We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“traditional, wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Bakewell
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“traditional, wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The hotel is immaculate, comfortable, it is peaceful and the food is very good to excellent. The average age of the guests is about 70, having said that the guests and the young staff were all very friendly. It is perfect for a walking or touring base and some of the guests who struggled to get about stopped in and around the hotel all day, enjoying the lounge, garden and strolling into the village. Access to some of the bedrooms is not easy and so if you have mobility issues you ensure that you have a easy access room. Most of the guest have been visiting this hotel for 15 years or more and I can see why.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    100
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
37
313
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we booked into the Gold Rill Country House Hotel. It is situated in the most superb spot with spectacular views on every side. We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the spacious conservatory or outside on the patio or in the lovely garden. The elegant dining room has a picturesque view of the lake and is the perfect place to enjoy their delicious breakfast or the four course dinner they serve every evening. It really was an experience to remember and I hope to return again in the near future.

Room Tip: Every room has a lovely view but the rooms facing the lake have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HistoryBuff123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Rill H, Manager at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It is always nice to receive comments such as yours and hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

We took our parents for a few days in the Lakes and couldn't have been more impressed

An extremely well run establishment with attentive, pleasant staff and a kitchen whose skill and attention to detail made the evening meals a pleasure to come back to.

Well done Gold Rill, we are sure to be back

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Rill H, Manager at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thankyou for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
202 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have just returned from our annual May trip to the Lake District and we have been staying at the Gold Rill Hotel for many years. Everything is just as well run as usual. Great service, good food and a lovely relaxing atmosphere. For the first time, I took my iPad with me and made use of the good free Wifi signal in the public rooms. If you want a quiet hotel in a beautiful location with good service and food then you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 to 21 are at the rear of the hotel and overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Rill H, Manager at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and are glad that our free Wifi in the public areas has been put to good use. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The location of the hotel could not be better with views towards Grasmere and just minutes from the village centre, All members of staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be of service. The lounges are very comfortable and much appreciated when it is lashing down with rain outside. A very nice and unexpected touch was the serving of tasty canapes prior to diiner and the meal itself was excellent - again, with very professional and efficient service in the well appointed restaurant. Good choice of items on the breakfast menu. The only let down was our bedroom, room 21 (suite), which suffered from noise above.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndabaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Rill H, Manager at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, especially about the staff. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant and thank you for your comment about Room21, which we apologise for and are looking into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NW Cumbria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here after deciding to come away on an impulse, and I'm very glad we did. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was one of comfort and informality, with very attentive staff.

I ordered a steak for dinner on the first night, I think it was the best steak I have ever had! It was cooked beautifully, served on an extremely hot plate which is the kind of detail I appreciate.

The views are incredible, the lounges comfortable and the beds delightful. The staff were all friendly and obliging, and I must make mention of Libby in particular, who went out of her way to be helpful.

We would definitely come back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheyanne_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Rill H, Manager at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Gold Rill Hotel and will pass on your very kind comments to the staff. We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My partner and I originally booked this hotel through Travel Zoo for March at a discounted rate but could not get there because of snow. We rearranged the date for April and had to pay the full price but we couldnt fault the hotel in any way.The staff are all really helpful and the hotel and rooms are spotless. We were very surprised that this is only a 3 star hotel because we've been in worse 4 star ones.The food is really nice with plenty of choice on each menu.The hotel is quiet on a night but theres Tweedies bar about 150yds away which has live entertainment on which was quit good.We shall certainly be returning here hopefully many times again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandalfDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing