We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
389
116
39
15
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
116
39
15
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gold rill boot room open kitchen superior lodge nespresso machine st annes fell view room new owners the main hotel dining room sister hotel lovely view of the lake wet coats lake district bay window public areas high standard
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Just returned to reality from an AMAZING New Year break at the Grand. We had never been before and had no expectations but were blown away by it all. The staff could not do enough for us, I requested a change of room when we arrived as we wanted a king size bed rather than a queen sized one, not a problem. The rooms have been recently renovated and were sparkling clean. The super king size bed was supremely comfortable.
The food....... well what can I say, on New Years Eve, we were offered canapés with champagne which kept flowing, followed by a five course amazing dinner. Out of this world. Tradition was maintained by the piping in of the haggis which was a nice touch.
This was followed by dancing ( forgot to ask who was the saxophonist?? )and fireworks at midnight.
A lovely late brunch with Bucks Fizz on New Years Day and dinner..... an inspired idea of steak pie, chips and peas was so good!
The owners of the Grand have successfully modernised the hotel and brought it into the 21st century. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Many thanks

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank hume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

So pleased you enjoyed the NY break! Thank you for posting all your lovely comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Loved staying at the Grand once again, stunning downstairs area, only issue was the final bill, a wrong bottle of wine added on and one price quoted for the room only to be told their computer had missed the breakfast off the price and was charged another £90, bit of a let down to such a nice break.

Room Tip: Noisy fan outside room 18
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayjay5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank You for the review, Apologies for the computer misbehaving. Hope you come and stay again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Recently spent two nights here. The room had splendid views, was comfortable and well appointed. The staff, particularly in Reception, were both welcoming and friendly.
The food was excellent, particularly the chocolate mousse dessert! The Boot Room was well designed and the decor in the hotel was both contemporary and comfortable. I look forward to my next visit to The Grand.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sandygeoff45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Thank You for the review. Chocolate Mousse is my favourite too..... We look forward to your next visit. Book early , hotel website - online, for best value!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

From the moment you arrive at The Grand at Grasmere the staff cannot do enough to make your stay special . We stayed for our friends Pearl Wedding in December .The Hotel itself is tastefully decorated and set in beautiful country side only 5 minutes walk into Grasmere Village . We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant all first class .We can highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a peaceful retreat with plenty of walks on the door step . Well done to all the staff .

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank You. So pleased you enjoyed your yourselves! Keep recommending! Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We have just returned from our overnight stay at the Grand at Grasmere. What a beautiful Hotel ! All the staff were so friendly from the moment we arrived. Our room was lovely, with a 7 foot bed and views of the hills. Food was excellent. The views from the bar and restaurant over the surrounding countryside are beautiful. We couldn't fault a single thing. A credit to its owners and we will DEFINITELY return (soon)
Max & Jo - Blackpool

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank MaxSmith1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard W, Owner at Grand at Grasmere, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2016

Thank you for your review! So pleased to read! All the team are also encouraged by your comments! Thank You again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews