We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic, serene and just off the beaten track - perfect.”
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Idyllic, serene and just off the beaten track - perfect.”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

I've stayed in a lot of top hotels through my work, and at the end of it all the thing that I hold most important is the manner in which you are treated. The Gold Rill and it's staff gave us a very warm welcome during our stay, and were always on hand when we needed them, but never intrusive.
I thought it was great that it was a stone's throw from the village, but tucked away in a prize location aside the lake itself. The photos do not do it justice of the landscaping views that you take in from the garden.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ralph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    103
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
40
333
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
south molton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We used to stay at the Gold Rill about 20 years ago each May when I believe Mr Jewsbury initially took over the hotel and it was always top notch and a real highlight.
My daughter took my wife and myself back there for a main birthday celebration in July this year and it was a real disappointment.
With its location the Gold Rill has so much going for it but now the place seems really tired.
I remember that Paul J used to come round after dinner and chat with his guests,but now there was no sign of the host - he could have been away I suppose.
The lowlight of our visit came when 2 members of our party ordered lamb shank and were served with an uneatable fatty,streaky mass. We were then browbeaten by a person I took to be the head waiter who couldn't believe that we had left the item,insisting "the chef had cooked it for hours".
Al in all a real disappointment and our memories shattered.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mal998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I don't normally write reviews on hotels and restaurants however after staying at The Gold Rill I felt I had to share how exceptional our stay was.

My wife and I stayed 2 nights in November to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. The hotel is in a perfect location (close to the village as well as exclusively close to the lake which was what attracted us). Our room overlooked the garden and surrounding fells and was really lovely. The bed was massive and the room was immaculate.

The service was great and the staff were very friendly. They all seemed to know it was our anniversary. We ate in the hotel on both nights and the dinner was exceptional..... so was the breakfast.

Great value for money, I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We’ve just returned from our 3rd stay this year at the Gold Rill. It’s the perfect location for easy walking and is very close to the village, yet in a quiet location. The food was excellent, our compliments to the kitchen staff. We wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else when we visit the Lake District.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We enjoyed our weekend break at Gold Rill. We had a pretty room up in the eaves of the house, shame it overlooked the car park!
The views from the dining room are great. Food was good. The staff were all very efficient but above all exceptionally friendly. I especially enjoyed the canapes served in the lounge before dinner!
We chose this hotel because of its location and were very pleased with our decision.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank snigglecleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This was probably a very nice hotel back in the 1970's, but now it looks very dated and is in desperate need of a revamp. Nice building, great location and fabulous views. Clearly catering for OAP's - do not go here unless you are over 70.

Breakfast arrangements are bizarre (presumably to stop the pensioners fighting over the views). We arrived in a deserted restaurant, but were placed directly in front of the buffet table. As the other guests arrived they queued round both sides of our table. When we politely asked if we could move somewhere a little quieter the head waiter was extremely rude and unhelpful.

For this money, there are much nicer hotels in the Lake District.

PS: Within walking distance of The Jumble Room - which is superb (the reason for our stay).

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Located near to the lake and short walk from the center of town. Ideal location for walking and exploring or a quiet break. Staff very friendly and service and food excellent. Room great and appeared recently refurbished.

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,190 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
713 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing