We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Understated lovely hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Understated hotel. Delightful staff, excellent breakfast, well run, spacious, good facilities amazing views and the best situation for walking the Lakes. I have a lot of experience of hotels as have my three walking companions and we all agree about this one.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stinkyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    100
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
38
313
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bala, North Wales
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed at the Gold Rill on the coast to coast walk and we were well looked after - drying area for wet gear & boots. We enjoyed dinner and the "traditional atmosphere". However, I had to change my booking from a double to single occupancy and this was a very expensive stay. You would expect things to be perfect for such a price but the bathroom wasn't.

Room Tip: Avoid single occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker-paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Just returned from a short winter break and enjoyed great food and service from a hotel in a great location. Just the job for walkers and relaxers alike. We have visite this hotel before and last year fancied a change but we had no hesitation but to return here as it was far superior to the other one

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor room with a view of both fells and the lake, very comfortable, warm and spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reluctantwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately, the real quality of a hotel can be lost when someone has a single problem; cold room or the perception of high prices. Such issues may be real but cannot justify an overall low assessment of a hotel. This hotel is probably the best in the area, I've stayed in quite a few. The service, food and location is second to none.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

We went to this hotel for the first time (November 2012)

We were overcharged for the drinks we ordered - and the drinks were already extremely overpriced. When I complained I was told that I had purchased the drinks even though I definitely had not and no refund was given. The proprietor was rude and hung up on me when I rang to complain. We had no way to prove this as you do not sign for the drinks - when I challenged this I was informed that the owner "did not want to go down this route" - this is no surprise when they are overcharging customers!!

The "Superior" room was extremely cold for the first 3 nights even though other customers had complained and requested the heating to be turned up. This room also only had a 5ft bath and the decoration was tired

The food was bland with hardly any choice. Most nights 1 meat, 1 fish and a vegetarian dish with similar ingredients in starters and main courses making variety difficult. In addition to this within 5 days of stay course choices were repeated reducing the variety even further. Slow roasted lamb was presented with a steak knife as it was tough and chewy (how this is possible with slow roast lamb!)

There is no flexibility with meal times, 7.30pm or nothing!

The hotel itself is extremely overpriced with the customer service efficient rather than friendly.

Should you want to go to Grasmere find alternatives - there are plenty

Room Tip: Go Somewhere Else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have been going there for about 17 years. We have never had anything less than a fantastic stay with the hotel having delightful and friendly staff, wonderful food, a tremendously cosy atmosphere and stunning location. It is child friendly with 'nursery teas' provided at 6.00 p.m., allowing parents to enjoy a meal on their own later. One of the lovely features is the way the guests gather in the lounges for canapés before dinner and coffee after dinner. My husband and I have spent many an enjoyable hour talking to other guests, some of whom we had met on previous visits. The attention that we have received from the owner is tremendous: a bouquet of flowers on my 40th birthday and a bottle of champagne on ice left in my daughter's room when she arrived back at the hotel after her university graduation ceremony. The hotel is by far the best we have stayed in anywhere in the world. We can never wait to go back - which we try and do twice a year, all the way from Dorset!

Room Tip: Room 26 is one of the largest and best. It doesn't have a lake view, but it does have a sofa at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Gold Rill Hotel in Grasmere recently; somewhere I've wanted to stay for sometime; it was well worth the wait; great location with fantastic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room at breakfast.

The staff were attentive, food was very good and our room comfortable.

Looking forward to our next visit

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing