We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so geriatric”
Review of Grand at Grasmere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand at Grasmere
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a 4 night stay including a weekend and found that the clientele is much more mixed at weekends, which is understandable, and the bar was livelier with some big family groups. Also older people have more money - wish I could have stayed somewhere like this when I was younger but had to make do with the youth hostel. We are in our 70's but do not look too decrepit! After you have got used to the idea that you can't order dinner after 8.15 we found the well organised ritual of a drink with delicious canapes between 7 and 7.30, with a lovely 4 course meal to look forward to, was wonderfully relaxing after a day outdoors. Good food with some dishes outstanding. On the first night we rolled up at 8 having missed the canapes but some were brought to our table. There's no 'queueing'. You don't have to go to your table before 8.30 as long as you've ordered. Spacious bars and lounge, immaculate gardens, views to die for all around the hotel. Not all rooms will have one. Room 31 in the annexe (a converted bungalow) suited us beautifully with its own conservatory looking onto a secluded garden with resident rabbits and glimpses of the hilltops. Staff terrific but with limited English. Never saw the management though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

We arrived for a three night stay but could only manage one! The hotel decor is very tired and whilst we are in our late 60's we felt we had brought down the average guest age considerably! We were shocked that it was impossible to buy a basic drink from the bar. Dinner time was a bizarre queuing system and the food indifferent at best. There are very much better hotels in Grasmere at a similar price and infact we moved to one for the remainder of our stay. Don't visit even if you are only young at heart! Overpriced and complacent is our verdict.

Stayed: May 2014
5  Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was our 2nd visit and we are now planning our 3rd ! The Gold provides what we are looking for in a Hotel - light and bright - lovely lounge area - excellent food.
Rooms: we stayed in 3 rooms for our 3 night stay ! When booking we knew we had to move once, but a shower failure meant we had to move again - all handled very efficiently by the staff. Room 8 - very pleasant - limited view of the lake and surrounds - good start. Room 24 - little smaller - only has a shower which could best be described as 'intimate' - adequate. Room 17 - ground floor lake view - full en suite - excellent.
When we book again we will book well in advance and ask for the superior rooms with views - they really are worth the extra.
The lounge area is comfortable, bright and very relaxing - you can spend a couple of hours reading the papers and sipping an ale while taking in the marvellous views.
The stars of the show are the food and the staff - firstly the food, with the ambiance created in the dining room its easy to spend 2 hrs having supper - the quality and presentation are excellent. All staff are very attentive and friendly - someone has a hand on the tiller and it shows !
The hotel is located in one of the most wonderful areas of the UK, the scenery found within an easy 30 min drive is stunning - we absolutely love this part of the world and the Gold Rill has enhanced that experience.

Room Tip: Lake or garden superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XodaSnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been coming here for many years and, once again, a great stay. Good staff, great food and a relaxing and comfortable hotel. Location beautiful on the edge of one of the loveliest villages in England which is a perfect base for some really good walking.

Even better, mostly dry this time - the hotel will do anything they can for you but even they can't control the weather.

Room Tip: Room 16, 17, 18, 19 and 20 have the best lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_W_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here with friends for the Fred Whitton Challenge, mainly because the hotel is so close to the start/finish. I was very impressed with the friendly and helpful nature of the staff and the room was spotlessly clean with a excellent space for the price, plus a great view to boot. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 4 has a big bay window with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We booked for two nights with a Travelzoo offer which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Our room was in the attic and, like all the rooms in the hotel, much too hot. The room needs painting as there are scuff marks on the walls and stains on the carpet. The bathroom is in need of updating, the electric shower poor and the toilet brush dirty!!. On the plus side the public rooms were comfortable, although too hot, and the restaurant lovely with fantastic views. The breakfasts were well presented and tasty but we gave the four course evening meals mixed reviews. The starters and soups were lovely but the main courses and deserts were a bit hit and miss. Between 19:00 and 19:30 canapes are served in the bar and after dinner coffee and mints are also served in the bar. These are the little extras that make it a special place to visit. and, it must work, as many of the guests return time after time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JIP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights in early February on a special voucher offer. The deal included bed, breakfast and dinner for two nights. The cost was such that my expectations were not high.
I could not have been more wrong. Our room was small but very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and the included dinner was first class. The choice and quality was superb and there was absolutely no need to order any of the a la carte items at a supplement. The chef here really knows how to cook food. This is high class restaurant quality here. Drinks were a little expensive but what price do you put on a nice glass of wine to be drunk whilst overlooking the lake and fells beyond? We will certainly visit again with or without the 'vouchers'.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grasmere hotels
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
1,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wordsworth Hotel
The Wordsworth Hotel
#8 of 14 in Grasmere
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#4 of 14 in Grasmere
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 14 in Grasmere
861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Macdonald Swan Hotel
Macdonald Swan Hotel
#9 of 14 in Grasmere
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand at Grasmere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand at Grasmere

Address: Red Bank Road, Grasmere LA22 9PU, England (Formerly Gold Rill Country House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range: £208 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand at Grasmere 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand At Grasmere is a stunning lake district country house hotel in Grasmere with a unique bar & restaurant. ‍Ideally located within its own gardens between Grasmere lake & Grasmere village our cosy rooms feature stunning views over the surround fells or the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grand at Grasmere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Rill Country House Hotel Grasmere
Gold Rill Country Hotel
Gold Rill Country Grasmere
Grand At Grasmere Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing