We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consitantly excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
kingston upon hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consitantly excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our third visit to this beautiful hotel over a four year period. We were surprised that it was as good if not better than the first time, these days it is difficult to find consistancy to this level. We have had a mixture of rooms at this hotel, we tend to book last minute. This time we had a room overlooking the car park, we were warned in advance that the room had sloping ceilings, no problem the room was first class, clean, comfortable and well equiped. We think the complimentary canapes served in the lounge, as you enjoy a drink before dinner, is a nice touch. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast. Four course dinner followed by coffee and a plate of mints excellent value and very good quality. Breakfast menu was very good you can virtually have whatever you like. The staff absolutely first class, always very pleasant and professional. The customer base is mixed but more older clients than young, nothing wrong with this. I think because of it's high standards this hotel has enjoyed repeat bookings for many years. Fabulous setting by the lake with very well maintained grounds. We look forward to our next visit to The Gold Rill

Room Tip: Book early to get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    100
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
307
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

A group of friends from university and myself stay here every year for a weekend. It is very comfortable, the staff are really friendly, rooms are excellent - some have amazing views over the lake and the lounge is perfect for afternoon and evening get-togethers. Food is excellent and the staff are very helpful and accommodating of individual requests. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor with a lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

A good b&b base for walking, both the rooms we had had baths, which is an essential for any walking holiday! I stayed in perhaps the smallest room, the single, and it was fine, decor a bit dated (green and red...) but otherwise fine as a base, one thing to note about both rooms, however, is that the showers are not great, a trickle of hot water at best at peak time in a morning, but this is really the only sticking point of this hotel.

Room Tip: If you can go for a suite room/a room with a view over the lake as the hotel is in a beautiful setti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_M816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Comfortable hotel, friendly staff, good service, picturesque setting combines to make this a recommended hotel for couples and adult groups. Not much going for younger children. I would definitely stay here again. According to fellow guests early booking is advisable.

Room Tip: The second floor roof rooms are not advisable if you are above average height.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brimar3942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We go to the Gold Rill in Grasmere the last weekend in February every year. We stay Friday and Saturday night and have a 5 course evening meal and breakfast each day. The hotel is lovely, at the side of Grasmere lake. The rooms are fab, especially in the annex. They are very large and quiet. The beds are comfy and the decor is great. The staff, food, cleanliness and comfort are equally good. Friends of ours have started joining us on our recommendation and they agree that it is a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PBPCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Beautiful setting with our room overlooking the lake - so picturesque. The hotel was spotless and staff so accommodating. We ate in the restaurant both nights - food and service was very good. Also ideally placed to visit little local villages.

Overall we would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11 which had an extra seating area overlooking fields and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank OxwichGower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We visited the Gold Rill 20 years ago and enjoyed our stay then so we decided to return again.The owners Paul and Cathy are still there and it is still an excellent, well run hotel. All the staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is in a great location for day trips around the Lake District. We had room 21 which had a reception room, and balcony overlooking Lake Grasmere. We were told the free wi-fi only worked in the reception area but it also worked in Room 21. The evening dinner was excellent. Perhaps we will come again in another 20 years.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GXtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing