We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great breakfast!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miller Howe Cafe

Miller Howe Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Grasmere
Price range: US$4 - US$11
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Miller Howe Cafe is a traditional cafe which celebrates the 'back to basics' approach. Having recently undergone refurbishment, the interior is a wonderfully relaxed environment where you can enjoy traditional, home-cooked fare. From the quiche of the day to an array of jacket potatoes or homemade cakes - there is something for everyone!
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“What a great breakfast!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Decided on our last day to finish off with a cooked breakfast, in the middle of Grasmere. This cafe has seating in or outside, decided to sit outside as we had our dog and the weather was lovely. Ordered a full Monty breakfast and the Lakeland breakfast, both great value for 6 and 7 pounds and very good portion sizes, with great fast service. Will definitely revisit when back in Grasmere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank karen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 6 December 2014
They do say that breakfast is the most important meal of the days, so we are delighted we could start your day off with a full belly and a smile on your face!

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Grasmere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    95
    55
    51
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Happy snack on rainy Day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

5th or 6th visit to this Cafe and everything was as good as it always is. Fast service, good cakes and good hot drinks. Free easy access wi-fi which I used. Will no doubt return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 6 December 2014
Thank you, Danny M! As a regular visitor to the cafe, we know we must be doing something right! We have just finished refurbishing the cafe and launched a new menu - so there will be some exciting changes when you are next in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Quite simply the best place to eat breakfast. Generous portions, fabulous local produce, relaxing atmosphere and friendly staff. A great start to the day- we had the Lakeland breakfast and enjoyed every mouthful. The cakes looked delicious but couldn't possibly fit them in after such a beautiful breakfast. Will return next time we visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank RedNick72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 6 December 2014
With breakfast being the most important meal of the day, we think it is just as important to make sure this meal is perfect! Great to hear you enjoyed it so much! We can also box up cakes to take-away, so if you are too full at the time, you can enjoy a tasty treat later in the day!

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Biggest salad i have ever had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited for a coffee on the previous afternoon and decided to call back the next afternoon as we had noticed how nice the salads were not to mention the choice of homemade puddings.
We had the coronation chicken salad was beautiful the biggest tastiest salad I have ever been served in a café/restaurant . I couldn't manage a pudding afterwards but my husband had the warm cherry pie with ice cream and thoroughly enjoyed it. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 6 December 2014
Thank you, Gillian E. Salads often get a bad name as being 'rabbit food' and this is a philosophy that we do not share! We like to pack lots of tasty flavours into our salads, and make sure you are not left hungry, after all there is a lot of walking to be done around Grasmere so you need your energy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place for refreshments in Grasmere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

A nice place to stop for refreshments in Grasmere. Their cakes are delicious. Service was a little slow the last time I went. Seating inside and out.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sekuoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
queensheadtroutbeck, Manager at Miller Howe Cafe, responded to this review, 6 December 2014
Thank you! We make all of our cakes in house and I will pass your comments on to our very own 'Master Baker'!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller Howe Cafe also viewed

Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 
Grasmere, Lake District
Grasmere, Lake District
 

Been to Miller Howe Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing