We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel - popular with older couples”
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Ideal situation in Grasmere.Quiet location but within very easy walking distance of the village.Beautiful setting with splendid views of the fells and Grasmere. Lovely garden area at the back with outdoor pool (not in use when we visitede) Very traditional interior - a little dated in style in the public rooms.Our twin bedroom was pristine clean, large and comfortable.The food was very good and the service was friendly and prompt.Most of the residents were elderly and I understand many return year after year.I would not choose this hotel if I had young children or teenagers but for mature couples/singles who like peace and quiet relaxation it is worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millicento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Grand at Grasmere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

I have stayed at the Gold Rill Hotel many times, and am sure I will continue to do so. The hotel is beautifully set by Grasmere lake and placed perfectly for those who enjoy fell walking. The food is delicious and plentiful, genuine British fare, with modern options and a wonderful wine list. The staff are really friendly and generous with their time. The room was perfectly appointed, clean and comfortable.
While I would agree that the majority of guests are closer to retirement age than myself, being in my 20's I would still recommend it to people my own age. It doesn't put me off, I don't see why it should do to others! Thanks Gold Rill!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenna_Rose_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

An enjoyable and relaxing stay. The public areas - lounges and restaurant - are spaceous and comfortable, as also was the room (no.20) in which we stayed. The fell views from all these vantage points are unsurpassed. The staff were well turned out, friendly and attentive.

As to catering, the breakfasts were splendid, although an hour's window, starting at 8.15am, for placing orders when one is relaxing on holiday is rather short. Dinner in the evening was plentiful and tasty, although perhaps lacking a little finesse. Moreover, it tended to be regimented, with orders being taken before entry into the restaurant at 7.30pm and plates then being too swiftly removed and replaced between each course. These, though, are minor niggles and did little to detract from the overall pleasurable experience of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. Our room was detached from the main hotel in an adjoining house that had been converted. I understand from my travelling companions that these rooms were bigger than those in the main hotel. Very comfortable bed too, and nice bathroom. The hotel is quite 'old fashioned' in style, and (I think they would admit themselves) caters more for an older crowd - we were the youngest staying there by probably 40 years - but it still has its charms. The room was quite pricey, but on a par with other Grasmere hotels, and we were booking quite late so probably partly our fault. Breakfast was excellent though, and one of the best we had during our time in the Lakes.

Room Tip: Bigger room? Ask for those in the detached house
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank js9530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Just returned from last minute break here. The hotel is in a lovely setting with comfortable lounges including fires, and my room was very good, with a soft bed and f#great walk in shower room. Service was friendly, helpful but not intrusive. I stayed on a B & b basis but ate in 2 nights and enjoyed my 4 course dinner especially starters, sorbets and desserts. Interesting menu. It's great for walking too with no need to use the car (plenty of convenient parking close to the hotel entrance) as many walks start from the hotel door. there's a nice garden and outdoor pool which I look forward to exploring in warmer months as I shall definitely return to the Goldrill! A good place to stay as a solo walker; you don't feel self conscious here as you are made very welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clodia94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Stayed for three nights on Dinner Bed and Breakfast rate. The hotel is quietly located on the outskirts of Grasmere but within walking distance. Nice not to have noisy road traffic outside. Hotel and grounds very pleasant, with very kind, helpful and attentive staff.

Breakfasts are really good, plenty of choice of hot and cold foods. Dinner time was amazing - the whole eating experience is your evening of entertainment. Canapes are served from 7 pm in the lounge where you wait for the dinning room to open. Dinner starts at 7.30 pm and comprises starter, soup or sorbet, main course, dessert and then coffee/tea and mints are served in the lounges afterwards. Set menu where you can make your choices from early afternoon once the evening's menus have been printed. There are about three starter, main and dessert choices and the food is prepared to an excellent standard. Highly rate the food here.

Our bedroom was the most disappointing aspect of our stay. The bed/mattress was hard and uncomfortable, perhaps almost a bit lumpy in places. The hotel need to look at replacing these with much better quality comfortable mattresses when renewal time comes around. The room was small but functional and was reasonably tastefully decorated but was quite dark and the lighting didn't help much. The plus side for the room and the whole hotel is that it is lovely and warm. Bathroom provided for all needs and the room came with toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, biscuits etc.

I would certainly recommend this as somewhere to stay if you can afford the high price and want somewhere warm with excellent food, but would be fantastic if only the beds and mattresses were decent.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
1  Thank Britowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

This hotel is set on a quiet road on the outskirts of Grasmere - we have stayed here in all seasons for a number of years and have been very satisfied. There is an elderly regular clientel but nowadays there are more younger people there and the balance is about right . The food is excellent - canapes are served from 7pm and the restaurant opens at 7.30pm but you don't have to rush in. After dinner there are two spacious comfortable lounges - one with a roaring fire in the winter - in the summer there are gardens to sit in with stunning mountain views. If its peace and quiet you are looking for and good value look no further. Once you have been you will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 17spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,497 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
721 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £200 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing