We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Lake District”
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Diamond in the Lake District”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to Gold Rills County House on a 2 day travel zoo offer.

Our room (room 28) was in the lodge just a short way from the main building, over looking the putting green. The room was very clean and modern with king size bed, the bathroom was nice modern and clean, shower, no bath. We had all the usual items that you would expect, tv, tea/coffee/hot chocolate. The lodge has a separate wifi from the main building, ask at reception for the password, and its free. The lodge also has its own car parking.

Right from the start the staff are very friendly and courteous, nothing is too much trouble.

We went to the lounge in the main building about 7pm for drinks before our evening meal, and select our meals from the menus, the staff visit your table to take your food orders, we also tried out the small pastries but don't spoil your appetite.

The meal came in 4 courses and the was excellent with a good choice, again the staff were very attentive. We then retired back to the lounge for tea/coffee and chocolates.

Breakfast was just as excellent, all cooked to order, with an really good selection of items. Eggs are lightly cooked so if this isn't to your taste, just say or have poached/scrambled. You have to ask for red/brown sauces as there is none on the tables.

Would we recommend Gold Rills? 100% yes, would we go back? 100% yes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    104
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
40
340
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Astley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Stayed here last weekend and had a brilliant time. We booked with Travelzoo for my sisters 60th Birthday so was worried it wouldn't live up to expectations. No need to have been concerned at we all enjoyed a great weekend. The hotel was warm, spotless clean and the food delicious. Very comfortable rooms giving a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. The evening menu also had a good choice and the presentation was lovely.Nothing to complain about. The service was very good as we were a party of six and was always served together which was nice.
All six agreed a fab weekend was had by all and would definatly recomend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill N les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on 14th March for my Birthday Weekend and were given a very warm welcome by the young lady on the desk who showed us the way to our room. We had room 23 which was very cosy & comfortable, with charming views from both windows of the breathtaking scenery beyond. We were on a DBB package booked through Travelzoo & what a brilliant deal we got, as everything about our stay was first class!
You certainly won't ever be hungry, both the breakfasts & evening meals are of an excellent standard & it's good that the Fells are right on your doorstep, as you'll definitely need to "walk off" all those extra calories!
Although most of the people that were staying while we were there were middle aged like us & older, I did see some younger groups too.
Thankyou Gold Rill for a very memorable stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bendybensta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Gold Rill for 2 nights last week for a lovely relaxing break - we were not disappointed. Warm friendly welcome, immaculate room, most comfortable bed ever and on top of that the most delicious food both morning and night. Canapés in the bar each night were an added bonus as was the excellent service. Could not fault this place.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MMRYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We booked on the Travelzoo offer, and we were not disappointed. From the very warm welcome., to beautiful lake view room, to the comprehensive wine list and hearty meals in the restaurant. We enjoyed every moment. Will definitely be back. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room, very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinyevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Location matched by standard of cuisine and service.staff at all levels demonstrated a sense of purpose and team spirit Room 21 is ideal as it has a separate sitting room and a balcony and over
looks the lake and hills.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Many thanks for 2 great nights ,although the weather was WET ,the hotel was warm ,clean,friendly and probably the best value hotel I have been fortunate to stay in for the last 45 years.the staff are friendly and efficient ,the food was superb , 6 of visited GoldRill and we all felt stuffed,all refusing to not eat the wonderful food , the menu changes every day . Lorraine is terrific , but it is unfair to single out one individual , but the boss has a great team thanks we will be back

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
720 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dale Lodge Hotel
Dale Lodge Hotel
#11 of 14 in Grasmere
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Property: Grand at Grasmere
Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing