We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasmere Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grasmere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grasmere Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Grasmere
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

A lovely little hotel the restaurant overlooks garden with stream and little bunnies playing on the lawn, the food is gorgeous the service is brilliant and we had a very comfortable bed. rob did come across as being a little reserved at first but as the day wore on he warmed up he did seem a nice man and the chef can cook, also a very good location and they have a free car park.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    30
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
513
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We chose the Grasmere Hotel over our regular hotel in Grasmere after reading the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed.

The welcome from Rob one of the owners and Barbara one of their team was excellent. We were taken into the public rooms and everything explained that we needed to know. Next we were taken to our room and again a full explanation of everything and finally we were offered tea / coffee in the lounge – a great start.

Our room was Ruskin at the front of the house and although this room will disappear in its present format during some major refurbishment later this year we felt it was of a good standard. We particularly liked the fact that they offered fresh milk to go with the coffee and tea. We liked the lovely soft white towels in the bathroom. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Rob and Anton took over the hotel just 6 months ago and have made a very nice job of refurbishing the ground floor rooms. The lounge has lots of very nice comfy chairs and settees and is the place where pre dinner drinks are served and after dinner coffee. The dining room is delightful - a really elegant room with wonderful views through its floor to ceiling windows of the garden and the river which runs at the bottom of the garden. Everything still has that brand new look about it.

And now to the food. It’s no surprise that it really is excellent since Anton the chef and co-owner trained under the renowned John Tovey at the famous Miller Howe. The food not only tastes good but looks good with great presentation. We liked the fact that the evening’s menu is displayed after breakfast so if you want to look and nothing takes your fancy you are invited to talk to Anton about an alternative. No such problems for us – more what to choose from a very nice selection. Dinner starts with home made bread. There were some unusual deserts – the Gingerbread meringue and ice cream tart I can thoroughly recommend along with the Date and fig roulade filled with Jersey ice cream. Very different and so delicious. There’s a good choice on the wine list with a good range of prices.

Breakfast has a nice selection of cereals, fruits and yogurts and the cooked breakfast is very nice – quality ingredients beautifully cooked resulting in a very tasty breakfast.

We look forward to our next visit to the Grasmere Hotel which is really excellent and set to get even better when the major refurbishment to the bedrooms takes place over the winter.
We also felt it was excellent value for money especially the evening dinner which comes in much cheaper if you book the dinner bed and breakfast package. Enjoy it – we did!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed for one night on my way through on the coast to coast walk and what a great place! We were met by a member of the team who was extremely friendly and helpful. Rob and Anton took over the hotel only a few months ago and have already refurbished downstairs which is really lovely. The bedrooms are very nice as they are however will I am sure be amazing once they too have been redone. The breakfast was first class and we loved the choice of sandwiches for our packed lunch and the chance to fill our flask for our long walk the next day. The hotel is very very peaceful with a lovely garden with mallards quaking merrily next to the river, but is only 2 mins from the centre of the village. There is even a field opposite to exercise the dog. Perhaps the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. It really is fabulous!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

What a great stay! The owners have only been there a few months but have clearly been busy - the refurbished downstairs rooms are beautiful. The bedrooms are absolutely fine as they are and will be stunning I am sure once the make over is complete. There is a lovely garden, and although the hotel is located only 2 minutes walk from the centre of the village, it is very very peaceful - the only noise was from the mallards on the lawn :-). The breakfast was fab and as we were walking the coast to coast we really appreciated the packed lunch menu and opportunity to have our flask filled. This is a great place to stay and the owners and staff are great - one of the best places I have stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186361Steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel allows you to book 1 night if that's what you need. Most places typicallly want 2 nights at the weekend. The price is reasonable for what you get. We were upgraded to a larger room as the hotel was a bit quiet. We were allowed to take our dog which is always a must when we stay anywhere. The owner & staff were all very welcoming and friendly. We ended up staying for two nights anyway as the weather turned out to be nicer than we'd expected. Couldn't fault this hotel in any way. Will definitely book again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

A few weeks ago we stayed for 5 days with our dog, having been guests under the previous management. The rooms were still spotless, our stay was excellent value for money, and all the staff were really welcoming and friendly.
We had experienced really good food there in earlier visits, and if anything this time it was even better.
We intend repeat visits.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stopped here for one night on our way back from Scotland. Room clean and comfortable. Dinner - excellant food, good selection of choices and fantastic value. First time we had done anything like this but liked meeting in the lounge for pre dinner drinks and retiring back there for after dinner tea / coffee. Very relaxing after a day's walking. Service very efficient at check in, breakfast and dinner. Would definetely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdbridge01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grasmere
0.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
17.7 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
9.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Grasmere
The Inn at Grasmere
#7 of 14 in Grasmere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
7.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasmere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasmere Hotel

Property: Grasmere Hotel
Address: Broadgate, Grasmere LA22 9TA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Grasmere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Family Hotel in Grasmere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Grasmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely Victorian Country House Hotel in one of the most beautiful villages in the Lake District. Elegant lounge and restaurant overlooking the pretty garden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grasmere Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing