price range: US$4 - US$12
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Miller Howe Cafe is a traditional cafe which celebrates the 'back to basics' approach. Having recently undergone refurbishment, the interior is a wonderfully relaxed environment where you can enjoy traditional, home-cooked fare. From the quiche of the day to an array of jacket potatoes or homemade cakes - there is something for everyone!
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Salad is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Came here in a sunny day around 3pm and the place was a little quiet which was great as we beat the lunch time rush..

Had a good look at the menu and was looking to find fish and chips or burger and chips but instead found a much healthier looking menu... This was a great change from the other menus around the area..

Had a salmon muffin type thing with a fried egg and salad and my partner had a baked potato and the food was absolutely Devine... Reasonable price too!!!

Thanks Miller Howe..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rplw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We pride ourselves on serving fresh, home-cooked, old-fashioned style food - and we believe that means every dish doesn't have to come with chips! Great to hear how much you enjoyed the food on your recent visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    100
    56
    51
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I went to miller Howe cafe last week with my family, the service was brilliant as well as the food. Great coffee and I'll definitely go again!

Helpful?
Thank JSBla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thanks JSBla! Great comments like yours keep the smiles on our faces!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience from cafe with promising name.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Having assumed this was an offshoot of the wonderful Miller Howe hotel I decided to treat myself. I shouldn't have bothered. On entering , I was disappointed by the clinical minimalist decor and the fact that it was counter service, but decided to give it a go. I ordered a cappuccino and a coffee cake. The coffee looked and tasted like it had come out of a vending machine and into a tiny thick white mug, such as you might get in a B and B . The cake had seen better days- dry and stale, with icing that was cracked. The staff were friendly although I think they should have their coffee break out of sight of customers . On the plus side there was wifi. To be honest, I've had better at a motorway service station. What a shame!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welshcake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
The coffee machine is a fully automated, state of the art coffee machine which serves coffee to an excellent standard. We buy coffee locally from a firm called Farrers who pride themselves on quality. As a coffee drinker myself, I feel that I am quite a good judge when it comes to coffee and maybe it is not to your flavour, but we can't get much more locally roasted beans from a local firm.
The cafe is not minimalistic, it is clean fresh and well kept. And that's what we are - a cafe! We sell rolls, cakes and traditional home fare. We are exactly what we say on our menu and what our prices should show people and dictate to them. If you want waitress service and the old-fashioned country house style of cake and coffee, that's where you need to go to and that's what you need to pay for. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
498 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent cup of coffee on a cold morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We needed a pick-up from the cold, wet weather, and this cafe provided it. Splendid selection of cakes to have with a good cup of coffee. Friendly, helpful staff. Heating only partly on - could have done with being a bit warmer, but a good experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thanks for your comments - we are glad we managed to pick you after from the cold and wet. We are trying to perfect our rain dance, but it hasn't paid off yet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wakefield
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Sunday Morning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Grasmere on Sunday Morning as part of a coach trip, as the rain threatened we went inside this lovely spotlessly clean eatery and were in awe at the lovely cakes on offer. All 7 of us had drinks and cakes, the scones were freshly made and some of the best I have tasted, my friends said the lemon meringues were delicious and the slices were huge. Would definitely recommend it and we will visit again when in the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank siatermaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thanks siatermaria! We make all of our cakes fresh on site, so our very own master baker will be delighted to hear your comments!
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller Howe Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Miller Howe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing