We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Grasmere is a lovely town just a few minutes walk from the Gold Rill. The reception staff were very welcoming and guided us to our room in the cottage next to the hotel. The room was good sized with a very comfortable bed. There is no fridge or A/C but the window opens if needed. The shower was quite small but had lots of hot water and very nice toiletries.
Breakfast was plentiful with a lot of choice of cereals and juices, you wont go hungry.

Would definitely stay here again

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank caggsMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    100
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
34
307
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel has been one of our favourites. It is in a wonderful spot, in Grasmere, with lovely views and a garden in which to relax. The lounge is spacious, tastefully furnished with comfortable seating and enjoying a view to the garden. It is ideal for enjoying the after dinner coffee and reading the morning papers. The dining room is beautifully appointed and has double aspect having views to the lake and over the garden to the hills beyond. This time we stayed in room 18 which is at the back with a view to the lake. It is a spacious room with ample room for 2 armchairs so you can sit in the window and enjoy the view. The room is quite pleasant but somewhat tired and dated. The bed was firm, not having a sprung base and the pillows were "springy". The bathroom has a bath with shower over and its own window. Some attention to detail missing eg ill-fitting floor covering. The food is nicely cooked but the dinner menu is uninspiring: ratatouille, chicken supreme, roll-mop herrings, scampi...........all a bit dated. The hotel has a fair proportion of retired guests, maybe this is what they prefer? For us it would be better to reduce the number of courses offered on the Table d'Hote (bit of a marathon to consume all) and offer more appealing food. The pre-dinner canapés however were delicious. The potential is obviously there! The staff, without exception, were excellent - polite, attentive, respectful, willing; they made you feel completely at ease. If this hotel were to up-date its rooms and its menu it would be second to none. Come on Gold Rill, invest a bit!!

Room Tip: Ask for suitable bed and pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pernicketyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Some friends had been reccommended the Gold Rill for lunch so we arranged to meet them there.We were impressed by the fresh look of the hotel and the spacious area for casual eating.We ordered our lunches and had a drink while we waited for them to be delivered.After a short time they arrived and we were pleasantly surprised to see how substantial they were.Four clean plates later we were all full and wondering if we would be able to manage a stroll round Grasmere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netvigator1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Grasmere is a beautiful village at the heart of the English Lake District and therefore central for visiting all parts of the area. The Gold Rill caters for its guests extraordinarily well. Forget the a la carte menu - the table d'hote is excellent - changed daily, fresh, plentiful, quality food with a focus on local produce, and always very well presented and served. Tackling all four courses is easy on the first night but becomes progressively more difficult! Breakfasts too offer plenty of choice and are excellent. There is a bar, two large comfortable lounges, a scenic dining room, lovely grounds, and - for warm days - an outdoor swimming pool. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient. This is our umpteenth stay at The Gold Rill, and I expect there will be many more.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pm46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I have used this hotel on several occasions, we always enjoy the experience and the hospitality, looking forward to our next visit later this year. Mark the head waiter runs the dining room and is always on hand to advise, service and food excellent we particularly enjoy the canapés with a drink before dinner.

Room Tip: No lift is available so if stairs are a problem a ground floor room is essential, or a room in the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

We came to Grassmere with the idea of camping. When we got there we changed our mind and decided to see if we could get a last minute deal in a bed and breakfast or hotel. We called at the Gold Rill Hotel. The very friendly receptionist at the desk told us she only had a twin room but that we could have a deal on it being so late in the day. At first I declined the room, but when the lady said i think you should have a look at the room I was intrigued. The room was in the anex building at the side of the hotel which looked like a house. The room had a large bathroom with a bath, a comfortable bedroom which was a good size and the finishing touch - a conservatory with a shared garden. the room was immaculate. The only problem with the room was when we tried to use the TV to listen to the radio we couldn't get any signal, and the radio alarm on the side of the bed didn't work. (not a big deal)

We were by far the youngest guests in the hotel, it is an older persons place. This wasn't an issue for us as on the night time we went to Tweedies bar which served fantastic drinks and had a great Irish band on. Its only a very short walk around the corner from the hotel.

The grounds of the hotel were fantastic!!!! On the Saturday afternoon we went to the gingerbread shop and got the best gingerbread in the world (we have been coming to the lakes for years and i cant believe I have never tried this). we had some with the complimentary hot chocolate in our conservatory.

Breakfast was nice but not the best I've had. (although you couldn't fault the view) We went for breakfast at about 915. By that time most people had been for breakfast and we couldn't find a set table that hadn't been used. We just chose a used table, but were not acknowledged by the staff for at least 10 mins until a guest sitting next to us pointed out a set table at the other end of the room. when we moved table a member of staff did come to serve us straight away. i would recommend to go for breakfast a little earlier as when i went to get some fresh fruit it had all been taken away before we were finished our ordered breakfast. I felt a little bit rushed, even though the book in the room said that cooked breakfast was served until 945.

We really enjoyed our stay and wished we could have stayed another night, which i think we would have if it hadn't been for work commitments. A special mention to the lady who was on reception on the afternoon of our arrival, she was so helpful and if it hadn't been for her may have missed this opportunity.

Room Tip: room 31 was our room with the conservatory
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northlilncs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We have stayed at Gold Rill on 4 separate occasions and have never been disappointed. When booking this break we could not get the room we wanted as they were booked so were offered a room in Rillside lodge next door. We found this to be a large room with garden views. The hotel guests are mainly the more mature but this doesn't bother us as it is very peaceful. The staff are always extremely pleasant and the food was exceptional. No better views from any other hotel in Grasmere. If you want a more lively evening pop down the road to Tweedies for traditional pub food and a great selection of beers!

Room Tip: Room 33 spacious enjoyed watching the birds each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseNorthlilncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#10 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing