We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid 3 star hotel”
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Good solid 3 star hotel”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Spent a 2 night B&B 'deal' with dinner on one evening. Hotel clean and roomy with lovely log fire in the lounge. Bedroom clean and well appointed with lovely view of Grasmere lake. Breakfast very enjoyable and cooked fresh. Tables turned outwards in the morning so you could enjoy the spectacular views over breakfast. Dinner is served over a one hour period and to entice guests down into the restaurant free canapes are served in the bar for 30 minutes prior to the restaurant opening. This appeared to work as the lounge was full of guests waiting to take their places at the dinner table. We delayed going in to finish our drinks and were somewhat suprised to see jugs of coffee coming out ten minutes after the dining room opened. Coffee is self service in the lounge(probably to get you out of the dining room!)This inevitably meant if you weren't in the cavalry charge when the dining room opened you would probably end up with 'luke' warm coffee, as indeed we did. Dinner was four courses and well presented. I realised now why everybody came down down early as the plated vegetables were luke warm having been sat on a hot plate. Chicken just boardering on being dry. Dessert of cranberry spotted dick and custard was excellent. Service very good. All in all a solid 3 star. Grasmere is awash with excellent eateries, ate at 'Tweedies' bar on the second night and this was excellent

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Pigsleyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    103
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
38
326
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
north england
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a travelzoo deal, though they have their own winter deals, which aren't the same value for money.
The hotel is down a small side street in Grasmere with no local signage given to it, making it necessary to ask directions, as the website has no directions. It has plenty of free parking.
Though I was told from the start that I would have to change rooms after the first night and stay in a lodge which stood apart from the main building, I arrived to be told that this would not now be necessary and was extremely relieved - it was very cold and snowy and the grounds would have been treacherous.
Our room was warm and well appointed, the bathroom gleaming clean and all in good order. A box of local gingerbread was waiting for us and our deal included a trip on Windermere, details of which were also waiting. Our view of the mountains was lovely and some rooms have lake views.
Beds were rather hard but comfortable overall with immaculate bedding. Beds were made up during breakfast unless staff were told otherwise.
Breakfast was generous and attentive - I asked for extra butter the first morning and the second morning, extra was already waiting.
The bulk of guests during our stay were older travellers and staff are patient, friendly and unrushed.

Room Tip: Insist on being in the main building, the lodge looked forlorn and is not directly adjacent to the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynnmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelton-in-Cleveland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

spent 3 relaxing days in room 31 in the lodge of gold rill country house.the room is well appointed,very well decorated has it's own lovely well furnished conservatory overlooking the garden.the only criticism -the mattress was very hard and lumpy.
The views from the hotel lounges and dining room are fantastic - of the lake and surrounding fells.
the meals are very good and the canapes served in the bar and lounge before dinner are too moreish!the service at dinner is rather on the fast side other than that everything was excellent.
the staff are all very nice,helpful and friendly

Room Tip: choose a superior room if possible.some of the others are rather small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peter-davies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful night stay, room 20 really did have the wow factor because of the views, room was spacious and the bathroom was spotless. We took advantage of the bed,breakfast and dinner special offer, the food and service was very good. It definitely is a hot spot for the over 60's, we didn't see any young family's even though it was half term holidays. Over all a very nice stay and have already recommended it to our older family and friends.

Room Tip: room 20 views " WOW"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karenpetergtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
224 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have been visiting this hotel since 1989! I have to say that we would not now normally consider using a three star family run hotel as we would normally go for something bigger with higher ratings. However, this place is like a home from home. It helps, of course, that they all know us well as we tend to go two or three times a year. What do we like about it so much?

Firstly, the location. Grasmere must be one of the most beautifully situated villages in England and the hotel is just on the edge of the village on a very quiet road round the lake. You can see the lake from some of the rooms and others look out over the gardens or fells (hills/mountains). The food is excellent. Breakfast is a limited buffet (some fruit, cereals, yoghurts, rolls, croissants etc) but then you can choose your own mixture of cooked food which is freshly prepared to your order. The evening meals are four courses. Starters have four choices, then soup or sorbet, main course also four choices (two meats, one fish and one vegetarian) and then four desserts. Coffee is served in the lounge after, although there is also decaffeinated coffee and tea and they will provide any herbal tea on request. At lunchtime, bar food is available.

The staff are a wonderful mix of nationalities - as is usual these days, many come from Eastern Europe but they are all so pleasant and hardworking. Add to the mix staff from South Africa, New Zealand and even the UK and they are a great bunch of young, motivated and very willing staff.

Most of the bedrooms are refurbished regularly and now are decorated in a modern style. The public rooms are smart but perhaps more traditional in style. Most of the rooms are in the main hotel but there are five or six in “The Lodge” which is a converted domestic house across the garden. These rooms are lovely and generally bigger than the main hotel. However, the drawback is that it rains a lot in the Lake District and, although the hotel provides ample supplies of umbrellas, it can sometimes be a real pain walking across from the lodge to the hotel for meals when it is wet.

The guests are generally older and most have been coming to the hotel for years. Don’t let this put you off as the staff are mainly younger and the hotel has a very relaxed and upmarket feel to it. The owner, Paul Jewsbury, is often there and very involved in his hotel.

We love it there - as you will have guessed!

Room Tip: The main hotel is best. Walking across from "The Lodge" can be a real pain when it is wet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in January.

All in all, we had a great time. The hotel is very clean, and fairly freshly decorated. I thought it looked like it had been done in the style of the 1980's - but that's to say it looked new, but based on old styles!
Most of the other guests were 60 plus. That's neither a bad thing, nor the hotel's fault - in fact in many cases it ensures the place is clean and the staff attentive. However it did seem to be the root of the things, that at our age (33 and 35), we found odd or slightly annoying.
Breakfast was served between 8.30 and 9.30, with the guidance that you should try to sit at the table you were at the night before, and that they would give everyone the opportunity to sit at the window seats at some point.
Dinner was only 1930 to 2030, with a few rules, one of note being "Children are requested not to attend the dining room at night, for the comfort of other guests" We didn't take our children, and didn't intend to eat there, so it didn't really matter, but it sums up the hotel well. Most of the old chaps wore ties and jumpers, and the ladies were a riot of differing patterns and colours in their twinsets.. Again, not a critism, it just paints a picture.
Breakfast was tasty, and the service was good, if a bit slow. The dinner looked fine too, and, relative to other ridiculously priced Grasmere eateries, was good value.

The other clientel ranged from friendly and bubbly to cantakerous and grumpy. Again, not the hotels' fault. One morning an old couple sat down for breakfast, and looked like they were up for an arguement - they eventually found one by deciding that the sun was in their faces. Instead of turning their chairs round, they complained, and asked the waiter to shut the curtains. When the curtains were attempted to be shut, the couple on the table with the window view complained that they didn't want them shut! Causing yet more bother.
I expect these couples go to the hotel a lot, and some regard you with a hostile suspicion, as it's their terratory. We overheard many of them talking to their friends, saying things like "I've only seen HER 2 or 3 times here, and they've NEVER wanted to mingle" Like it's a crime.

However, this is all very negative for a hotel that I have, on balance, given 4 stars.
The actual hotel, if you look past the old fashioned quirks, has good facilities, is very clean, good value, with good staff. It's in an amazing position - we could see fields, the lake, and moutains. Grasmere is almost too beautiful for words, and the walks are stunning.
We had a great time, and all the above doesn't really bother me much. We found that we kept different hours to the usual clientel - when we were going for pre dinner drinks before leaving for the village, they'd be in afternnon naps or in the bath, so we could enjoy a quiet drink.

I'd recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulJM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed here some time ago and I found this hotel enchanting, the quality of the place was fantastic, the food was nothing short of excellent and if you like good walking and clean living then this place is a real find. My girlfriend and I were really pleased with our stay and the staff were very helpful, the hotel is ideal to get away from it all but also you have tea shops and things close by if you are out walking. I chose the Gold Rill because I like walking and views, this place gave us both in abundance.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the lake and wake up about 7 am to see hundreds of rabbits playing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank powerhousesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,429 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing